We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Ranked #248 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 24 June 2006

Yuk.
Never again will I stay at this hotel. The carpets were dirty and threadbare, the beds were comfortable, but would have been even better if they had been pushed together properly. The noise coming from the street works was unbearable, and although the staff were aware that they would be taking place overnight, (they told us the next morning) we were given no warning. The noise is of course not the hotel's doing, but it would have been nice to have been warned. The canal view rooms overlook the busy road and then a small stretch of water, but hiking the prices for these rooms really did push the boundries of decency.
I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank boostandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2006

This is a two star hotel located in Old Amsterdam. The building is an historic building and consequently there is no lift. Carrying your bags up narrow winding stairs is impossible for one that is handicapped and nearly impossible for the elderly, children and those not having their full strength. It is privatlely owned by two partners. Free internet, as advertised, is a PC adjoining the reception area. While there it went down for almost a day. One of the partners informed us that the "free use" was only for three days of our five day stay. The room we stayed in was not a canal view, however it was very noisy with the noise coming from those adjoining rooms beside, over and above us. We found the room to be of adequate size and housekeeping did a good job of cleaning it daily. The shower, which I am sure was added, is small but adequate for one person. Breakfast was included with our room and was the usual Northern Europe fare of cheeses, meats, breads, etc. The staff did an excellent job in directing us to the various attractions and sites.The hotel site is centrally located: Tour boats across the canal; restaurants right up the road; and trams almost right out the door. In balancing the positives and the negatives, I would have to say that I would look for another hotel should I return to Amsterdam. I think better vaules could be found.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickM302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2006

Stayed in Hotel Des Arts in July 2005. Not impressed. Rooms not as shown on website. They were at the top of three flights of increasingly steeper, winding stairs. (Very difficult to manage when carrying cases) Rooms were also small, dirty and smelly with dismal view of brick walls and roofs. Bathroom decidely grotty. Also very noisy.

The staff were not particularly welcoming and internet access promised was an old PC in the corner of a room by reception.

Best thing about the hotel was its execllent location.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babs&Beryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2006

The location of this hotel is great-it is right in front of the main shopping street and within walking distance of everything. The staff were very nice and helpful when we asked about things to see & do. Our room was very big and quite comfortable (but dark) and the bathroom facilities were fine. The breakfast was lovely-lots of nice salamis, cheeses, etc. I would say it is a good value hotel as its reasonably priced-I have definitely stayed in nicer places but this was perfectly fine and suited us for our weekend stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mags81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bracknell, UK
18
Reviewed 17 July 2005

I stayed at the des Arts for a couple of nights on the return end of a business trip. As other reviewers have stated, the hotel location is decent and the staff are friendly. That's the extent of the positives. The hallways and rooms are kind of dingy and smelly and my room was subject to a lot of street noise. The pictures at the hotel's website are misleading and make the rooms look better than reality. The hotel charges 4% to use a credit card and the advertised internet access (an old PC in a room adjacent to the lobby) is another fee. As another reviewer reported, I also was told that I couldn't get in after 2am or so. I didn't take the chance, but this sure seemed weird. Finally, breakfast was the standard Northern European fare of cheese and meats, but the selection and quality was a level below what you'd expect for the price of the hotel (although the coffee was good).

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2005

Based on recommendations here, we booked a "quad" room for a single night in July to spend a day in Amsterdam before heading home after a 2-week trip in Europe. Upon arriving at the Hotel des Arts we found the location to be great and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was up several flights of narrow, winding steps which was somewhat expected -- we didn't expect the smell of urine in the hallways though! Our room was a small with a fold-out couch and a single bed on the "1st" floor and an improvised loft built into the ceiling with a double bed (accessed by a stairway that was closer to a ladder). The room was not very clean and there was little air flow. That night the real trouble started -- the loft area was about 90 degrees and felt more like Panama than Northern Europe since there was no fan and only a small window. Our two children, who were excited about sleeping the loft, gave up after two hours of tossing and turning in the heat. I agreed to sleep upstairs and about 1am finally fell asleep "in the tropics". In the morning I awoke with about 20 mosquito bites that I guess were from mosquitoes that had flown in through the small window in the roof. We really are troopers and none of this would have mattered had this been a $50 a night "roughing it" night which we've done many times before. The room, however, cost us just under 200 Euro or about $240 so our expectations were obviously much higher. There are many, many better hotels in Amsterdam for that price. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FamilyFun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2005

No problem getting in 24 hours a day. The door was locked, but there was always someone on reception to open it. We had clean towels everyday and the room and bathroom were spotless.

Yes it is a basic hotel with no lift, but if you do even a little research before you book, you should know this.

The corridors could do with a fresh coat of paint, but the communal areas were fine.

It is in a great position, you can walk almost everywhere and within 5 mins there are lots of good restaurants.

For a budget hotel it was difficult to fault and we had the room right at the top!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brightspark_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#170 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,557 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#204 of 374 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#156 of 374 in Amsterdam
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#297 of 374 in Amsterdam
581 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#125 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,050 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#234 of 374 in Amsterdam
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Address: Rokin 154-156, 1012 LE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £91 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Arts Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing