We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #119 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 March 2010

I used Priceline (name your own price) to get a hotel for my holiday in Amsterdam. I ended up at the NH Amsterdam for $75/night for two nights. The location was fabulous, the staff was friendly and helpful. Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elle9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    1,069
    388
    132
    78
See reviews for
331
1,053
129
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

really good hotel,location is spot on,could not say a bad word about it..stayed here twice now,and going back in july again..been lucky to get it on priceline for a great rate...thats the place to go

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed here March 5-8 with a deal from Priceline ($67 a night!). The hotel was very modern and clean. We were in room 128 (I think?) and it was one floor up from the lobby along the front of the hotel. We definitely could hear noise outside, but it wasn't bothersome at all. It was nice, actually, to have such a good view of what was going on around us. Our room was small, with a queen bed and two nightstands filling the entire wall. There was a small couch at the end of the bed, and a desk/wardrobe on the wall opposite the bed. The bathroom was standard size and had a very nice shower/tub and was very clean. Toiletries were included (but no conditioner), as was hair dryer. The bed was slightly awkward, as I ended up rolling toward the middle of the bed since I'm the lighter of myself and my travel partner.

The location was also very good -- we walked to the Anne Frank house one morning and it was well within 15 minutes. The entire city center was actually very walkable and although we were close to the trams, we walked almost everywhere. The staff were helpful and offered to store our bags while we waited for our room to be ready the first day we checked in. They also helped us with directions and questions we had. I was also very impressed with the security -- after certain hours, you had to have your key to enter the front door into the lobby and also to get in the elevator. I would certainly stay there again, especially if I got such a deal on Priceline!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We got a great deal on priceline with airfare & hotel combined. This place felt like a luxury hotel compared to what we expected for the price we paid. We had a basic room and it was pretty tiny, but we never spent much time in the room. What more do you need than a bed and bathroom anyway? It was clean and comfortable. The people at the front desk were polite and helpful when we asked questions about where to go and things to do. There is a computer in the lobby with free internet access, you just have to get a login code from the front desk. We never ate there, it was probably too expensive.
The best part was the location, Leidseplein. There are many restaurants, cafes and coffeeshops (if that's your thing) within walking distance of the hotel. Museumplein is also within walking distance. There is a tram stop just across the street so it's very convenient to get around the city. Honestly, you could walk the entire city if you wanted to. If you're into the nightclub scene, you might have to venture out of Leidseplein to the more happening areas and take a taxi home (since the tram doesn't run all night), and same for the Red Light District. Although the most exclusive club, Jimmy Woo, is right there, don't count on getting in unless you're on the list! We learned this the hard way.
Basically, if the price is right, you can't go wrong with this hotel. Don't stress over the size of the room - you're in Amsterdam! Go out and have fun!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Stayed here Mar6-8. Got a great deal on NYOP on priceline, $68 per night before fee. The staff was very helpful with directions and the location of the hotel was very close to the tram system. Everything in this hotel seemed like a typical chain hotel which was fine for the very limited time we would actually spend in the room. The internet was a bit expensive, I didn't use it. We did not try the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stltravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Booked this hotel as wanted to feel what the NH experience was like.
To be honest, was a little disappointed with the above hotel.

When we arrived the upselling (to Deluxe rooms) was done so aggressively it almost felt that the standard rooms were simply not worthy of our stay.
We stood our ground though and got 3 rooms in total. 1 was a smoking (which is a positive thing as not many hotels in Amsterdam still have these rooms)

The room however wasn't anything special...
The night before I stayed at the Mercure Aan de amstel (review on this hotel to follow) and to be honest if that location would be in the same place as the NH Amsterdam Centre, no doubt I would have gone for that hotel as the rooms were kinda similar but with just nicer touches... The rooms in the NH Amsterdam Centre just do not match the expectancy for some reason, but nevertheless I guess it has all you need in a good 4* hotel.

The breakfast on the other hand (which was included in our rate) was of SUPERB quality.

(finally it seems that Iberia staff use this hotel as their main base when on overnights to Amsterdam - Spanish hotel chain / Spanish airline OF COURSE - and these crews are soooo incredibly rude when passing you in the lift or corridors and will not even acknowledge you when you hold the liftdoor open for them and simply expect you to wait or be prepared to be shouted at in Spanish.

Anyway, in general I could stay at this hotel again but only if the price is right, cause otherwise I wold be just as happy at one of the many other hotels Amsterdam counts.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchboy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Great location in the museum district; 5 minutes from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum (perfect for getting there first thing in the morning and avoiding the queues). Also very near a wonderful vegetarian restaurant called, something like, De Waggles. Our room overlooked a very quiet, rather pretty side street. The room was well decorated and very comfortable and certainly appeared clean. The bathroom was also well laid out, but the toilet had not been cleaned properly and the bathroom fan was not working, leaving us with no secrets from each other. The staff were eager to help with directions and such and the room included a free map and hotel copy of a guide book, which were helpful. Excellent value for money and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurMrsReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#98 of 368 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,781 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#125 of 368 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,373 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#77 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Property: NH Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing