We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #122 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, poor staff”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had an enjoyable stay whilst attending an exhibition and I cannot fault the hotel itself. However I have since been charged almost EUR 400 for a room that was already paid for. Despite being told I would be refunded, I have not and I simply cannot get a response from the hotel and get a refund. This has ruined my overall perception of the hotel and has led me to question staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mr Steve, I am so sorry you have experienced this inconvenience which gave you a doubtable perception of the hotel and service afterwards. Could you please send me an e-mail (n.drullman@nh-hotels.com) so I can immediately investigate this matter?

Again my sincere apologies for this situation! I truly hope we can solve it as soon as possible and that we will get the opportunity to show you that we are able to provide you the service you deserve!

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Asssitant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    1,066
    388
    132
    78
See reviews for
331
1,051
128
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A good hotel, well located, near from the museums, centre and other places. Good accomodations , well cleaned, good breakfast and with good price. I recommend. The rooms are quite large and silents. Good option.

Room Tip: The most higher, best. In the lateral street better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriloal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you Murieloal for taking the time placing a review with such useful information for our future guests! Will you think of NH when planning your next city trip?

With kind regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel has a great location.....Bus across the street for 5 euros takes you to and from the airport...You are right by the Van Gogh and Rykes museum and across the street from all the restaurants and night life area.......The normal room is small but comfortable..Most rooms have no view what so ever unless you want to upgrade to a premium room..You are always looking at a building.....The staff is pleasant and helpful....Rooms are clean....Hallway carpeting is dirty....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was my second and third stay here. I used Priceline Express Deals to get a great rate.

At check-in we were given an upgrade to a premium room. This was a huge corner room with a view of the front toward the canal and Leidsplein. Some may find the front of the hotel to be noisy. We did not. We were out late all nights and had no trouble with noise after midnight or 1am. Housekeeping freshened the room daily. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
This was one of the biggest things I noticed. The entire staff deserves praise for their attention to customer service. Well done!!

Beds were very comfortable. Bedding was clean soft.

Location is a few minutes walk from the tram stop at Leidseplein. Tram from Central Station to Leidseplein takes about 10-12 minutes. The 197 bus to and from Schiphol also stops here. Hotel to airport plaza in 30 minutes. Cost is 5 euro each way.

We used the hotels bag storage to store our luggage while we checked out and went to Paris for a few days. This was a free service and much appreciated.

We did not take advantage of breakfast or room service. There are many restaurants, bars, and cafes within a few minutes walk.

We will be back for a 4th visit.

Room Tip: Regular rooms can be small but normal for Europe. There seem to be at least 3 or 4 different type ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeyetough88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are stunned by your awesome review here on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences! We are so glad to read you enjoyed the room situated on the corner. Isn't the view from this room great? Thank you for the compliments with regards to the staff as well. We constantly strive to provide the ultimate guest experience and it is very satisfying to read that we did a good job according to you. We will definitely share it among the teams.

We look forward welcoming you again in the (nearby) future!

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I am familiar with NH hotels and have stayed in quite a few of them. I found the room to be clean and perfectly adequate, the staff very efficient and friendly and we loved the buffet breakfast which was plentiful and of a high standard. Location wise this hotel is also ideal being just across the road from the lively Leidsplein. The only slight negative I have regarding this hotel is the price which I felt was on the expensive side however for location, quality and service I would happily stay here again and I would have no issue recommending to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Stuart,
We are very pleased and delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much! Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. I am sure our staff would be happy to provide you with great new recommendations, should you plan you next stay with us again! :-)

With regards to our roomrates, these are depending on the activities and conventions held in the city and the beginning of May was very busy for Amsterdam, so perhaps that explains a bit. If you are planning your next visit, please inform me (n.drullman@nh-hotels.com) so I can check the best available rate for you!

Have a nice weekend!

Best regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenton, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were on tour so I cannot comment about the price. The rooms were luxurious. location great walking distance to most attractions. Breakfast was superb, many choices, European type meat and cheese as well as American style.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook a park that is popular to young people and is noisy until early AM hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acandrilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for leaving such useful information for our future guests! We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kind regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The reception area is very clean and well lit. The check in staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. Special thanks going to Demi Menzinga, who went out of his way to sort train times out for us.
The rooms are very spacious and very well equipped. the toiletries provided in the bathroom are very welcome. There is a very standard of housekeeping throughout the hotel.
The breakfast is excellent also. A great selection of continental food, with a fruit, croissants, hams, cheeses etc. An English breakfast is also available, but with only a few items to choose from, but non the less, of good standard.
The hotel is ideally situated and on the tram route from the main railway station. Restaurant and shops are just a short walk away.
I will definitely use this hotel again if I visit Amsterdam.
Great food, Great staff and Great prices.

Room Tip: I had room 151 which was out the back of the hotel, but with good double glazing I am sure the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
A five bullet rating is really the biggest compliment we could get. Thank you so much! With great pleasure we have read your positive experiences. Especially your satisfaction with regards to the service provided by our staff and in particular Demi. We will share your words with him and the rest of the staff.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#100 of 367 in Amsterdam
831 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#118 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#243 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,370 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#125 of 367 in Amsterdam
942 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Property: NH Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing