We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Max

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Max
Ranked #313 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed at Hotel Max with my brother over the new year, the rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable, the staff are very polite and friendly, the rooms are cleaned and bed sheets / towels are added and it's just a ten minute tram ride into Amsterdam Central, I highly recommend this hotel to anybody who is planning to stay in Amsterdam for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ryan420_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
This review we are very pleased with. We always want to improve our hotel.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    61
    64
    42
    62
See reviews for
18
127
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were greeted by a very nice gentlemen who provided us with information about the hotel and info about the city. When we got to our room we were charmed! Some might say that it was to small and crowded but we found it just amazing! We had our own toilet and shower and the toilet were kinda in the shower! Hard to explain but just so darn fun to have such a different room.

Location just a 5-10 minute walk to downtown, when going there you walk past quite many cafés, restaurants and shops.

5 minutes to a grocery shop.

Less then 5 minutes to the Albert Cuypmarkt! Best market ever!

If we return to Amsterdam Hotel Max is a first choice. I would recommend it to those who want an affordable hotel and still close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Please contact us directly when you want to book our hotel. We give special offers in that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Everything was fine, except neighbours were loud, i guess sound isolation might be a bit better. Wifi worked well, not far from Dam square. Supermarket is really really close, bus stop was near. Good for budget travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lolmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank very much nice people from Estonia. When you book next time by our website you get a special arrangement.

We are very pleased for these nice words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittenweem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Room was fairly expensive and very poor value for money because of its small size, uncomfortable bed (no headboard) poor furniture, mouse infestation and bad smell. Reception and breakfast were in a different hotel 500metres away. Staff and breakfast were good, but this did not make up for the appalling room

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We changed a lot since your stay in our hotel. We had renovations in all our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I travelled a lot in my life and I am not picky about where I sleep or demanding in general, but this hotel was the worse one ever. I paid 100€ for first night of my stay for a garden room (double room)…sounds nice, ha? What I got was a dirty room full of big spiders, toilet with accordion doors, tiny room which I wouldn’t mind if the place were clean. The lady at the reception was not helpful and did not want to call the manager or give as a different room. If I wouldn’t pay at advance I would go somewhere else. I have demanded the return of money but of course they didn’t please me. The room I got was not worth 100€/night. The value for money was not acceptable, so I advise everyone to stay away from this hotel – this hotel ruined my holidays which I planned for a long time!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Please contact us about this. We never had any information on this.

I had never any information on this. PLease sent us een email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving at hotel iris just across the road, we were pleasantly surprised to find our shared toilet booking had been upgraded to a private bathroom and room over at the hotel max. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who helped us out with a map and we were able to check into our room early which we appreciated after a long flight! We stayed for 2 nights only paying around $60 australian a night so we did not have high expectations. Our room -granted older and small- was cosy and clean and manageable with 2 big backpacks. The bathroom was clean and small and required raking of the water down the drain after a shower which wasn't too much of a bother. We received fresh towels daily and had a heater in our room so it was always warm. Close to tram line 4 it was about a 10 min ride to centraale station. Good value for the price we paid.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Owner at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank very much for the nice words. We are pleased that the stay with us was an success for you.

We always like to hear that our guest liked our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

There are rats in the room, it is the most terrible place I've ever seen, besides the check-in had to be done 5 min from the main hotel, the service is terrible. The manager doesn't speak English very well, he even dared to tell me that rats are common in Amsterdam and that they all are pretty used to that situation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
The information is Total incorrect. After this guest mentitioned this we directory take action. The pestcontrol departement of the city of Amsterdam gave is after control on THE 22 january an official report that There are no rats or mousses in THE hotel.

We Will putt à picture of THE report on tripadvisor

Please ignore this ignore this review. Our manager is an American who Speaks perfect english.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#234 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#207 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#245 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#291 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#331 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Property: Hotel Max
Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing