We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Max
Ranked #319 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 20 February 2014

First days we stayed in hotel Max and it was great. The service was great. We got free champagne for valentines day and sweet cookies. The staff advised us perfectly.
We extended in hotel Iris because the Max was full. Low priced hotel with great service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank u 4 the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our stay was wonderful besides the crazy weather outside, we loved to stay in and have a nice quite time with my girlfriend. Hotel was small but comfy as hell. Really nice location, close to everything you want, Heineken experience, Van Gogh museum, Rijkmuseum, basically everything you want is 10minute a walk. Because of construction, which we didn't even notice, we needed to check-in in Hotel Iris, which was accross the street, no problem. There is no reception in Hotel Max, altho we could just take phone(every floor had their own) and call them any time of the day/night. In Iris receptionists were soo nice, i think the best thing that this hotel had. They helped with everything, starting from offering coffee/tea at the check-in time till giving extra towels and helping as much as they could. Really delicious breakfast at Iris, fresh bread straight from oven. mmmm, cake! Thanks for lovely time Hotel Iris and Max!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

thank your for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were a bit afraid because of the comments we saw. But we had a great stay. The rooms wear cleaned everyday. The room are not big but the small shower inside the room gives you privacy. Location is close to every body. Because of wintertimes we had to check in hotel Iris next door (100 meters) where we we had a great breakfast. The hot waffles and the friendly breakfast ladies are an plus

Overall: gracias

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcello j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A bit spartan, but clean, comfortable and quiet. Very convenient for the town as well.
The staff over the road were also helpful and pleasant.
It also helped that we were able to park two motorbikes outside quite safely. There`s also a small supermarket opposite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julieprochowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thanks for the review. It is very helpfull for us.

We advise you in the future book directly by the hotel. We can offer a special rate for returning guest. The best room are given to returning guest.

We rent out bikes and have an tours and tickets desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Value for money. Good for friends or couples who expect cheap but clean accommodation. Cleaning service - every day; free Wifi; possibility of breakfast.
Position next to supermarket and coffee shop.

Overall - fully satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Zuzana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

This review we are very pleased with. We always want to improve our hotel.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed at Hotel Max with my brother over the new year, the rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable, the staff are very polite and friendly, the rooms are cleaned and bed sheets / towels are added and it's just a ten minute tram ride into Amsterdam Central, I highly recommend this hotel to anybody who is planning to stay in Amsterdam for a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ryan420_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

This review we are very pleased with. We always want to improve our hotel.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were greeted by a very nice gentlemen who provided us with information about the hotel and info about the city. When we got to our room we were charmed! Some might say that it was to small and crowded but we found it just amazing! We had our own toilet and shower and the toilet were kinda in the shower! Hard to explain but just so darn fun to have such a different room.

Location just a 5-10 minute walk to downtown, when going there you walk past quite many cafés, restaurants and shops.

5 minutes to a grocery shop.

Less then 5 minutes to the Albert Cuypmarkt! Best market ever!

If we return to Amsterdam Hotel Max is a first choice. I would recommend it to those who want an affordable hotel and still close to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Please contact us directly when you want to book our hotel. We give special offers in that case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#291 of 376 in Amsterdam
779 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#270 of 376 in Amsterdam
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#304 of 376 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#142 of 376 in Amsterdam
416 reviews
De Pijp
The Arcade Hotel
The Arcade Hotel
#269 of 376 in Amsterdam
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £45 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing