We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, poor location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
Ranked #213 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 10 August 2013

After arriving at Amsterdam airport we decided to take the slow train to Lelylaan as detailed on the hotel website. From here we transferred onto a tram and got off at Surinemeplein, it took us a little while to actually find the hotel (located opposite the larger Fashion hotel) but with a map it would have been easier. Upon arrival we were welcomed by a friendly receptionist who provided us with a city map, wifi code and information on transport (extremely helpful!) The hotel was clean, modern, spacious and comfortable. It has all the amenities expected of both a 3 or 4 star such as a fridge and television. The only issue with this hotel is the location, after booking this last minute we did not realise the distance from the city centre (our fault we admit), and it does take at least a 30 minute journey including a fast paced walk to the tram stop to reach anywhere. As tourists only stopping here for a short time this was rather annoying as it wasted valuable time and meant that to arrive at a destination on time we had to wake up significantly earlier. Overall, we would not stay here again owing to the location - if visiting a city centre the best option is always to stay in the middle, however the hotel was itself nice. We did not eat the breakfast, we believed it was overpriced and found cheaper options when we made our way into the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest is a reasonably priced, orderly if not very exciting hotel a little way outside of the city. The welcome was friendly, the room small but correctly kept with comfortable beds and a clean bathroom. We did not eat here because we thought Amsterdam centre would offer more possibilities. We also did not breakfast here as the extra price was not acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 2409JohnEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel and room was fine (little small)...nothing special but it was cheaper than others closer into the city center. The hotel was relatively close to the airport which is good but seemed rather far from anything else we wanted to do. Getting to the tram was a pretty decent hike and sometimes you walked through areas that felt "sketchy." The staff were fine - I wouldn't call them friendly but I wouldn't say they were rude either. The trip was excellent but it had nothing to do with staying at this hotel...it was literally used at night as a place to sleep. If that's all your looking for along with a cheaper rate then this might be for you. Next time however I believe I will pay the extra cost for a hotel closer into the city center in an effort to spend more time doing the things I want and less time on the tram. It may not have even been that far but it felt like it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Took us a while to find this as after getting off the tram we had to walk in a U shape to reach it, once you know the way it is about a 10minute walk. Takes what seems like ages on the tram to get into the top of the city near the train station etc though.

From the outside it looks like a prison of some kind!

However inside the hotel is really nice.
There is a small room you can smoke in (tobacco only - obviously ;) a couple of vending machines, a waiting area, and a posh looking bar we didn't end up using.

The staff were a little disintereted but fine, the left luggage room was just a walk in cupboard with a shower attached and a door to a laundry room(!?) and very cramped but it did the job so we could explore whilst they got the room ready for check in.

The bedroom was bigger than expected, with plenty of space for cases. The bed was comfy, and the TV had a couple of English channels as well as the Dutch ones.

I can't remember much about the bathroom so that can only mean there was nothing wrong..
It must have been good enough for me to get ready in everyday and apply all my makeup, so space for lots of cosmetic bags :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Risa_Risa_Risa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#246 of 375 in Amsterdam
647 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#224 of 375 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
2 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#77 of 375 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#152 of 375 in Amsterdam
241 reviews
2.1 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
6.8 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#205 of 375 in Amsterdam
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £52 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest lies along the A10, a milestone away from the Rembrandtpark. The hotel is therefore well accessible by car. Parking at the hotel costs 15 euro per day. By tram guests will reach the beautiful historical centre within 10 minutes. The Airport Schiphol is only 10 minutes away from the hotel. Rooms The 90 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing