We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Pony”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Acca/Van Gogh
Ranked #362 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Pony”
Reviewed 17 March 2008

I have just returned from a weekend break in Amsterdam, staying in this absolute pile of flith hotel. The lift didn't work, there were no batteries in the TV remote and the room was in a terrible state..

I travelled with my moaning wife and she hated it more than me, I would recommend people stay away from this hotel at all costs.

Ps - The staff were very helpful and it was in a great location but the hotel needs to be torn down and rebuilt.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    4
    9
    31
See reviews for
6
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

This is the worst place in Amsterdam. We booked two twin rooms but the manager tried to palm us off with a huge, cold, filthy, dangerous, unhealthy,smelly dorm style room with four single beds, one wardrobe (with no doors, it's own graffiti, no hangers or rail) and a bathroom we felt dirtier coming out of! He gave us an extra room eventually but we didn't use it on the second night as we felt safer all sleeping together in one room. We didn't try the breakfest after imagining the condition the kitchen must be in. Honestly, trust the reviews on this site. We didn't and regretted it.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank adampowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2007

This was by far the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in. The carpets were not vacuumed, the blankets on the beds had cigarette burns in them, wires were hanging out of the ceiling, the bathroom shower curtain had mold and mildew on it, the bathroom and shower floor had hair on it and there were spider webs all over the place. To top off the already terrible room conditions, the temperature in the room was well over 100 degrees (F) while sleeping at night. The breakfast was a complete joke. The hotel charges 7.40 euro for a meal that includes coffee, one slice of bread and one slice of cheese. After leaving the hotel it was concluded that sleeping in the car would have been a better option than staying at this hotel. Overall review: Overpriced, unsanitary and unsafe.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank nild21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2007

This is the worst hotel I ever stayed in. I paid for two nights but only stayed for one. Please save yourself the pain and book into a proper hotel.

To sum up my experience here are a few of the highlights:

Vomit stained carpets in the hallways
Dodgy and scary lift
Dodgy fire escapes
Poorly lit hallways (probably to hide the vomit stains)
Dodgy room door locks (do not bring valuables with you and I wouldn't recommend leaving them in the hotel 'safe' either)
Bathroom is more a wet room and is by no means hygienic
No hot water
Dirty towels
Blood stained implement found in room
Evidence that room was broken in to previously
My door lock for the night was some furniture that I moved in front of the door to prevent it been broken into
Blood on the underside of my pillow (which I only notice in the morning)
Dead insect which I suspect was a bed bug or other parasite (again I only noticed this in the morning)

Please do not stay at this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Liked — Nothing! Everything about this hotel was terrible. Its location does not make up for anything.
  • Disliked — Everything. From the moment I checked in to the moment I left to find another hotel. This hotel has no redeeming qualities.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Besharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

3 words of advice:

Don't do it!

Just have a look at the photos posted....

  • Liked — Comedy value
  • Disliked — It was a dirty flea pit!
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Do not get this one mixed with the Acro which is just up the road where our friends were staying, so we had something to compare with. Certainly not 3 star, I wouldn't give it a 1. Rooms I am sure are let out by the hour. We didn't even get up for breakfast ofter the first morning, not worth the effort.

One of the worst.

  • Liked — Giving back the room key
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lindyloocardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2007

From reading some of the other reviews I was prepared to be staying in an absolute dump but in reality its ok. The bedding was clean, as was the bathroom and the staff were friendly and helpful. Its really close to Leidseplein and Heinken Experience is walking distance too. Dont have champagne taste and beer money, you get what you pay for!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberdeendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,008 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,013 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Parkzicht
Parkzicht
#287 of 368 in Amsterdam
37 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acca/Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acca/Van Gogh

Property: Hotel Acca/Van Gogh
Address: Van de Veldestraat 3A, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Hotel Acca Van Gogh
Acca Van Gogh Hotel
Acca Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing