We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much a hotel but a bed and breakfast”
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #192 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not so much a hotel but a bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

a lot of character. all rooms face canal. Walking distance from train station. Red light district several blocks away but right next door was you guessed it a red lighted window. So probably not for families with small kids but then neither is Amsterdam..

Room Tip: tiny elevator. One person and one luggage at a time. or two people no luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emelyn1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    167
    49
    20
    5
See reviews for
51
208
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
707 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We've stayed here so many times; it's the only hotel we stay at in Amsterdam. This time we were again in the Mondrian room on the top floor during the third weekend of February. It's my favorite room as it's on the corner and has a larger bathroom than the floors below. And lots of 1/2 timbering in the room. No complaints/concerns about our stay. We'll be back in August, then again next February, etc. While Brouwer, like many hotels, has raised its prices, that's to be expected. The Netherlands is an expensive country for hotels; Brouwer's costs are fine for Holland. I'm sure you can pay less elsewhere and I know you can pay considerably more. For a reasonable cost, friendly service/personnel, and a more than adequate breakfast, stay here. If you don't, that's cool too as it makes it easier for me to book a room when I want to.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Brouwer for two nights in the Bosch room. When we first arrived, we were somewhat skeptical. The bathroom was on a different floor from the bedroom and the floors were slanted! But after settling in we grew to appreciate the charm of our room and realized that we were getting a truly unique Amsterdam experience. The bathroom was recently renovated and nice, although the shower didn't seem to quite switch between the showerheads properly. The bedroom was very large, with a stunning view of the canals and was very well furnished. The wardrobe and bedframe were antique and charming. The staff were also friendly. In particular, the lady at the desk in the evening was extremely kind and helpfully provided restaurant recommendations. Overall I would recommend the Hotel Brouwer for anyone looking for a very different hotel experience. Perhaps not the best for someone with reduced mobility as the stairs are very steep and there are many of them, or for someone looking for a more traditional hotel. But if you are looking for something different and with character then you can't do better than the Hotel Brouwer.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank physette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at Hotel Brouwer in early January. We were a group of 6 (3 couples).

Two of our rooms were on the 3rd floor and one room was on the 2nd floor. Every room had a beautiful view and we were all able to access the free wifi without any problems. The rooms were all different and we had a very comfortable stay.

We booked a few months in advance via email from South Africa and did not need to pay anything until the day we checked out.

We only have one complaint. My parents arrived 2 days after us. Their plane from Germany arrived very early and we had informed Hotel Brouwer about this when we booked and they said it wouldn't be a problem for my parents to arrived before 9h00. When my parents arrived at the hotel, the staff informed them that their room was not ready yet, but they could store their bags in the office and wait in the lobby until we all came downstairs. Since breakfast was already being served to other guests, my dad asked the lady organising the breakfast if he could please have a cup of coffee (he was even prepared to pay for it). The lady was extremely rude and told him to go find coffee somewhere down the street (even though she had a huge flask of filter coffee nearby). As paying guests we did not expect to be treated in such a way.

The rest of the staff that we met were lovely, helpfull and very friendly! They also responded promptly to our emails, which we appreciated.

Apart from the rude lady who works at the Hotel Brouwer, we loved our stay and we would stay there again next time we are in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor, that was you don't hear the creaking of the floor from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steff_Ryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Built in 1652 and Converted to lodging in 1914, this cozy little hotel has location, views and a warm and friendly staff. I have stayed here many times and still enjoy coming back. The views from the rooms over the Single Canal are beautiful; love the water and the houseboats.
Breakfast is very comfortable in a well-lit breakfast room appointed with old artwork of the area. Typical light Dutch breakfast: Soft boiled egg, cheese, rolls, great coffee or tea.
This hotel has an elevator, which is great for the upper floors. Suggest top floors, since the old floors can be noisy from your neighbors. Not bad, just bring ear plugs if you are sensitive.
Location faces the Jourdan district with wonderful shops and restaurants; it is also where many professionals live. At your back is the Red Light district one block away. I guess this gives you choices' you are right on the edge of both.
I like the proximity to the main train station, only a five minute walk. Since I was working, the location was convenvient. Walking disctance from Trams and thus access to all of the region.
I will be back...

Room Tip: Bring your own Shampoo and Soap. Top floor. Try Joselitos Spanish Cafe nearby. You can avoid Red lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinman_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Hotel Brouwer is where we stayed for one night for our trip to Amsterdam. It's conveniently located, being just 10 mins away from the station and the Dam Square. We stayed at the Veneer room and it's overlooking the Singel Canal. The room and the hotel in general is very basic --- furnishing, amenities, etc. But you will get everything you need just the same. Our room's floor is not in lebel but being 400 years old or so, you tend to not mind it. The only complaint we have is the fact that the room is too warm if the heater is on. Oh and another thing, you have prostitute joint as neighbor. Other than those, we vey much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We had the Mondriann room on the 3rd floor (top) with a great view of the canal and along Herenstraat. The room was large and clean, though sparsely furnished. Good sized bathroom with separate bath and shower. Access to the upper rooms is via "the smallest lift in the world", one person and one bag,but it saves climbing an amazing spiral staircase. Wi Fi is free and a good breakfast is available if required. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Central railway station, the terminus for many of the canal trips and the northern end of Damrak are about 15 minutes walk away. There are a number of good restaurants along Herenstraat and in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. We booked from Australia by email, no deposit was required. Would not hesitate staying there again.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic suggest you avoid the lift and stay in a bottom room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 367 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#237 of 367 in Amsterdam
352 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Property: Hotel Brouwer
Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing