We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #149 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good hotel. Excellent location in Amsterdam city centre. Some tram and bus stops in front of the hotel. Other stops (including bus to Schiphol Airport) 4-5 minutes walk away only. Close to most famous museums, theatres, Concertgebouw, lots of restaurants etc.

Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms complete and comfortable as can be expected from a 4 star NH Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 2,780 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here with a tour group in July, 2014 and were pleased with the hotel. Our room was clean and the bath had enough shelf space. It also had a retractable clothes line in the bathtub The room and bath were clean. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were very small. There was free Wi-Fi in the room. There were plenty of breakfast choices available and the food was good. The location was perfect; within walking distance to many, many restaurants and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coutou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Nice and clean hotel: friendly staff , extensive breakfast,super location (near boats,bus,public transport,shopping areas). It is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam and without any doubts value for money.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Kathleen_S484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Kathleen_S484,

What a pleasure to read you have had a good stay in our hotel! Thank you for your review. We would be delighted welcoming you again in the nearby future.

Best regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great courtesy and clean rooms. Never had any inconveniences, rooms are quiet and food at breakfast is great. Only minus: american tourists who are quite rude and impolite, but the hotel can do nothing for this.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Nimeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Nimeo,

We truly appreciate it that you took the time to write a review with regards to your stay. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay, thank you!

When planning your next trip, will you think of NH?

With kind regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Liked the location of the hotel and the room was nice and tidy, but on the second evening the air conditioner started to make loud banging/knocking sound every 20-30 min. The noise lasted 5-10 seconds every time. This made it impossible for us to get any sleep that night.

The morning after we told the reception about it and they said they should fix the problem. After being out in the city all day we returned to the room in the evening only to find that the problem was still there and we did not get any information about it. This time we solved the problem by turning the AC off which meant that the room got to warm so our sleep was ruined that night to.

When checking out we told them about it. The staff looke surprised and only said "Oh sorry" whitout any information about why they did not fix the problem. My guess is that nobody paid any attention to it. They probably ignored to whole it

I have never met such an arrogant behaviour in a hotel. If failing to fix the problem they should have offered us another room, but no they totally ignored us.

To add to the humiliation they offered us a compensation in the form of a voucher for a room upgrade on our next stay in a NH hotel. The voucher is valid only six month which makes it useless for us as we are not planning any trips to any of the cities mentioned on the voucher within this timeframe and secondly we don't want stay in any NH hotel after this "treatment". In reality this so callede "compensation" is worthless for us. I was expecting to get a reduction on the room rate or maybe give us the breakfast for free.

I strongly advice travellers to choose another hotel chain. If you end up in this hotel, make sure you don't get room 702.

All electronic equipment can fail. This is not a problem for us. The problem is how poorly it was taken care of and how arrogant we were treated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 183Thomas_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear 183Thomas_A,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with regards to your stay at the NH Amsterdam Centre on TripAdvisor.

With deep regret we have read you felt ignored as a guest that just expressed a technical failure to the hotels employees. We are so sorry we made you feel that way. We are constantly aiming to improve ourselves and therefore we are very thankful you gave us the above information so we can investigate the situation and prevent it in the future.

We sincerely hope you are willing to give us at NH Hotels another chance so we can show you that we are able to provide you the service that you deserve as a guest. Should you be planning to return to Amsterdam, please send us an e-mail (via n.drullman@nh-hotels.com) so we can deliberate on how to give you an exceptional stay and new and better memories of the hotel.

With kind regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for a short break, for a friends 50th Birthday gathering. Nice hotel, picked a double room with view on 1st floor.
We overlooked the road and canal which was fine. Nice good sized room, loved the large windows, and very comfy queen bed, could be noisy at night if you wanted the window open, but air con worked a great, so it really wasn't a problem. The room was very clean. Wasn't until the last morning that we found marks on the windowsill that looked a lot like blood, but we didn't touch it. And I have only just remembered it, so didn't tell the hotel. Nice to have iron and board in room, ready to use if needed. Staff were very nice.
Did not have breakfast in hotel, went to a pub in town, and also round the corner R.H.S to a trendy little art cafe, that did organic food, that was lovely.
Love,love Amsterdam found everybody very helpful and friendly, we did have a birthday meal in the restaurant that joined the hotel, started was not very nice, but the other two courses were lovely, and staff very nice. All in all a great stay.
Very good position for everything, trams/buses are great to get around, we had 24hr ticket, really cheap.

Room Tip: Having a view is worth it if you can get one. Higher up less noise I think. But windows with glazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank macstan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a superior room for one night on the 12th of August. Room was huge with the biggest bed very clean inside and out. Stayed in this hotel once before in a basic room. Would stay here again. Only downside was not much variety with breakfast and two of the trainee receptionists didn't even acknowledge me for ages at the desk they just looked and laughed. Perfect location for everything. All the main attractions in walking distance!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jackcrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Jackcrossley,

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to read you would stay with us again. With regards to your comment about the front desk we would like to apologize because you should have been acknowledged right away. We will discuss this within the team.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,
Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#90 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,209 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#108 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,956 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#129 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,510 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#260 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,612 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#94 of 376 in Amsterdam
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £96 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing