We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #142 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Good location easy to find from nearby airport bus stop and good transport links. Very comfortable beds ask for a quiet room, our room was facing the side street so no noise at all. Good breakfast and gluten free bread available. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alba56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 2,752 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

But we didn't eat in: 20 euros for breakfast was just too steep and the bar/restaurant food is priced to match. We went one up on lastminute.com's menu and got an very spacious room, a kettle, usable chairs and, to our surprise, a disabled-adapted bathroom. No view at all, but quiet.
We traveled into the centre on the no.1 tram from just outside the door, but be aware that it doesn't stop there coming back and it you don't get off before the bridge you will be carried a long way round the corner: handy for the Toom restaurant that we enjoyed a couple of times, but a pain otherwise.
The free wi-fi is designedly ultra-slow and in fact also capricious, though the desk said that there were tricks to get back the log-in screen: proper access in 6.60 euro for 24 hours.

Room Tip: If booking online, consider going up a class: it cost us very little
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan_G_P-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I've stayed at this hotel probably 5 times and have always took the gamble booking through Priceline name your price and I think the cheapest I paid for a 3 night stay was £116 and I can not fault it, the maximum I've paid was £60 a night for a superior double.

It's right next to a tram stop and within walking distance to the museums, shops and parks.

Cost of drinks is relatively expensive as is the charge for room service but overall it's a great hotel, free Internet in the lobby and staff all speak perfect English and made to make you feel welcome.

Will I be back? Yes:-)))

Room Tip: Keep away from the smoking floor, it stinks!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The rooms are not huge, but they are nice. To be frank, I do not remember how the mattress was, but I remember having a good night sleep (the hotel is on a very noisy street, but my room was in the side street, facing other hotel, so I was not bothered by the noise). The bathroom is nice and clean. There is also a coffee making kettle and several kinds of instant coffee. The room had a little balcony, so I could enjoy my coffee on a windy Amsterdam morning. The breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices. I did not check up on the other facilities of the hotel (gym, etc) so I can't make judgements on whether they were good or not. The main advantage of the hotel that is that it is in a walking distance from everything: the museums, the shops, the offices, the restaurants and bars and the nightlife.There is an Italian restaurant at the hotel, where the food is not bad, but is average. Nevertheless, if you are interested in a quality meal, within just 100 meters you can find variety of restaurants (Chinese, Dutch, Italian, vegetarian, vegan), bars and sandwich bars. Overall impression: good basic city hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms that are facing The Amsterdam Marriot hotel on the upper floors have charming little balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljiljana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I liked the location a lot. It is a short tram ride from the main terminal. Lots of food and drink options just across the river. Also there is a very nice park for a good run/walk just south of the hotel. Good value for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. We liked that the hotel was quiet yet within walking distance of the newly-opened Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museums. It is also across the street from a small canal that offers pedal-boating. Our room was adequate and a nice size for two people with a little balcony that overlooked a quiet street. The restaurant in the hotel had limited choices. There were no people who helped with baggage inside or outside. Up the street was a delicious restaurant called Momo--try it! Not sure of my postcards that I mailed from the front desk--one arrived home but the other four never made it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Standard NH hotel, strategically located 200 metres from Leidseplein, the heart of Amsterdam nightlife and walking distance from all main attrractions.. usually good value for money, clean and rather basic rooms, fair to good breakfast, nice and efficient staff. Wifi is not free in the rooms and this makes it not too good for business, much better for holidaymakers...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_cult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#90 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,176 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,644 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#113 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#131 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £83 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, NHHotels, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing