We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Brouwer
Nearby Hotels
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$398
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
187
168
52
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
168
52
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalsoft boiled eggtop floorrembrandt roomtiny liftbill clintonsloping floorsthe red light districtbring earplugsstay there againsingle roomsingle beds pushed togetherbreakfast roomdam squareperfect locationcharming hotelyour luggage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a great little place to stay at in the core of Amsterdam. It's about 5 minutes to the train station, to the dam square, and most other attractions.
We stayed in room Esscher, on the top floor and had a fantastic view of the canal. The room was great, comfy beds, big washroom, quiet. They have a small lift you can take to the top, but only two people can fit, and also two different sets of stairs.
Breakfast was great, coffee or tea, juice, an egg, cheese, and a variety of breads.
The only thing that could be improved on is the wifi, it's wasn't available at all on the top floor, and really only worked well by the computer they have.
Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EzzaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was the first hotel on our visit to Europe and one of the most memorable. The floors aren't always level - this is an authentically old pub. Good value and full of atmosphere. We had an idyllic view of the canal from our room and the photos are stunning. Some of them look like modern Bruegels! It is just so close to the city and within easy walking distance of the Centraal station. Handy to eating places. Don't expect 5 star but look forward to a memorable stay. I like the story about President Clinton having stayed there in the 70s. If you're touring Europe and spending a couple of nights in Amsterdam and need to be careful with funds this may be your place.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems tell them in advance as there may be a room at a lower level. Stairs just could be an issue.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWDandJND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just spent 4 nights in Mondriaan room on the top floor. This must have been our 15th+ stay at Brouwer. No pics to post this time; I've already posted room and view pics many times. This is a great place to stay within the center with ambiance, hospitality, and friendly hosts. I feel like Wim, Colleen, Ellen, and Joseph are friends rather than hoteliers.

As long as you're not looking for American-chain type lodging, this is the place. If you want all those conveniences, go elsewhere and leave the room free for me to reserve for my next visit. The hotel has a small elevator (it's all you need), good size, very clean, rooms, and a nice breakfast.

We'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the Singel canal
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Even though I wrote a review of my last stay three years ago, I can't help but want to write again about how much I absolutely love this hotel.

Want an authentic Dutch experience? Look no further. The rooms just have so much character and with each one having its own bathroom and a canal view, you just can't beat it. Throw in the breakfast and the friendly staff and you're getting an unbelievable value.

Then there's the location. Right in the heart of town and most importantly, two short stops from a tram stop for many lines. By being so close to Centraal Station, you get to take advantage of many of the tram lines which go there. So if you ever leave town for a day trip, you're just one tram stop away once you get back into Amsterdam. And whenever you're exploring Amsterdam and you're ready to head back to the hotel, chances are you'll be close to one of these tram lines or another you can easily connect from. That convenience is priceless.

As I did for this trip and for all future trips, my travel dates to Amsterdam will depend on the availability of this hotel. I love it that much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelZLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed three nights at this B & B after visiting Nijmegen. Prior to Nijmegen we had stayed a couple of nights at a different B & B also on the Singel Canal (Hotel Hoksbergen). Hotel Brouwer beat the Hotel Hoksbergen hands down. It was our first visit and we stayed room "Breitler" (Spelling?) which included a comfortable cot bed for our son who joined us at this time. The hotel has the advantage of having a lift for your luggage (and 1 person) and is well within walking distance of the Central Train Station and other sights. During our stay the temperatures were quite warm and the room had the advantage of having windows both on the canal side and on the back which allowed for air circulation. The breakfast was very good and the owners are very helpful and accommodating. There is laundrette very close by which we made use of. Noise from the street on Saturday night was present (Amsterdam is a party city) but not unbearable.

Room Tip: Remember that in these old B&B hotels very few, if any, have air conditioning. During hot weather make sure the room has some air circulation.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews