We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant, Convenient, Reasonable Amsterdam B&B”
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #193 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant, Convenient, Reasonable Amsterdam B&B”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed for 3 nights October 2011 and it was lovely. Had the Van Gogh room overlooking the Singel canal. Large double, very nice en suite facilities, pleasant folks. Good breakfast. 10-15 minute walk from Centraal Station, tram line one block east, so one can get everywhere. Just on the edge of Jordaan.

Room Tip: If you are a solo traveler as I am most of the time, as for a double at a single rate and it's v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wyvernoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    167
    50
    20
    6
See reviews for
52
209
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in December 2011. The owner is friendly and the breakfast is good. Its located with in walking distance of the Anne Frank Home, the train station and the Pancake Bakery. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. The hotel is an older hotel and the building has a lot of character. If your looking for the Hilton this is not it. If you want a great location with friendly people and a building with some real history this is the place to go. We had a great time. The hotel offered some great directions and good advice. The bed was comfy and warm. Great Location. Owner is very nice, and friendly. Continental breakfast was yummy :) We stayed in the corner room called the Rembrant Room.

Room Tip: This Hotel is literally 2 blocks from the train station. Print off a map and walk to the hotel. We a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I found this hotel from Tripadvisor and made the reservation by email. The price was low and location good. Stayed two nights in Vermeer room.

The hotel is located on the Singel canal and it was easy to find. The staff spoke excellent English and were helpful. Our room was ready when we arrived at 11 am.

The best thing about our room was the view. Bad parts were the shower, noise from the street and noise from the radiators. I couldn't have slept without earplugs. Room was pretty basic and nothing fancy. There's not much closet space or anything where to unpack your belongings. No safe, small tv, comfy bed and small table and couple of chairs. The house is old and charming with wooden floors but the room was a bit boring and I have to say I'm not used to luxury or anything fancy.

Breakfast was included with the price and it was tasty. They serve it and there were coffee/tea, fresh bread, cheese and juice. On some days there were two dogs on the reception area and they were very cute.

The stairs are steep and there's also a small elevator. They don't take credit cards so be prepared to pay with cash.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This small hotel was ideally located , had a charming dining room to enjoy our breakfast and the room was nicely appointed - with a great view of the Singel Canal. All this at a very fair price. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Steep stairs and one-person elevator might make you want a lower level room, but our view from the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Brouwer beginning of October Great location on the Singel Canal where we could walk to most attractions. Room was large, very clean with lots of windows and a great view. The small elevator made getting our luggage up those Dutch canal house spiral steps easy. Helpful English speaking staff. Reasonably priced - less than 100euros including a nice breakfast. Computer is available to print our boarding pass. http://www.hotelbrouwer.nl/

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed a total of three nights at the Hotel Brouwer during two visits while passing through Amsterdam and had a great time. The building is a converted canal home built in the 16th century. As with most of these old buildings in Amsterdam it has very steep stairs but it also has an elevator. Both of the rooms we stayed in overlooked the Singel canal and had postcard views, the best views were from the top floor room, no surprise there. The rooms were clean with two twin beds side by side to make a double bed, sort of. Bathrooms were were also clean and functional, one of the rooms had a tub and shower, the other just a shower. Our hosts were gracious and allowed us to check in early on both of our arrivals in Amsterdam from overnight flights. Breakfast was also good, coffee great! A computer is available to check email, etc. There was some street noise at night. Not bad on the weeknights but more on the one Friday night we stayed there. I think the street noise will be a problem anywhere in the canal district. If this is a big problem for you then staying at the Hilton may be a good idea. For me it was part of the local color. I would not hesitate to stay at the Hotel Brouwer again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tralika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed in the Vermeer room for 4 nights, leaving yesterday.
The room was clean and basic with fabulous views out to the Singel. The bathroom was fine. I didn't need much more as we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel apart from sleeping.
Breakfast was superb. Eggs were cooked from scratch when you showed up at the table, so no dark ring round the yolk. Good coffee, freshly brewed in a cafetiere. You also get a good mature gouda, a baguette and a crumpet.
The location is excellent. Near all the sights, bars and restaurants and right next to the Jordaan.
I paid €100 for a twin but this was almost half the price of some 2 and 3 star accommodation nearby. I'm still completely flabbergasted as to why Amsterdam is the most expensive city in Europe for tourist accommodation. It wasn't always as prohibitively priced.
If you're looking for no frills accommodation that is almost good value then you could do a lot worse than stay at the Brouwer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shakespiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 367 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,110 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#233 of 367 in Amsterdam
360 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#170 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Property: Hotel Brouwer
Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing