We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Ranked #228 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Gloucester
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Could have been so much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I was given my room key, which did not work the lift and did not open the door to my room so I took it back to reception to be told that the keys were printed incorrectly and needed to be put in the wrong way round - why wasn't I or anyone else told this? There were others asking the same questions. Lots of people were failing to get the lift to work too. The room was dusty under the bed, there were no extra pillows. On the positive side, this hotel is close enough to The Ziggodome to walk there so on that count I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear seanfunk,

Whilst we are pleased with the good comments, we really value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We are sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we always strive for excellence in customer service, we are keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for further development.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    182
    171
    70
    59
See reviews for
75
179
30
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My girlfriend and I spent some days in this hotel. It wasn't that easy to reach the place because is a 10-minute walk from the station. Other than that, we couldn't complain. Both the room and the bathroom were clean, beds were kinda hard, the mini bar was perfect to store beverages, and the Internet was fast and free. The booking price was fair, especially considering we arrived in Valentine's day!

Room Tip: The only way to reach he city center is going to the Overamstel Station, which isn't near the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killthepixelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear killthepixelnow,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us on Valentines Day. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff contributed to a romantic stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Two good things to say.
First, relatively nice smoking lodge downstairs.
Second, daytime staff is pleasant and very nice.

Now about the content of disappointment.
Unreasonably expensive.
Night staff is rude.
Room was not satisfactorily clean.
Bed linen do not fit to the bed size.
Keycards needed everywhere, including elevators, and they work badly: need to use them several times.
The pictures in the room were horrible. That is not a subject of taste: the square meter of pseudo-painted rusty sheet iron was so distracting that we had to remove it from the wall.

Finally, we have been charged twice for the accommodation. First before stay, and then again on checkout. And after three weeks after visit the problem is not yet resolved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darthpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel. Reading your comment about the poor service and breakfast, we felt disheartened and we would like to apologize for this.

Your comments are important to us and will be used to further develop our staff members in exceeding our commitment in offering our guest personal hospitality, safety and a high level of service. Despite your unpleasant stay at the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, we do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you in one of our other hotels in the near future.

With kind regards,

The team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend & I stayed here for 3 night's. Many thanks to ALL the staff we met all were friendly, attentive, helpful and happy. It made for a very relaxing & enjoyable stay. A young team with a lot going for them in the tourist industry. The hotel catered mainly for concert goers & business clientele, so not many 'tourists' in Bastion Deluxe Amstel. The hotel is located approx. 7kms from Amsterdam centre but public transportation within easy walking distance & an excellent metro service, tickets very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel and for the the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and a free parking are good examples of this.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Great location in the middle of Amstel business park, clean rooms with big lcd screen (luxe room), friendly staff and free parking in parking garage. Special charching place to load my electric car. Within 12 minutes you are in the centrum of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice stay in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam, free parking and a 10 minute drive to the city centre.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

It's an OK place to stay if you're on business; 5 minutes from Schipol by transfer bus. Yes, it's on an industrial estate miles from anywhere, so are most of the hotels around these parts unless you go into Amsterdam city itself. The soundproofing was fine, I got a few good nights sleep and the staff are fine about giving you liquid milk for in the room. I wouldn't stay there with the family, because unless you are just using it as bead and board there isn't much to do, but I'd happily say there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13_DBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#197 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.0 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#217 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.8 mi away
West Side Inn Hotel
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

Property: Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Address: Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use free of charge, air conditioning and free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel is situated near the A10, exit S11. It's close to the RAI and the Amsterdam Arena. The hotel also has free parking places. You can reach the historical centre of Amsterdam within ten minutes by public transport. Here you can find all the famous attractions within reach. This hotel is therefore ideal for business and leisure guests. Rooms The hotel has 120 comfort rooms, 63 deluxe rooms and 9 Quads. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious than the deluxe rooms and are equiped with a sleeping sofa and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and on weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing