We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient location and very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #125 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very convenient location and very helpful staff”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is in a very good location: just a few minutes from the bus stop for the bus to and from the airport and within walking distance of many of the sites.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful when we arrived, during our stay and when we left.

Our room was quiet and clean and had everything we needed.

The hotel was much smarter than where we would normally stay but good value for money. Breakfast wasn't included but we found places to have breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 199Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Patricia, thank you very much for leaving such a nice review! Especially your compliment with regards to the service provided. We constantly aim to keep our service level very high, and I am delighted to read we have managed to do so.

I hope we will welcome you back in the nearby future!

With kind regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    1,051
    385
    130
    78
See reviews for
325
1,036
127
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Rooms were very clean. Bathrooms and room cleaned daily.
Front desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The location was great - just walking distance from a lot of attractions. Would stay there again and recommend it friends who are traveling to Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shesinternatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are so grateful for your 5 bullet rating! It is awesome to read you would recommend our hotel to your friends! We hope to welcome you back at the NH Amsterdam Centre!

Kindest regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I cannot stress enough how good the location for this hotel is. There are multiple streetcar lines just outside of the Hotel, and you're within walking distance of everything in Central Amsterdam. The hotel itself is quite nicely appointed, and though the rooms aren't huge, they're perfectly adequate for a 4 star hotel that isn't on the luxury end of the spectrum. Rooms are well appointed, beds are comfortable, and everything was very clean. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal have a nice view, though you might have to deal with some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheesesteakwitnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you very much for your useful comments and I am delighted to read that you would stay in our hotel again! I hope we will welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms for 4 people - slightly pricey but the location and great service justifies it. Room 336 much larger than 340. Rooms facing back of hotel, no view but also no noise. Very clean rooms and bathrooms, cleaned daily. Comfy beds with comfy bedding, extra towels, pillows and toiletries provided upon request. Actual black out curtains - cannot tell what time of day or night it is which is a first for me in hotels and a huge plus. Air con adequate, a little fiddly to begin with but got the hang of it. Television, safe, minibar, iron, board and hairdryer provided.

Only one lift to get to rooms and requires room card to call so I'd suggest all guests request a card each and keep on them at all times otherwise cannot leave hotel and return. Also need room card to access hotel entrance late at night which is a great safety feature. Can store luggage if rooms not ready/after check out. Reception area is big and comfortable, clean and leads off to bar and restaurant area (we did not use).

Staff are amazing. Very friendly and helpful. Free sweets and water at reception are a nice touch. Only downside is the free wifi was not strong at all in any part of the rooms or lobby, which is an inconvenience and needs to be addressed.

Definitely recommend highly regardless though as it's perfectly located for transport links (bus to airport is a few mins walk / trams to everywhere is a few mins further), food/drinks/entertainment within a 5 minute walk, Vondel Park practically next door, museums not far either.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank reshers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Reshers,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review online! All the compliments and suggestions are highly appreciated.

When it comes to the strength of our Wifi I apologize for it not working as you expected, I am glad to inform you that we are currently busy increasing the speed and make it twice as fast.

I hope we will be able to welcome you again, so we can show you we can meet or even exceed your expectations on all levels.

With kind regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

NH Amsterdam Centre offers good service with an excellent location (just walking distance from all main interests in Amsterdam)
And for a full visit of the city go to MAC Bike (left +left 200 m out of the hotel) for the most convenient way of visiting Amsterdam: bicycle!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Thierry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences of NH Amsterdam Centre, Thierry! And yes, we couldn't agree more with regards to the bicycling, that is a great way to really see what Amsterdam has to offer!

We hope to welcome you again in the (nearby) future!

Kind regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean, rooms a bit small, convinient location and good service. A bit pricey IMO but then everything in Europe is. A bit far from Amsterdam Central if walking with heavy bags. Take the tram. Good location, right next to the flower market.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Piyush S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights in early June for a business trip. Made an effort a few days prior to my arrival and asked them to arrange for a room, high up, far from the elevator and facing backside, a quiet room.
What did I get on arrival? A room on first floor, facing the street and quite close to the elevator!
On asking why they didn't arranged the room I asked for earlier, they claimed that the hotel was full!. Not true, It was almost full, the real reason for not meeting my request was that the one I spoke to prior to arrival never informed anyone else about it.

After around one hour waiting, after 12 hours of traveling, I at least got a room on the 5th floor, far from the elevator but of course facing the street.
Did they compensate me? Yes, if you are kind you could call it a compensation. In the room I later found a welcome note, a bottle of stillwater and a handful of candy :-).

Rooms fairly well kept although floors a bit nagged. Breakfast was a positive experience, friendly staff, a really good variety, fresh fruit.
Lunch buffe, tried it once, OK but no extras.
Conference room, normal.

Location, great depending on what you are planning for.

This hotel has obviously a bit to learn as far as reservation and reception goes.

Room Tip: As I tried, get a room high up and facing rear to avoid the noice from a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pevast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Pevast, thank you so much for leaving this useful comment due to your stay at the NH Amsterdam Centre. We constantly aim to improve ourselves and therefore we are grateful for these mentioned situations in which there is quite some room for improvement.

We truly apologize for the miscommunication that occurred upon arrival which affected the convenience of your check-in.

We would like to further discuss this matter and I hope you can find the time to send us an e-mail (via n.drullman@nh-hotels.com), so we can find a way to thank you again and hopefully welcome you back in the nearby future so we can show you that we are able to provide you the service that you deserve!

With kind regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#111 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#137 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Property: NH Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing