We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok digs for a trip in Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Max
Ranked #312 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Overal a pleasant stay at the hotel and would possibly consider going there again.

Room: Small, basic, but sufficient - big enough for a 3 night stay.
En suit Bathroom: nice, clean and modern
Breakfast: good choice. Nice dining area
Staff: Seemed Friendly and helpful
Location: Good, in walkable distance to the main Old Town area of Amsterdam. Tram stops near by.
Cleanliness: Ok - although there was the odd hair in the bed - hopefully it was just the maids!? we did have maid service everyday.
Bikes: Good value for money service!! Was definitely worth hiring! Would recommend! - a good way to get around Amsterdam!
Problems: The lock on the door handle was very poor. It was a Key card system, so in theory it should self lock - however it didn't! - You had to try again and again and have a certain knack with the handle. We told the Reception guy about this, and he seemed very helpful and understanding and said he would have it fixed the next day - but that never happened during our stay. We told the maid one day as she was going to clean our room (whilst we went out for the day), she seemed to understand, however, upon our arrival back to the hotel later in the evening THE DOOR WAS UNLOCKED! very bad! luckily nothing was stolen!!!! Nonetheless something could have been! The hotel seriously needs to sort this room's door out!!!!!!! (This room was on the first floor).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

I read the room dimensions and it was as they said. I ask for a queen size (matrimoniale) bed but a two single bed are in the room. Breakfast and reception was in another hotel (not mentioned in hotel description!) Queue to have breakfast, one people to manage breakfast and reception, no space to leave luggage on street floor on checkout time (reception and breakfast are downstair). My opinion is really negative about the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Antonio M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

and stay somewhere decent . I booked a room with twin beds , got to the room & there was 1 rather small double bed. I heard the rooms could be small but a convict would get more room in a cell, basically a bed, 1 chair & a small toilet/shower combined.

Shower was filthy , with mould growing up the walls , over the tiles. If you needed the loo you had to sit sideways on . Worst of all NO KETTLE IN THE ROOM , shocking . If you wanted breakfast you have to go to another hotel , the same with checking in and out. the only good thing about the hotel was its nearness to a rather excellent coffeeshop. Will not be staying at Hotel Max again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VillaninWyrley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, it was a great price, and at the end of the day you're only washing and sleeping there!
The beds were comfy, the room was clean, and the ensuite washroom was lovely. Absolutely cannot fault this hotel!
Also there was a little vending machine at the front door which was good for the munchies, and many many little money saving vouchers about.
ALSO the most important thing is that LIDL is right across the road.
Staff were friendly, and also the walking distance into the town centre was very manageable.
Good place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank u for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Is a good hotel, but there are some little problems. The sink was leaking a lot of water and the heater stopped in the middle of night. The schedule of breakfast was Misinformed. But the price isn't expansive for its conditions

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

If you just want a base to leave your bags and sleep in then Hotel Max is a good choice. Very small compact room but had it's own shower/toilet cubical and sink. Twin beds that were comfy enough. Breakfast is basic but nice and sets you up for the day, The staff are really nice and the location was pretty good, the tram stop was a short walk away. The hotel is opposite a Lidl so ideal for a snack or milk (we're English we drink a lot of tea!) Our room looked over the entrance of the hotel but we didn;t really hear much comings and goings, the rubbish collectors come pretty early in the morning so if that bothers you bring earplugs like I do. All in all, nothing fancy but great for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank nicmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank u for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#286 of 373 in Amsterdam
765 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#335 of 373 in Amsterdam
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#288 of 373 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#147 of 373 in Amsterdam
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £43 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing