We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nieuw Slotania Hotel
Ranked #335 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Found hotel easily about 20 ride on bus or tram from centre of Amsterdam. (Bus no. 69 from airport approx. 30 mins).Comfortable, warm double room after initially being given 2 single beds in smaller room but staff helpful and moved us immediately after seeing our request in writing. Helped us with bus timetable. Breakfast adequate. Room cleaned daily. Safe provided in room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tilly666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    97
    176
    118
    172
See reviews for
60
147
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

As many of the previous comments, I was a bit worried to stay here because of the terrible reviews, however I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Yes it is far from the city center but the metro system is easy to use and a ticket is inexpensive. And it is in a quiet neighborhood so no loud noises throughout the night.

The rooms themselves were quite large and very clean. The bathroom was very spacious.

Breakfast was fair for the price (€5.00) We ate there every morning and it filled us until lunch.

If you're on a budget you will be grateful to choose this hotel because it really isn't as bad as the reviews suggest.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aliixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just come back from Amsterdam and stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Absolutely no problems whatsoever! Staff were friendly and room was more than fine. Didn't make it down to breakfast on time so can't comment on that. The hotel is in a predominately Turkish/North African area?
But that was fine also.

Overall a good experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for our friends birthday. Chose it because it was the cheapest. We were really worried about staying here after reading the dreadful reviews.

Very surprised....it wasn't all that bad! Room clean and beds made/fresh towels each day. Could not fault the bathroom - nice and modern. Free safe in the room. Reception staff were pleasant.

Carpet throughout the hotel was minging though! A big bag of crisps was stolen from my room!!! I'd give the breakfast a miss also. It is far out of the centre but the tram network is excellent.

If you're after somewhere cheap to sleep and shower whilst exploring Amsterdam then this hotel will serve you well......just don't forget to lock up your crisps!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank S U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I read the bad reviews and worried what it was going to be like (we booked for cheapness). But it was great apart from being a bit far from city centre (15-20min on tram 14 from outside hotel) and the "city tax" of 10 or so Euros when I paid - I didn't mind paying it but I would like to have known when I booked and not when I arrived at reception. Also a bit of noise but not too bad.

Aside from this:
- breakfast was good -all u can eat for 5 euros (If not included in booking)
- room was small but good and cleaned everyday (good TV with 30 or so channels some in English, also good heating system in the room), en suite
- friendly staff
- loads of local shops (aldi, market square and shopping centre across the road, cafes, takeaways and restaurants nearby as well as bus and tram stops to city centre)
- free WiFi

Its not the Ritz so don't expect that but if u want a place to stay on a budget and don't mind 20min to the city centre then this place is ideal

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_P_F174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was a little far from the center but it's really easy to get there. The staff is really kind they can provide you tours and maps of the city. The room was clean adn so was the bathroom. The relation price/quality was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreadelaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Apart from being far from the central towns, the rooms are ok beds comfy but dirty sheets and pillows no cleaners to clean the room each day. The breakfast is simple but found flys in the oj.
Receptionist was abit rude and blunt not freindly at all.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben10577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#226 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#293 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#314 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nieuw Slotania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Property: Nieuw Slotania Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nieuw Slotania Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nieuw Slotania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Slotania Amsterdam
Hotel Nieuw Slotania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing