We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel at basic price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Ranked #229 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic hotel at basic price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Efficient basic hotel at reasonable price with ditto personel, bar and restaurant . Nothing fancy besides free carparking. Small room with fridge and fairly clean. Not for long stay. Too far away from public transports, but OK for youngsters.

Room Tip: Ask for room not too close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    185
    173
    71
    60
See reviews for
78
180
30
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel suited our needs as we were not aiming to spend much time in the hotel. The breakfasts were quite expensive but on the plus side they are all you can eat so if you want value for money then fill up your plate enough times so that you do not have to spend much money on lunch. The staff were friendly and the rooms were kept very clean and tidy. I would say that the location is ideal if you want to escape the rushed and hectic atmosphere of Amsterdam and also being 10 minutes away from the nearest metro station you can travel to the city and back with the GVB travel passes. I would not recommend if you are going away as a couple and looking for something fancy & romantic

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I had stayed here for a night in first week of May'13. Had to opt for this as my usual option was fully booked. Room was neat and clean but small. Access was okay with 5-7 min walk to the station. Reception was not so clean but there was good sitting space in the lobby. I did not opt for breakfast as the reviews in tripadvisor were not good. Wifi bandwidth was good. Staff at reception were okay. Overall, an okay experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JainSumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Room was cleanbut starngely very basic. Think Travelodge 10-15 yrs ago and you've got it! No breakfast included in price and my husband was fed up that our room was next to the public door to the bar/reception. Smelly bathroom/toilet too which in the morning was much worse that I had to hold my breath in there. Shower head was almost dilocated which gave a poor shower. Thankfully it was our first night on our 8night bicycle tour of the Netherlands so the shower was not so desperately needed. Did expect more as we booked it back in January but we did seem to get the hotels worst & noisiest room. 10 min walk to Over Amstel station or 15 minute walk to Spaklerweg. If you are walking or need good access to the transport system then don't stay here. Nice-ish bar but out of keeping with lorry-driver type or working mans Monday to Friday digs. They were able to accommodate the two bicycles we had with us in the garage below the hotel free of charge.

Room Tip: Stay away from busy thoroughfare rooms to avoid doors opening and shutting all night driving you nut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxDawniexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very horrible hotel.
10..15 minutes walking to get to the closest metro station (metro 51, at OverAmstel station). Then other 15 minutes to arrive to Amsterdam Central Station. Remember the train (in the evening) passes every 20/30 minutes.

Breakfast price is 14 euros per person.

One day the hot water in the bathroom was missing...

Every room in the hotel twin-set bedroom.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFabrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Going to Amsterdam by car? Forget it. Or rob a bank to pay for the horrendous parking fees. Or check into the Bastion: it has free parking and is still close enough to the city and to a metro station (5 min walk, then 4 metro stops to Weesperplein station). The metro runs till after midnight.
The hotel itself is a quiet and clean place, its staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious.
Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seneca25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ta' Xbiex, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Staff has a very poor attitude to clients. Expect to be ignored at the bar counter for a long while while the staff gets on with other things not directly related to other clients at the bar. Expect also to be sitting at the restaurant tables waiting for staff to take your order, but the staff never comes to take the order. And with only 6 covers in the restaurant at the time, workload was not an excuse.

When I book a lower price hotel I expect a lack of facilities, but I do not expect this attitude.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have train tracks passing outside, making it hard for you to sleep if you are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinAttardCompagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#196 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.0 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#215 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.8 mi away
West Side Inn Hotel
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

Property: Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Address: Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use free of charge, air conditioning and free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel is situated near the A10, exit S11. It's close to the RAI and the Amsterdam Arena. The hotel also has free parking places. You can reach the historical centre of Amsterdam within ten minutes by public transport. Here you can find all the famous attractions within reach. This hotel is therefore ideal for business and leisure guests. Rooms The hotel has 120 comfort rooms, 63 deluxe rooms and 9 Quads. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious than the deluxe rooms and are equiped with a sleeping sofa and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and on weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing