We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Max
Nearby Hotels
US$601
US$502
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$479
US$456
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$565
US$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$387
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$327
US$288
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$836
US$622
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$292
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$409
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$346
US$316
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,198
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
28
64
70
47
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
64
70
47
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower toiletwet roomfirst floorlidlstainswardrobe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Upon arriving at hotel iris just across the road, we were pleasantly surprised to find our shared toilet booking had been upgraded to a private bathroom and room over at the hotel max. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who helped us out with a map and we were able to check into our room early which we appreciated after a long flight! We stayed for 2 nights only paying around $60 australian a night so we did not have high expectations. Our room -granted older and small- was cosy and clean and manageable with 2 big backpacks. The bathroom was clean and small and required raking of the water down the drain after a shower which wasn't too much of a bother. We received fresh towels daily and had a heater in our room so it was always warm. Close to tram line 4 it was about a 10 min ride to centraale station. Good value for the price we paid.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Owner at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank very much for the nice words. We are pleased that the stay with us was an success for you.

We always like to hear that our guest liked our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

There are rats in the room, it is the most terrible place I've ever seen, besides the check-in had to be done 5 min from the main hotel, the service is terrible. The manager doesn't speak English very well, he even dared to tell me that rats are common in Amsterdam and that they all are pretty used to that situation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

The information is Total incorrect. After this guest mentitioned this we directory take action. The pestcontrol departement of the city of Amsterdam gave is after control on THE 22 january an official report that There are no rats or mousses in THE hotel.

We Will putt à picture of THE report on tripadvisor

Please ignore this ignore this review. Our manager is an American who Speaks perfect english.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Good location and break fast was good. i would like to stay if i plan to Amsterdam. Easy to reach, walkable to Hienkien exp. Cost is also reasonable. Staff was giving good response and premises was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nagarajuannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thanks for you review. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Hotel Max is well located with frequent trams passing in the neighbourhood. The room was equipped with nice flat LCD screen with a good choice of TV programs. WiFi worked very good. There was a chair with a desk, sufficient to work with a laptop. The breakfast was acceptable for the price paid.

I was reluctant in taking the room after an episode related to payment: the hotel staff sent an e-mail notifying that CC was declined. I asked if I could present another card at my arrival next day, which was neglected. I was unable to provide a new CC and booked another hotel. Meanwhile they charged the CC that had been declined without notice, and did not allow cancellation.
Regarding the hotel: there is clearly lack of maintenance (e.g. room doors close by shutting strongly). - the room was extremely small and uncomfortable in terms of space and temperature.
Private bath room was outside the room and very uncomfortable too; no toilet paper was available; cleaning was only reasonable.
Breakfast and check-in was in another hotel 300 m, at the other side of the canal. After 4 p.m. there is no one in the reception.

I can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cristiano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nice hotel in nice place not far from the center of Amsterdam. I'd like to stay here next time. But if you arrive you should check in from another hotel(approximately 300 meters from Hotel Max), but this info in description to the hotel, so it was not a surprise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aliaksandr_Sobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank u for your review. Our reception is in the winter closed. From the 15th of march it will be opened again. We are busy to upgrade rooms during the winter. Hotel Max is always one of the best priced hotels in AMSTERDAM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews