We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$556
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
25
67
52
28
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
67
52
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflower markettriple roomminute walk to dam squareamsterdam standardsfresh fruitfireplacemattresseskeysdutch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

stayed here with a group of friends and would definitely not recommend. Staff are extremely rude and inappropriate - knocking on our door telling us to be quiet because other guests were sleeping. It was 6pm and we were talking not screaming! Male owner kept popping out of corners to stare at us when we walked past and also proceeded to stand and stare after I had fallen down the very steep stairs (another compounding factor to this dreadfully run hotel). Owner didnt even bother to ask if I was ok. Rude and quite frankly perverted. No kettle, tea or milk in rooms. Breakfast consisted of a few slices of dodgy looking meat and stale bread certainly not worth €12 or getting out of bed for. Serious humour failure. If they put as much effort into breakfast as they did following their guests around the hotel then they may get somewhere. Complete disregard for their customers which is highly unfortunate due to the central location. Will NOT go back there, NOR recommend. Give your hard earned cash to those who appreciate it in the given economic climate!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kate6891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and would not recommend to anyone who has a sense if humour .. The staff were rude, and the male manager would linger outside your room to prevent any laughing or talking too loud by banging the door . The stairs are lethal , very narrow and one of girls I travelled with fell down the stairs and the manager stood and watched! Breakfast is a small selection of bread ( no toaster) some ham and brioche . Definitely not worth 12 euros . Wifi is charged at 12euros which after paying over £1000 for 2 nights for 3 rooms is unacceptable . The hotel is in a great location which is a shame to receive such bad service . If you are a group consisting of fun then this hotel is not for you

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gemma26038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile


Horrible experience in room no 5 at the back of the hotel. No free WI fi,kettle but no tea or coffee. Not even a bar of soap and the bathroom could do with a good refurb. No place to sit and no reception area and the continental
breakfast did not include toast or a toaster. Avoid at all costs it's not cheap and I've stayed in better hostels . The only positive about this hotel is the location.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank val0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recent family trip to Amsterdam. They had a family room that can accommodate 5 adults. Three beds are upstairs in a "loft". Fantastic view of the canal and right on the main line of trams coming out of central station. The location is handy and view is great but there can be some noise. The weather was cool and we were able to keep the windows closed. It might require a sound sleeper if the windows had to be open. Staff was very good. Breakfast was included but we never seemed to make it down. Easy to get anywhere you might want to go in central Amsterdam. Small fridge in the room was handy. Try to get a room on an upper floor to stay away from the noise. There is no elevator so be prepared to do some walking. The main bed was a queen (two twin beds next to eachother). I would return there next time.

Room Tip: If you like stairs and a more quite room, try to get an upper floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frs2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This relatively small hotel is wonderfully situated in the heart of the old city centre.

The staircases are steep (and get steeper as you go higher) but not impossible even with a big case. I was pleased to see that the stairs are duplicated providing an alternative escape route in case of fire.

We stayed in a third floor room with great views over the canal and were very pleased by the good size of the room. We were also pleased to find memory foam mattresses which were far better than some beds I've encountered in some otherwise good hotels. The room was clean and the décor was gently quirky (I liked the gold cherub over the bed) rather than flashy or posh. One downside of staying at the front, however, was the large (it takes up 6 windows) in the building across the canal which ran all night - the light did make finding the bathroom easier so I suppose everything has an up side.

Breakfast, taken in the cellar, was adequate rather than great but the coffee was fresh and tasty.

I think the hotel was short staffed while we were there as we seemed to deal with the same helpful and friendly English lady whenever we came in. The shortage of staff was not reflected in poor service.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel I have given it four stars as a mark against other similar hotels. Don't expect all the bells and whistles of a large modern hotel but if you do choose to stay here you can seem the inside of an old traditional city centre Dutch house and walk to all the main sights.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have wonderful views - higher is quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somersettraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews