We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and unique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #173 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in late June and couldn't have asked for a better hotel! Location was perfect, just a walk away from city center and different neighborhoods. The staff was friendly and breakfast really good, they really made you feel welcome. This is a small b&b style hotel and has tons more character than any big hotel. We had a big room overlooking the canal, which was lovely. I will definitely book this hotel again once visiting Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justcallmeheidi_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    165
    47
    18
    4
See reviews for
50
201
57
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Fab location, Fab hosts, Fab rooms, Fab breakfast.

Just came back, stayed in the Bosch room on the first floor, what a room, I felt like royalty in my bed with the curtains.

This is a fab hotel, The rooms are full of character, original furniture, tiles and floorboards.

I loved it and if I ever go back will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

If you’re looking for the comfort and trappings of a modern hotel chain don’t stay here! Having said that, we LOVE this hotel and have stayed twice in the last three years. Carefully selected after reading all of many reviews from TripAdvisor, we were not disappointed! I will never forget either of our arrivals. After despatching our 2 suitcases, unaccompanied, in the teeny, tiny elevator and climbing the very tight spiral staircase to our second floor Van Gogh room, we lifted off the window frames and opened the shutters wide to a glorious vista of the Singel Canal. On our first stay the canal trees were announcing the arrival of Summer and on the second stay they were aglow with the golden hues of Autumn. The floors of our room had a gentle list towards the canal which added to a unique experience . At times we almost believed we were back in the 17th century!

The daytime managers, Colleen and Ellen were very helpful, especially recommending where to find our favourite food, Dutch Apple Pie. It’s probably good anywhere you find it but after very many tastings we vote the Villa Zeezicht, just down the canal, as serving the very best we’ve ever eaten, sorry Mum. The staff make it themselves on the premises – simply superb!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris-Harvs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The Brouwer isn't for everyone. They'd probably be the first to tell you that. My wife and I have stayed there at least a dozen times over the years and have always enjoyed ourselves. Its on the Singel canal right in the heart of Amsterdam. Many of the reviews we've read complain about the location. Red lights and racial tension. Yes there are some red light spots around and the neighbourhood is diverse. But its all mixed in with some of Amsterdam's best modern shopping and restaurants and hey that's Amsterdam. The hotel itself is old and anything but fancy. The rooms are basic. Super basic. But clean. Back in the day they had no phones no tv's. Thats changed but the overall feel is the same. Each room has a great view of the canal. When you open the old windows its really quite amazing. The bathrooms are the most basic element of all. If you're looking for the Ritz this ain't it. But it's clean and comfy. Breakfast is killer. Hard boiled egg, great coffee, juice, fresh bread, jam and cheese. A great way to start they day. We just left the Brouwer about 3 weeks ago after a 2 night stay for Queens day. We had a very odd room that we've never had before. Their quad room. Its three rooms spread over three levels. Really unique and a great layout for kids (we had our 2 and 5yr old with us) They staff is always very helpful and maybe just a bit quirky but it adds to the whole experience. They only take cash but the rooms are cheap so it's not the end of the world. The Brouwer is not for the faint of heart but it is a unique experience. One we're clearly fond of since we've stayed there so many times now. If you're looking for a great deal and don't need frills and like character you'll love the Brouwer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrancisCornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a great time when we stayed for 5 nights several months ago. All of the staff were incredibly nice and very helpful and accommodating of our toddler. The breakfast is really great and definitely worth the money. We stayed in a double room on the top floor. The bathroom was huge and it had great views. The only downer was that there wasn't wifi access on the top floor. The have a very small elevator you can take to the top floors which is very convenient when traveling with a little one.

The bonus was a surprise visit from President Clinton while we were there. Apparently he stayed there at some point in the 70's and was in town and wanted to reminisce. Sadly, we were napping and missed seeing him (ack!). But, they have the photos to prove it. Our *almost* meeting of Bill Clinton added to our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jso25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

If you want a true Dutch experience with great views of the Singel Canal, this is the place for you. We stayed on the 1st floor (which appeared to actually be the 3rd floor to us) in the Rembrandt room, which was a corner room with windows on two sides. The canal house was built in 1652, so expect steep narrow spiral stairs, sloping wooden floors, "wet" bathroom, lots of character. There is a small lift to take your luggage up (one person at a time), but the house may pose mobility issues for elderly or handicapped. You are in the heart of Amsterdam, which apparently never sleeps, so there is considerable noise from the street until late hours. No frills, so do not expect luxury, but if you want a quirky Dutch canal house experience, go ahead and give it a try!

Room Tip: Walking distance to central train station, but if you have a good bit of luggage, I would recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aint_Life_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My new husband and i stayed at Hotel Brouwer for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon trip.

We agree that the Hotel is more of a B&B, however understood this when booking. Hotel Brouwer does not have the plushness and modernity of a good hotel, but does have the quaintness and character of a true local home - and for this, we believe it was very good.
As to some other points that may be on one's checklist:
- Communication with owners/managers: scant. Indeed upon booking we started getting concerned, but communication was better once there;
- Location: great, though one should be careful to judge how close or far it is from the station on the basis of the luggage needed to pull over cobblestones;
- Breakfast: adequate and consistent, we would say 'moderate';
- Wifi: questionable in our room (Van Gogh);
- Bathroom: we specifically asked for a bath when booking and were allocated a shower room which was far from modern, but clean;
- Room: old but comfortable for a short stay. Lack of space/pristine cleanliness meant living out of our suitcases;
- Bed: Disappointing. Being our honeymoon, we specifically asked for a double bed, which request was also ignored without excuse/feedback - the hotel was only minimally occupied most of the time we were there.
- Lift: available, however it was out of order 2 days out of 5.

Overall, we did not regret our choice but would look for somewhere more comfortable next time we're in Amsterdam on a romantic holiday. One point that is most disappointing is the lack of communication and ignorance of specific requests. We do believe, however that it would be perfectly adequate for most occasions.

Room Tip: Requests for specific rooms/bathrooms/beds not necessarily respected
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tastee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#153 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#224 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#103 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#162 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Property: Hotel Brouwer
Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing