We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for how cheap it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nieuw Slotania Hotel
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad for how cheap it is”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights in August and to be honest once I saw the reviews on here I was pretty scared! But when we arrived it was ok, just ok. Nothing horrendous to report and nothing good to report. Staff kept out of our way and room was cleaned daily. Location wasn't bad, tram stop right outside to take you to dam square and bus stop outside took us back to the airport so we were pretty pleased nothing was a bother. Would I stay here again? Probably as it's cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theruthb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    101
    181
    121
    177
See reviews for
64
153
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Arrived early but didn't expected to be allowed in as was very aware of 3pm check in, but the receptionist was a total cow, rude and hostile, unhelpful, had to carry my heavy bag down narrow stairs to the basement to lock it up and tripped on torn carpet on the stairs, as I turned on the lights a rat scurried across the floor....came back at 3 at waited another hour to be given a room. Tried to book a day trip with nasty piece behind the desk only to be told to go into the city and book directly with bus company....what the ???? Place was full of backpackers and teenagers on 3 different contiki tours, loud and obnoxious critters, will be having serious words with my travel agent when I get home.

Room Tip: Don't expect any favours from the hostile receptionists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theblondegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our travel agent booked us in referring to it as a budget hotel. Unless you are 20 something, pack backing and really want to cut costs, check out other options.

This is older hotel and more of a hostel with a few rooms that have been fixed up a little. There was no a/c and the heat was stifling and we had to leave the windows open, finally resorting to wet towels to try and cool off. It is extremely noisy. The sidewalk café below our window did not close until about 2 am and the street noise kept on until 4 am. Our hallway door was rattled all night by people too drunk to find their own room. Ear plugs don't help. There are phones in the room but can't be used to call out.

There are some pluses, free Wi-Fi, the sheets, towels and bathroom were clean, combination safe in room, the European breakfast buffet was ample and and the staff that we dealt with helpful with information, maps or making calls. The airport shuttle bus does go there, there is a grocery store across the street and the tram on the corner runs regularly to the city core although it is a 25 min. ride.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs! No air con. so had to leave window open, extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikingrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the last 2 nights of our contiki. There appeared to be 2 other contiki groups staying here as well. My review may be slightly skewed due to the horrible experiences of other places we encountered over our 2 weeks, none the less you cannot deny that they had their rooms kept spotless, modern bathrooms (however our sink was hanging on by 1 screw) and comfortable beds.

I am unsure how the public transport was but by cab it was not too costly, averaged about 20 euro to get back to the hotel from anywhere we were really.

The immediate area had supermarkets, fast food, postal services and restaraunts which was all convenient. The bar within the hotel was decently priced and the food served for breakfast and dinner was of great quality.

I would stay here again if I return to Amsterdam!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Do not go to this hotel unless you will be drunk the entire time of your stay! It is extremely unclean, regardless of the price the linen and surfaces should be clean this is simply not good enough anymore. The staff are extremely rude and unhelpful and have no idea about customer service. The breakfast staff are vile also and the place is dirty. Do not stay here. The gentlemen who came to fix our television was very nice though. You should buck up your standards could be better. Free wifi which is very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nothing special, just a low budget, average hotel placed outskirts. For its prices, is was not so bad. I didn't expect daily cleaning, but they did so. Breakfast was also good, but I'm not choosy here. Service was friendly and helpful. If your budget is far limited, I would recommend them. However, if you're able to spend few more bucks (not so much actually) I will definitely advice to get something near the city center. For me, the main disadvantage was to spend at least 35 minutes in a tram or bus to get to the city and another 35 minutes for going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michał K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,042 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#233 of 368 in Amsterdam
715 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#264 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#291 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,866 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#78 of 368 in Amsterdam
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nieuw Slotania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Property: Nieuw Slotania Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nieuw Slotania Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nieuw Slotania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Slotania Amsterdam
Hotel Nieuw Slotania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing