We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and canal view.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #175 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location and canal view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

My single room was tiny, but very neat and clean. The bathroom was larger than I expected. There was street noise, but that is common in Amsterdam and I know to bring earplugs. Breakfasts were perfect. Elevator is a real plus. Loved being able to use the computer and the staff was very friendly (including the two poodles at breakfast).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeredithMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    165
    47
    18
    5
See reviews for
50
202
57
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel Brouwer is in a good location being 10 min. walk from the train and the center of the city and on a canal. It is fairly clean with a comfortable bed.The view from the room is amasing canal panorama. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. We paid 114 euro with breakfast and tax, which is a little more than what it is worth.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shimonani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel Brouwer is in a good location being 10 min. walk from the train and the center of the city and on a canal. It is fairly clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. We paid 95 euro with breakfast which is about what it is worth. I think there are better options than this.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Charming hotel. Easy enough to find.
The lift can only accommodate 1 person with luggage, but then that's nothing new in europe :) But you can't use the lift after 11pm.
The stairs are the spiral type, so if you come in drunk one late night, be very careful going up (or down) those stairs!
We had the Rembrant room. Very charming :) It's facing the canal. We requested for a room with double-sized bed but it was actually 2 single beds pushed together. But no problem there, they were comfortable beds and very clean :)
The tv is smallish, but good enough. Bathroom is clean with hot water.
Con: No free wifi. The only good budget hotel we stayed in that did not offer free wifi. A bit weird, especially for the price. There's a computer downstairs that anyone can use freely.
Breakfast is good, but never changes. Good thing we only stayed for 3 nights (only 2 nights with breakfast) The meal is served with a smile by nice people and it's calming to eat breakfast in that little dining area with the canal just outside and people riding by in their bikes :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel is really gem. It’s a pleasant to stay, close to Centraal Station and to many interesting places in Amsterdam, spacious room etc. From Centraal Station, just take any trams that go south (1, 2, 5, 13, 17) and get off at first stop (Niewezijdskolk). Walk through small alley, and walk 2 blocks (only 30-40 m.), Hotel Brouwer is on your right in the corner of Singel Canal. By the way, beware of bicycles passing by when you cross streets. Or in case you don’t carry large baggage, you may walk from the station within 20 min.
We stayed in Van Gogh Room, which is the corner room and it offered great canal view looking from window.. Lift here is one of the smallest that I ever used (another one was in Paris).
Breakfast is okay. Pastries were freshly baked. Besides, there were orange juice, coffee from coffee press, jam, butter, a couple of sliced cheese, hot boiled egg. That’s all, but enough for us for about 3-4 hours. However, it is normally served from 8.30am, which we had to skip it for a couple days as we’d go out early. It’d be much better if they can serve breakfast earlier than that.
There is computer and printer available to use for free during around 8 am-8pm. However, it’s in front of lobby (breakfast room), which is locked after 8pm, including kitchen. There is wifi available for free, too, but its signal was not that strong in our room, so I had to use my iPhone near our room door or even walk out of room to better received wifi signal.
I saw sign indicating that kitchen is for staff only, I think it depends on with who you talk to. We were yelled at by one guy, but 2 days after that, we asked other 2 guys and they said no problem at all.
The hotel front door is usually locked, so you have to ring the bell in front. Beware, please ring only once or you may risk being yelled at angrily by one elderly guy. Once you are hotel guest, you can use side door to enter hotel.
In conclusion, I like this hotel. It’s very convenient and with a nice view and neighborhood, after all, it’s quite cheap (€95+ for double) for Amsterdam. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who consider visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Van Gogh room is a corner room and you can see Singel canal clearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We have been to Amsterdam several times on business and as tourists always staying in up market places. This time we thought we should try an historic canal house. The Brouwer is just that, but in the end it was not a very good choice. Very good location, close to the rail station, sights and good eating places, and with easy access to the tram routes to the cultural area of museums, galleries, the Opera House and the Concertgebouw. Culture is our prime reason for visiting any city. The hotel is also lit by the rosy glow of several local red light establishments, but surprisingly there is little or no street noise. The hotel staff were very pleasant, and the rate of 95 euros / night for a so called double room- plus 5 euros / night tax- in cash only, was reasonable for this city. The rate includes a good continental breakfast. Access to the rooms is by a very steep spiral staircase, or a two person- or one person plus baggage- lift. The room ( Rembrandt) on the first floor overlooked the Singel canal and was sparsely and somewhat primitively furnished. The floor sloped markedly towards the canal view and the beds were two uncomfortable single beds pushed together. You risked life and limb, or merely falling out of bed, if you wished to engage in any activity other than sleeping! The bath room was worse. No toiletries, thin small towels, and no gutter around the shower, so the whole floor became soaked after a shower! I can see that some ( young?), people would like the quaint and quirky nature of this place, but we are too old for that now- we like our creature comforts too much, so we would not stay her again in the very unlikely event that we should come back to Amsterdam- been there, done it and got the T Shirt.

Room Tip: All rooms have a canal view. It is a long climb up the stairs so lower rooms are probably better. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dunnitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Mondrian room on the top floor. It has a lovely view of the Singel Canal, but the street noise can be a bit bothersome. We travel with a sound machine which helped mask the noise. The steps are steep and windy, but we used the tiny elevator to get our luggage up. The owner was very helpful in getting us tickets for the Canal Boat cruise. We got our tickets to the Anne Frank House several weeks in advance online. It is necessary or you will wait in a line several blocks long to get in. We went thru a separate door for reserved tickets. This room is large and the bathroom is adequate. For the money(cash only) it was a great deal. The location is fantastic for walking most places.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NoFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#152 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#224 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Property: Hotel Brouwer
Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing