We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
QO Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Casa(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    Hotel Flipper(Amsterdam)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    Hotel Victorie(Amsterdam)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    Jaz Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (674)
    Filter reviews
    674 results
    Traveller rating
    81
    211
    219
    92
    71
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    81
    211
    219
    92
    71
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbusiness parktrain linecentral stationpublic transportationclean roomsnice staythe ground floorvisit amsterdamyogurtamstelhingesmidnight
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    182 - 187 of 674 reviews
    Reviewed 18 August 2014

    The hotel is visually blocked off by a metro bridge and was a bit of a pain to locate on foot.They should consider getting more signage near the metro station for directions. To get there on foot get off the Metro at Overamstel M50 or M51 then take the exist closest to the City Box (Large Yellow Building with a Soldier on it) Then walk straight down the road, cross the road, pass the Silver water pump (Can't miss it it's on the corner) and it will be on your right.
    It is very close to the metro that can take you to Centraal or the Airport very efficiently.
    The hotel rooms were quite clean, and it was a very comfortable stay. There is the occasional train/metro passing alongside the hotel which can generate some noise, but it doesn't bother you when sleeping. The area around the hotel is more industrial, so there aren't alot of restaurants around You can make your own tea/coffee and free wifi and parking. Overall, it's a decent place to stay for a trip in Amsterdam.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank TobiUchiha
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 August 2014

    The conditions and the services are not above average. The strong advantage that this accomodation has is a good price and proximity to the Metro line. The AC does a good job cooling the place, there isn't much noise from the tram line or traffic. All in all, it's a decent place to sleep for a couple of nights.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Rux B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 August 2014

    What I appreciated about the hotel was the location and the food they served in the restaurant.
    What I didn't like was: first, they were cooking eggs in the hotel lobby in the morning. Awful practice in personal opinion, as I had to stay with that smell in my clothes for 10 min after I left the hotel. The rooms are really average, not very cosy, and the beds are quite small (I had a double room) for taller people. I also found some dark hair on the bathroom tub the first night I checked in. As the hotel is near the highway, I also found my room noisy.
    Anyway, the prices are really decent compared to other hotels in Amsterdam, so that could be a reason to choose this hotel. But there's work that needs to be done to improve the customer experience here.

    Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    Thank Nicoleta C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

    Dear Nicoleta N,

    Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel. We highly value opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

    Your comments are important to us and will be used to further develop our staff members in exceeding our commitment in offering our guest personal hospitality, safety and a high level of service. Despite your unpleasant stay at the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, we do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you in one of our other hotels in the near future.

    With kind regards,

    The team of the Bastion Hotel Groep

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 August 2014

    Dirty room. Dust were everywhere. Cleaning lady only changes bed sheets and towels and vacuums the floor. Bed stands and other tables were dusty and dirty so I cleaned the room before I used it. Dissapointed about that.
    But other things than that, hotel is lovely. Beds are comfortable, you can make your own tea and coffee. Staff is helpful. Free wi-fi and parking etc.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MaariaP
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

    Dear MaariaP,

    Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. While we are pleased to hear of your kind comments, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to dthe cleaning of the room. We want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team.

    Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a valuable feedback.

    With sincere regards,

    Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 August 2014

    My room is so filthy and it stinks!! If you are looking for a budget hotel, then there are a lot of hotels that you can choose from. The cleaners will never stop ringing your door bell, before the time of check-out.....

    Room Tip: not recommended.... my room stinks!!! and dont stay at the ground floor
    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank Mary Bernardine A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

    Dear Mary Bernardine A,

    Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value your view and feedback, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

    Your comments are being shared with the management of the Bastion Hotel Groep and appropriate action will be taken. To better assist you on you next stay, please contact the manager on duty.

    Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

    With sincere regards,

    Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews