We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #192 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lloydminster Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming B&B in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed three nights at this B & B after visiting Nijmegen. Prior to Nijmegen we had stayed a couple of nights at a different B & B also on the Singel Canal (Hotel Hoksbergen). Hotel Brouwer beat the Hotel Hoksbergen hands down. It was our first visit and we stayed room "Breitler" (Spelling?) which included a comfortable cot bed for our son who joined us at this time. The hotel has the advantage of having a lift for your luggage (and 1 person) and is well within walking distance of the Central Train Station and other sights. During our stay the temperatures were quite warm and the room had the advantage of having windows both on the canal side and on the back which allowed for air circulation. The breakfast was very good and the owners are very helpful and accommodating. There is laundrette very close by which we made use of. Noise from the street on Saturday night was present (Amsterdam is a party city) but not unbearable.

Room Tip: Remember that in these old B&B hotels very few, if any, have air conditioning. During hot weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    167
    49
    20
    5
See reviews for
51
208
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I recently stayed two nights here. This is the second time I have stayed at Hotel Brouwer. The location, on the Singel Canal, is excellent. It is just a 5 - 10 minute walk from the train station, and with in walking distance of most everything you would want to do and see in Amsterdam. The hotel itself is in an older building, and the rooms are pretty small, but this is to be expected in a large city. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FreebirdTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a historical building in a great location on the Singel Canal. This is our second visit and enjoyed as much as ever. Good breakfast, helpful hosts and very comfy rooms with modern ensuites. Only a short walk from the train station and the flower markets. plenty of good restaurants nearby

Room Tip: Top floor is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisBuckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeClimber
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to finish off a 3 day business trip. Location was excellent and price was right for the location too. I had the "HANS" room, I believe, on the 'first' floor....although it took 3 flights to get there! (they do have an elevator big enough for 1 person). Great view out the window. Must pay in cash, and I forgot to ask for a receipt...

3 things keep this from 4 or 5 stars: 1) the room sloped so bad that me and the mattress ended up on the floor by morning. 2) breakfast didn't start until later, and I was up early to get in early to the museums (a must if you don't want to wait in lines), and 3) with no AC, no uncommon in Europe, the noise from outside was quite loud ...I tried to sleep with the windows closed but it was too stifling.

Room Tip: All rooms are suppose to have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in late June and couldn't have asked for a better hotel! Location was perfect, just a walk away from city center and different neighborhoods. The staff was friendly and breakfast really good, they really made you feel welcome. This is a small b&b style hotel and has tons more character than any big hotel. We had a big room overlooking the canal, which was lovely. I will definitely book this hotel again once visiting Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justcallmeheidi_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Fab location, Fab hosts, Fab rooms, Fab breakfast.

Just came back, stayed in the Bosch room on the first floor, what a room, I felt like royalty in my bed with the curtains.

This is a fab hotel, The rooms are full of character, original furniture, tiles and floorboards.

I loved it and if I ever go back will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

If you’re looking for the comfort and trappings of a modern hotel chain don’t stay here! Having said that, we LOVE this hotel and have stayed twice in the last three years. Carefully selected after reading all of many reviews from TripAdvisor, we were not disappointed! I will never forget either of our arrivals. After despatching our 2 suitcases, unaccompanied, in the teeny, tiny elevator and climbing the very tight spiral staircase to our second floor Van Gogh room, we lifted off the window frames and opened the shutters wide to a glorious vista of the Singel Canal. On our first stay the canal trees were announcing the arrival of Summer and on the second stay they were aglow with the golden hues of Autumn. The floors of our room had a gentle list towards the canal which added to a unique experience . At times we almost believed we were back in the 17th century!

The daytime managers, Colleen and Ellen were very helpful, especially recommending where to find our favourite food, Dutch Apple Pie. It’s probably good anywhere you find it but after very many tastings we vote the Villa Zeezicht, just down the canal, as serving the very best we’ve ever eaten, sorry Mum. The staff make it themselves on the premises – simply superb!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris-Harvs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 367 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#237 of 367 in Amsterdam
352 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Property: Hotel Brouwer
Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing