We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Max
Ranked #315 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Disgraceful. The room was a matchbox, the bed was terrible. Not even a cleaning service, there was only one towel for two people, the non smoking room stunk of cigarets. And it wasn't a cheap price either.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Enttäuschter U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Absolutely terrible hotel. We had an awful stay: staff was very rude and unfriendly, rooms were ugly and super uncomfortable, bathrooms were so tiny that it was impossible to sit on the toilet... Moreover, it was over-priced. Location isn't the best for Amsterdam either.
I would never recommend this hotel for anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shade4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the uppermost floor, in a room for 4 people. The room was clean, the bed was good, there was a nice view outside the window.

The bathroom was also clean, but smelled badly of mold.

I did not had the chance to eat breakfast because it starts at 8 am and I always left before that. The hotel seems to have merged with hotel Iris nearby, where the reception is located and you are supposed to check in and out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobGoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Ok, this is a budget priced hotel but do not expect anything more than low budget accomodation. You have to check in at sister hotel Iris across the road which caused us a deal of confusion as this was very badly explained by a guy on an intercom. We didn't get any sleep in the Max as some very considerate fellow guests liked to have a loud party next door until about 6am each day! Room is very small, shabby & with paper thin walls!.

Best bit is the breakfast in basement of Iris, this was clean & comfortable which was a pleasant change.

If you are not on a very tight budget, avoid this place & stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

What an ugly and dirty place, it is old, tiny and it doesn't even have a reception, you have to go to another hotel in order to check in!!
The staff... totally rude and they don't speak english.
Initially we booked the hotel for 3 days but we left the first day at 3 am because there were mices in the room!!! They were all over the place even on the bed. Stay away from this hole really.

1  Thank frequntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#289 of 375 in Amsterdam
772 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#266 of 375 in Amsterdam
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 375 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#149 of 375 in Amsterdam
410 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#340 of 375 in Amsterdam
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £36 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing