We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'House of Horrors'”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Acca/Van Gogh
Ranked #367 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 24 March 2006

This hotel really is the house of horrors. We were a group of 5 girls from the UK staying for 3 nights. Upon arrival we were given the basement rooms. The first basement room was disgusting - it had 4 grotty 'beds', very little lighting, a view of the tip from the window, holes in the wall where there had been a fight from the previous occupants, and for some unknown reason a massive blob of wet toilet paper stuck to the wall (presumably to cover up a hole?). Hotel manager had no shame about the state of the rooms and said 'it's amsterdam what do you expect - if we fixed these things, they would just get broken again so what's the point'.

The second basement room was just as bad but more bearable because of the heat blasting from the radiators and a few more lights. Dodgy stain on the bathroom floor (looked alot like old blood) and yet more holes in the walls.

We did mange to change the first basement room for a double room on the second floor - although the room was slightly better, the bathroom was hideous (avocado green and filthy) and the shower was more of a drip. Thin walls too - my friends woke up to the sound of their neighbours coughing/wretching/vomitting down the corridor. Nice.

Breakfast consisted of bread (not even toasted) with slices of ham and cheese. that was it. tea/coffee if you were lucky. We only had breakfast one day because it was so awful. The lights even went out when we were half way through our 'meal' - not sure if this was due to fuse blowing (no cooking was being done so don't know how this could have happened) or money in the meter running out.

Certainly not a 3* although the manager will beg to differ - and charges as if it's a 3*! Our opinion of the hotel was shared by most guests we met in the breakfast room that morning. Don't go there!!!

Photos to follow....

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Iloveholidays000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 46 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London England
13
Reviewed 12 December 2005

We were unfortunate enough to be in a group of twelve
who stayed at the terrible Acca. The Lobby area is
good and confortable, the rest of the Hotel?? should
be condemned how any sane person even give it a one star rating is beyond me. The rooms were dirty lighting had been removed and wires painted over
the W.C seat was broken,plumbing was not attached
to the basin. The radiator in the bedroom was off the wall and not working,the bedding was dirty in general
I will never again stay in this dump.A hostel would be more comfortable

Stayed: November 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2005

six of us stayed for one night thank god only one we had three rooms ours being the best dirty and very smelly the breakfast was a joke ate out the staff were very nice and helpfull hotel not good

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2666ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
12
Reviewed 28 November 2005

We were a large group of 12. We stayed for 2 nights and that was enough! The hotel was filthy! The pillows, sheets and carpets were old and filthy. After complaining to the staff, we were given 2 new pillows to share between us. The striped pink and white lumpy bed cover looked more like "Bag Puss" - the children's character, but not as cuddly!

The hotel room smelled very damp, and we were afraid to use the wardrobes. A flea pit in a great location. Don't go there!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
IRELAND
12
Reviewed 28 November 2005

where do i start the smell that greeted us as soon as we entered the lobby was enough, a bar was non existant, stains on the carpets, had a balcony room had to push the chair against the door to keep it shut, you could hear every single movement throughout the hotel just as good we only used it to sleep in, the breakfast was a joke would not recommend this.........I WAS GOING TO SAY HOTEL.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
34
Reviewed 26 September 2005

go if ya in a big group and dont mind stayin in a not so clean not so nice hotel. the loby looks really nice, but the second you walk down to rooms you know its a bit of a hole. stayed in the basement rooms, large and away from everywhere else so you can ave a massive group smoke and play music and no one gives a ----.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ireland
15
Reviewed 19 September 2005

Oh where to start!!!! We being 5 fun loving Irish lassies arrived at the glass doors of the Hotel Acca at around 11.30a.m on a sunny september mornig,only to discover that we shared our entrance to the hotel with a Primary school yard,there were screaming children everywhere! On entrance to the building everything seemed fine and there was the cutest little bar hidden away in the corner PERFECT......Anyway I won't keep you much longer,short & sweet- the room was very dissapointing. It was dull & dreary but it had a lovely balcony for which to drop water bombs on the heads of those screaching children!!!(only joking) After all the room was only for sleeping in and the location was unbeatable. So we went about our merry way discovering all the sites and sounds of Amsterdam and on our return requested a drink in the little bar we spotted earlier. The receptionist/barman/handyman etc. opened the bar and took our orders for vodca & beer. He had enough for three vodkas and had one bottle of beer. Hmmmmm we thaught this is going to be some laugh!!!!!! So we went to the Off Licence & baught our own drink and supplys and made our way back to the lounge in the hotel,from that moment on we realized that had we not chosen to stay in the Acca,our stay would not have been quite so memorable,we felt so relaxed and at home the whole time. It was fab! The next day we kept our fingers crossed that the bar had not been stocked up,so we could have another cheap night in,and lo and behold our wish was granted!!!!! I plan on going back to Amsterdam in early 2006 and I will definately be booking into the Acca,simply for the atmosphere it was spot on and really reasonably priced for the location. What an experience.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#141 of 373 in Amsterdam
952 reviews
Hostelle
#35 of 242 in Amsterdam
271 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acca/Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acca/Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 3A, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £66 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Hotel Acca Van Gogh
Acca Van Gogh Hotel
Acca Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing