We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location but otherwise very basic”
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Ranked #181 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perthshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location but otherwise very basic”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

booked this hotel for a 3 night stay as wanted typical dutch house on canal. Location was excellent with fantastic views of the Singel Canal,but room and service basic. Definitely a quirky hotel which is very different from your normal run of the mill chain hotel -just not sure location is enough to justify this hotel's rating on trip advisor. We were on 3rd floor, up in the attic so views great but it was a long way up when the lift didn't work- which was on a daily basis. Breakfast was the same everyday. There was no choice- boiled egg with cheese and rolls. Hotel relies on location to sell rooms. Staff need to be more vigilant about service quality. Don't think I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple10Perthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    167
    49
    19
    5
See reviews for
51
206
58
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

The staff were friendly and courteous, the location was superb, only a few minutes walk from the station and within easy walking distance of the city centre. We had great vews of the canal from our room. This was at the top of the building, the only draw back was a degree of noise from the plumbing.
We loved the old fashioned breakfast room, and the rolls, croissaants, boiled eggs, and cheese provided were excellent. We would certainly go there again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgoesSkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year 2009/10. Friendly staff (including a cute little dog) Great dutch breaksfast, lovely canal views and free internet. Interesting lift!! Small but perfectly functional. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Television in room receiving BBC one, so we didn't miss Doctor Who on New Years Day!!. Definitely a couple hotels. Not noisy (except on New Years Eve but that's to be expected - amazing fireworks).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Phill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We were a little anxious as some of the reviews lately have been very mixed but we had a great stay. Yes, the staff were not the same every day but all were helpful and polite and provided extra pillows and ice for our drinks faster than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The lift was an adventure every time but as we had the attic rooms we were glad to have it. Both our rooms were clean and the bathrooms fantastic. The towels didnt match but who cares as they were clean as was the bed linen. Location was superb and breakfast fine.Free internet was always working and available and a real bonus. Yes , there are a few "red lights" near by but we felt safe at all times and would recommend this unique hotel to all of our friends.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Made very welcome upon arriving. Great location beside the canal, Beautiful views and allowed one to experience the everyday people in Amsterdam. Life very small, but added to the quirkyness of the hotel. Three couples - rooms all great. Very clean. Breakfast plentiful and service excellent. Easy walking to trams, main train station, red light district, cafes. Able to leave our bags at the hotel for a couple of hours after checkout . Communication for booking was so easy. Easy access to Ann franks House and the hop on hop off canal boats. Look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Good value for money. Clean spacious room. Good breakfast. A little bit noisy outside at night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Brouwer during our first trip to Amsterdam in May of 2009. The Brouwer is a quaint canal house conveniently located in the heart of Singel 83. We stayed in the Vermeer room for three nights and we were very comfortable during our stay. Our room was spacious (for European standards), clean, and had all the amenities we needed. An added bonus was our room overlooked the canal. Yes, the Brouwer is located on the edge of the red light district. However, that never bothered us and we felt completely safe during our stay. My only complaint is that a double bed in Europe is nothing more than two twin beds pushed together. At times the beds would shift away from each-other creating a gap - small complaint. We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Brouwer and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valfrnandz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#159 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#229 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#160 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Property: Hotel Brouwer
Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing