We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice room, but do not upset the night watchman.”
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #197 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We liked this place a lot even though the night watchman was very very upset we arrived 15 minutes late, despite our getting permission to do so by the owner. We almost weren't allowed to check in at all even though we were polite, accommodating, etc. Fortunately, the rest of the staff were very apologetic and attentive, and the breakfast was very nice. We will stay here again, and will steer clear of Ramon.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mare123Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed for 3 nights October 2011 and it was lovely. Had the Van Gogh room overlooking the Singel canal. Large double, very nice en suite facilities, pleasant folks. Good breakfast. 10-15 minute walk from Centraal Station, tram line one block east, so one can get everywhere. Just on the edge of Jordaan.

Room Tip: If you are a solo traveler as I am most of the time, as for a double at a single rate and it's v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wyvernoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in December 2011. The owner is friendly and the breakfast is good. Its located with in walking distance of the Anne Frank Home, the train station and the Pancake Bakery. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. The hotel is an older hotel and the building has a lot of character. If your looking for the Hilton this is not it. If you want a great location with friendly people and a building with some real history this is the place to go. We had a great time. The hotel offered some great directions and good advice. The bed was comfy and warm. Great Location. Owner is very nice, and friendly. Continental breakfast was yummy :) We stayed in the corner room called the Rembrant Room.

Room Tip: This Hotel is literally 2 blocks from the train station. Print off a map and walk to the hotel. We a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I found this hotel from Tripadvisor and made the reservation by email. The price was low and location good. Stayed two nights in Vermeer room.

The hotel is located on the Singel canal and it was easy to find. The staff spoke excellent English and were helpful. Our room was ready when we arrived at 11 am.

The best thing about our room was the view. Bad parts were the shower, noise from the street and noise from the radiators. I couldn't have slept without earplugs. Room was pretty basic and nothing fancy. There's not much closet space or anything where to unpack your belongings. No safe, small tv, comfy bed and small table and couple of chairs. The house is old and charming with wooden floors but the room was a bit boring and I have to say I'm not used to luxury or anything fancy.

Breakfast was included with the price and it was tasty. They serve it and there were coffee/tea, fresh bread, cheese and juice. On some days there were two dogs on the reception area and they were very cute.

The stairs are steep and there's also a small elevator. They don't take credit cards so be prepared to pay with cash.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This small hotel was ideally located , had a charming dining room to enjoy our breakfast and the room was nicely appointed - with a great view of the Singel Canal. All this at a very fair price. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Steep stairs and one-person elevator might make you want a lower level room, but our view from the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Brouwer beginning of October Great location on the Singel Canal where we could walk to most attractions. Room was large, very clean with lots of windows and a great view. The small elevator made getting our luggage up those Dutch canal house spiral steps easy. Helpful English speaking staff. Reasonably priced - less than 100euros including a nice breakfast. Computer is available to print our boarding pass. http://www.hotelbrouwer.nl/

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed a total of three nights at the Hotel Brouwer during two visits while passing through Amsterdam and had a great time. The building is a converted canal home built in the 16th century. As with most of these old buildings in Amsterdam it has very steep stairs but it also has an elevator. Both of the rooms we stayed in overlooked the Singel canal and had postcard views, the best views were from the top floor room, no surprise there. The rooms were clean with two twin beds side by side to make a double bed, sort of. Bathrooms were were also clean and functional, one of the rooms had a tub and shower, the other just a shower. Our hosts were gracious and allowed us to check in early on both of our arrivals in Amsterdam from overnight flights. Breakfast was also good, coffee great! A computer is available to check email, etc. There was some street noise at night. Not bad on the weeknights but more on the one Friday night we stayed there. I think the street noise will be a problem anywhere in the canal district. If this is a big problem for you then staying at the Hilton may be a good idea. For me it was part of the local color. I would not hesitate to stay at the Hotel Brouwer again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tralika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 376 in Amsterdam
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#183 of 376 in Amsterdam
485 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing