We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NH Group - Very Disappointing :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #125 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NH Group - Very Disappointing :(”
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Booked the 5 star NH amsterdam hotel directly through the NH Website. Upon arrriving at the hotel i was told that my booking wasnt valid even tho i booked it in April!! I explained how i had a confirmation booking but they didnt want to hear. I was told my hotel room was given away because we didnt book in before 4pm. This was never mentioned at any stage to me, the hotel manager called the NH group who said to give me another hotel so thats what we had to do. Ended up staying in another hotel which was nice but very noisy. The offer i got was a manager special.....it was special alright. I didnt even get to stay there

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    1,051
    385
    130
    78
See reviews for
325
1,036
127
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We spent four days and nights in Amsterdam.The hotel was very close to the museums and the Heineken Brewery.Leidseplein Square was very close with amateur entertainment happening daily.The room was small by our standards in the United States,but the bed was a good size one.And we really didn't spend alot of time in the room with so many things to do and see.Don't make the mistake I made when we got to the room,you have to use one of the cards they give you to put in the slot on the wall,or no electricity.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and could not fault it in any way. Flew easyjet with only hand luggage so relied on hotel to provide toiletries and they did, even providing my husband with a shaving kit (free of charge) Also provided slippers in room and adaptor plug (as I had forgotten mine!) Breakfast was included in our deal and there was lots of choice and a great coffee machine! weather was HOT, HOT, HOT so was very pleased air conditioning was quiet as we had it on through the night. Had a room on floor 2 and very peaceful, no traffic noise. Hotel was very clean and nicely furnished with a modern design.

Amsterdam was great, hotel located just across from a canal with boat trips and near all the bars and restaurants with the Hard Rock Cafe opposite. Great holiday - will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Stayed here 3 nights at the end of May. Arrived at 2pm and the room was not ready. Would have been nice to check in after a long flight but left our bags and checked in later. 2nd floor very small room, cramped with a view of the air duct system. Very modern and clean with a good sized bathroom, comfortable bed.

The location is excellent, right across from Leidseplein with lots of food and drink options and a short walk to Museumplein and Vondelpark. It is an easy tram ride or long walk to other sights near Centraal station or Jordaan.

If you ask at the front desk they will give you a code for 15 minutes on the internet but it would have been nice if they had offered a map of the city.

One negative: The bathtub is very deep and hard to step out of safely. I injured my foot on the metal plug in the middle of the bathtub.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuteontariocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Got our room from priceline at SGD130 for 3 nites. Room condition was excellent. Fittings are new & clean. The in-check staff was friendly & very helpful. We left our folder with all our hotel bookings on the check-in table. Didn't even notice that it was missing until we found it slipped under our door when we got back from our outing.

But the window open up to another building so there is not much view of speak of but anyway, we don't spend much time in the room either.

Would definitely stay at NH Amsterddam Centre again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We booked on Priceline and this was well worth the US$70/night we paid. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked two rooms as there were 4 of us and they were very accomodating in getting a queen bed for my husband and I, two beds for our two friends and getting our rooms as close together as possible (we were on the same floor not too far apart). The concierge was great too when I asked about getting a map pointing out to me where we were and the points of interest that were close by and also letting me know that the hotel rents out bikes if we were interested.

The rooms were comfortable, nothing super fancy but nicely decorated. They had a few tourist type magazines in the room which was great as I love going through those when I first arrive at a city I've never been to. A note - they do not provide conditioner (just shampoo and soap) so if you need it be sure to bring your own.

The location was pretty good, it's right across the street from Leidesplein which is a happening square with cafes/bars and a very good selection of restaurants and its at the beginning of one of the main shopping streets, the Leidsestraat. There is also a Hop On Hop Off Canal Bus stop right in front of the hotel. On our third day we rented a car and the car rental place (National) was only a couple blocks away from our hotel which was great. However, the hotel is a good 20-30 mins walk from some other main areas such as Centraal Station; Red Light district; Anne Frank house.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickBaby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

As an Airline Crew member for many years I have high expectations in the hotels I stay. After reading some of the reviews I became concerned but I can say everything was very enjoyable at this hotel. Location is excellant. It is on the opposite end of Central Station but is stil busy without the huge crowds. Lots of Restaraunts and Bars in the immediate area. There is a trolly stop right outside the hotel. Canal boats are right across the street. The lobby is well secured with electronic keys needed to enter the lobby at night and then again to use the elevator. Lobby is very contemporary and the best way to describe the style from the lobby to the rooms is an "ikea" style modern furnishings. The halls are very quiet. Our room was a standard room facing the Marriott rather than the canal. For us this was perfect as it was a quieter location on the side street rather than off the busy street out front. I can't say the room was large but is was large enough. There were two twin beds pushed together to form a king size bed. Sheets and duvets where soft and luxurous in a crisp white. Althought the beds where two twins they were extremely comfortable and the we had our choice of many types of pillows. Lighting throughout the room was perfect. Mini spots are placed throughout the room with two built in reading lights on each side of the bed over the night stands. A mini bar is in the room and can be used as a small refrigerator. The bathroom was as clean as could be with modern tub, lav and sink. A type of sandstone was throughout the bath including the walls, floor and counter. Great soaps too! All in all this is a great hotel for your visit without spending a fortune. The staff was very nice and I would recommend this to anyone without hesitiation. Have fun in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGuyFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#109 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#136 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Property: NH Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing