We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in the canal district, reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #185 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in the canal district, reasonable price”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed a total of three nights at the Hotel Brouwer during two visits while passing through Amsterdam and had a great time. The building is a converted canal home built in the 16th century. As with most of these old buildings in Amsterdam it has very steep stairs but it also has an elevator. Both of the rooms we stayed in overlooked the Singel canal and had postcard views, the best views were from the top floor room, no surprise there. The rooms were clean with two twin beds side by side to make a double bed, sort of. Bathrooms were were also clean and functional, one of the rooms had a tub and shower, the other just a shower. Our hosts were gracious and allowed us to check in early on both of our arrivals in Amsterdam from overnight flights. Breakfast was also good, coffee great! A computer is available to check email, etc. There was some street noise at night. Not bad on the weeknights but more on the one Friday night we stayed there. I think the street noise will be a problem anywhere in the canal district. If this is a big problem for you then staying at the Hilton may be a good idea. For me it was part of the local color. I would not hesitate to stay at the Hotel Brouwer again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tralika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    167
    49
    19
    5
See reviews for
51
206
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed in the Vermeer room for 4 nights, leaving yesterday.
The room was clean and basic with fabulous views out to the Singel. The bathroom was fine. I didn't need much more as we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel apart from sleeping.
Breakfast was superb. Eggs were cooked from scratch when you showed up at the table, so no dark ring round the yolk. Good coffee, freshly brewed in a cafetiere. You also get a good mature gouda, a baguette and a crumpet.
The location is excellent. Near all the sights, bars and restaurants and right next to the Jordaan.
I paid €100 for a twin but this was almost half the price of some 2 and 3 star accommodation nearby. I'm still completely flabbergasted as to why Amsterdam is the most expensive city in Europe for tourist accommodation. It wasn't always as prohibitively priced.
If you're looking for no frills accommodation that is almost good value then you could do a lot worse than stay at the Brouwer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shakespiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Brouwer in August 2011. Our experience was amazing! The rooms were spotless and lovely. The breakfast was delightful, cheese, jam, eggs, assortment of bread, coffee/tea and orange juice. Staff and owners were helpful and kind. The price was amazing, especially when compared to other B&B's. Hotel Brouwer was not top luxury but it is comfortable, historic and centrally placed to all tourist areas. When we return to Amsterdam, we will absolutely stay here and nowhere else.

A few notes for those who are new to Amsterdam. Yes, Hotel Brouwer is located next door and near a few sex work residences (red light) but don't worry, the ladies won't bite and were quite sweet. Though located on the corner of the Singel canal, we found it quiet at night except for the Tuesday AM trash pick up.

Room Tip: The Rembrandt room! A corner room on the 1st floor. Beautiful views and windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaAdventuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Co.Louth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Hi we stayed in this hotel recently, my husband was a bit dubvious walking down to it - we had our first sight of the ladies working in the windows.
The hotel is so central it is literally a ten min walk from central train station, dam square and Anne Franks house. The breakfast was lovely - little touches like warm bread definately added to it, the room was lovely over looking a canal.
The the pros it would not be an true review if i didn't mention the cons...
the lift is tiny! so small i used it once then took the stairs after that. All 57 of them! we counted, also if you are a light sleeper prob not the best place for you, the outside street starts coming alive early in the morning and although the windows are charming they are not great at keeping the noise out!
All in all a lovely hotel so different from a big souless generic hotel,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scirish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

While I would agree that the location of this hotel is good, travellers should be aware that this is a one-star hotel. We were unaware of this when we booked it and the room tells the story. We were booked in the Vermeer room and I imagine that other than the bathroom, nothing in the room has changed since Vermeer was alive. It is small, there is no comfortable place to sit, only a desk chair. Oh yes, there is a tiny TV. On the plus side, the staff is very helpful and the facility is clean and there is free internet. There are about 4 red lights on the block, one next door but that really didn't bother us although it may offend some. It is located on a busy street and is quite noisy during sleeping hours.
We did find a good restaurant with excellent food and very reasonable prices that is very close to the hotel called Seasons.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Brouwer. The staff was excellent, all English speaking. Excellent location, easy walking distance from Amsterdam Central train station. Close to several street car lines. Our only issue was noise from the street overnight, cars and people talking. Otherwise, a lovely stay, and we would stay there again if we're back in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We liked the Vermeer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I was not disappointed on my return to this delightful hotel in a 17th century canal house. The accommodation is simple but spotlessly clean.Towels changed and rooms cleaned daily. Breakfast ...an assortment of breads, boiled egg, cheese and jam and served in the reception area overlooking the canal.It is excellent value for money, especially as the rooms have en suite facilities. Importantly it is situated away from the garish and somewhat tacky delights of the more touristy areas around the Central Station and the red light district. A great choice if you want to get a feel of historical Amsterdam and avoid a corporate hotel, or some kind of back - packing experience in one of the cheaper hotels. This hotel is smoke free. Perhaps not for anybody with mobility problems as the stairs are quite tricky and the lift a rather cramped, clunky one person experience.
It appears to be a family run business and the hoteliers and the staff give excellent advice about local restaurants, tram routes etc.They can also arrange a taxi to the airport at a very reasonable price. Good choice if you don't want lots of frills.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#159 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#233 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#160 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Property: Hotel Brouwer
Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing