We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rats in the room”
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Max
Ranked #319 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 23 January 2014

There are rats in the room, it is the most terrible place I've ever seen, besides the check-in had to be done 5 min from the main hotel, the service is terrible. The manager doesn't speak English very well, he even dared to tell me that rats are common in Amsterdam and that they all are pretty used to that situation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

The information is Total incorrect. After this guest mentitioned this we directory take action. The pestcontrol departement of the city of Amsterdam gave is after control on THE 22 january an official report that There are no rats or mousses in THE hotel.

We Will putt à picture of THE report on tripadvisor

Please ignore this ignore this review. Our manager is an American who Speaks perfect english.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Good location and break fast was good. i would like to stay if i plan to Amsterdam. Easy to reach, walkable to Hienkien exp. Cost is also reasonable. Staff was giving good response and premises was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nagarajuannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thanks for you review. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Hotel Max is well located with frequent trams passing in the neighbourhood. The room was equipped with nice flat LCD screen with a good choice of TV programs. WiFi worked very good. There was a chair with a desk, sufficient to work with a laptop. The breakfast was acceptable for the price paid.

I was reluctant in taking the room after an episode related to payment: the hotel staff sent an e-mail notifying that CC was declined. I asked if I could present another card at my arrival next day, which was neglected. I was unable to provide a new CC and booked another hotel. Meanwhile they charged the CC that had been declined without notice, and did not allow cancellation.
Regarding the hotel: there is clearly lack of maintenance (e.g. room doors close by shutting strongly). - the room was extremely small and uncomfortable in terms of space and temperature.
Private bath room was outside the room and very uncomfortable too; no toilet paper was available; cleaning was only reasonable.
Breakfast and check-in was in another hotel 300 m, at the other side of the canal. After 4 p.m. there is no one in the reception.

I can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cristiano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nice hotel in nice place not far from the center of Amsterdam. I'd like to stay here next time. But if you arrive you should check in from another hotel(approximately 300 meters from Hotel Max), but this info in description to the hotel, so it was not a surprise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aliaksandr_Sobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank u for your review. Our reception is in the winter closed. From the 15th of march it will be opened again. We are busy to upgrade rooms during the winter. Hotel Max is always one of the best priced hotels in AMSTERDAM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Room was super small. There was no heater. I've called the reception, which is in another hotel, from my mobile then they brang me an electrical heater. Closet seat was broken. If you don't have any other choise you can sleep for a night. Doesn't kill you :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serkansurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

We directly took action for this room. W placed a new heating system. Our employee offered to change he told me but you refused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Don't get near. We were in a lot of others hotels but this one was the crapiest. the service desk is 7 minutes walk, underground.
Really bad service. Really high priced. Wired demands. Simpy don't get byb

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amit U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Normaly I dont go in discussion with hotelguest. Now I make an exception. The hotels are 150 meters from each other. So 7 minutes could not be right.
Secondth if guest is not discuss issues with us we cannot react on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A bunk bed set in a basement which stank of dampness and a tiny room in which one could barely move did not auger well for a stay at Hotel Max. The fact that one had to check in elsewhere and with only one key for two people caused trouble getting in the front door. The decoration and upkeep were very poor and the place highly overpriced for what one got. We were not impressed at all and will not stay there again. The only redeeming factor was the pleasant staff to check you in at the other hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dinfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank u for your review. The room you booked is the lowest priced budget room. Proberly the expectation for the bump bed room were to high. This is a simpel room which reasonly have been build. We informed clearly that it is an small room. Everything is brand new. It has a flatscreen, Private bathroom next tot the room and a save box.

Please inform us at the hotel so we could help you with your complain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#291 of 376 in Amsterdam
779 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#270 of 376 in Amsterdam
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#304 of 376 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#142 of 376 in Amsterdam
416 reviews
De Pijp
The Arcade Hotel
The Arcade Hotel
#267 of 376 in Amsterdam
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £45 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing