We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Max
Ranked #312 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Yes it was small and didn't have air conditioning. But it had a large window and a fan! The room was perfect! It was a clean, comfortable and safe place to come back to each night! If you plan on spending your trip in your hotel this will be too small for you... But if you want a cheap private place to sleep it's perfect! Cleaning staff was great and super close to a huge market and grocery store! Would definitely book here again!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank mrandmrscressy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

The room was very tiny ! But the bed was ace so cozy good hotel for the price I would book again.... No breakfast thou included which I would of liked
The hotel staff were nice but you have to walk over to a nearby hotel to check in but it's not that far and we left our key with the cleaner do didn't need to go back over I would stay here again just for the bed it was amazingly comfy wow

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Tre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel Max is cheap and cheerful! It is just a place to sleep whilst staying in this awesome city. It is not located right in the center of AMS but this is actually a good thing!
It is out of the way of the noise at night, it is in a nice quiet part of town, and is a hidden gem. Firstly there is a Lidl mini mart right over the road - which saved us lots of money on food! We lived on Croissants, cheese and ham for a while haha!

The Lidl has a good fresh bakery, cheap fruit juice, and even a coffee machine. Also it is not overpriced like shops in the city center, and you see many local people shopping there. The proximity to Lidl makes Hotel Max a great place for those on a budget like we was!

Also, just around the corner there is this AMAZING market! This again is not in the hustle of the city center, and the stalls sell loads of weird and wonderful stuff, as well as necessities. Definitely visit this market, as it is a real splice of Amsterdam without being a cliche tourist spot.

Also, just over the road from Max is a lovely little coffee shop, which obviously sells recreational Cannabis. It is fairly relaxed as again it is out of the way of the center. Pretty sure there is a Takeaway shop there too.

Max is situated in a place where it takes 20mins or so to walk into the center, we did a lot of walking around AMS, and too and from the Hotel. However, we also headed the opposite way from the center one day, and found some awesome pubs and clubs heading towards the suburbs.

Listen, the Hotel is not a 5 star Hotel. The place is great to sleep and rest up before heading out again. It has its rough edges, but it does what it is supposed to. The shower works, and the beds were clean. We often missed breakfast anyway, but they had no problem with us returning back in the early hours (quietly of course).

What do people expect? This place is a great base of operations for 'missioning' all over this great city!

Shower, Bed, TV, Roof, Door -That is all i need!

Room Tip: They also have a shoe cleaner - some dude stood in dog crap and cleaned his shoe with it. Beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrgeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

this budget hotel is ok the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is better than ok but not great there is a lidel opposite and a coffee shop the Ibiza 30 seconds away, it opens at 10am and closes at 11/12pm depending on the day.Only real problem with this hotel was the shower was in the toilet.

Room Tip: want a good room go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimonclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel Max Amsterdam is the worst ever hotel I've stayed in. It was an awful smell in the corridors. The room was very small. Not enough Space for two persons.Further when making the booking it says breakfast, internet and luggage Storage. None of that was available at the hotel. In addition there was no reception either. So People think twice before reserve room at this. Else the stay in Amsterdam was very Nice and we had a lot of fun too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flemming L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We booked via email a couple of months before hand as a party of 10, the table was ready for us on arrival, the food and service was excellent and great value for money, we did have a job to find it as the restaurant sign was on the wall low to the ground.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I called the hotel prior to arriving as I was concerned we would not arrive there before 11pm (the time stated as latest check in). On the phone the staff were very friendly and informed me that this would not be a problem. On arriving at the hotel the staff were very friendly and we even got to choose a folded ticket to see if we had won a free breakfast, we didn't, but it was a nice little touch. We had to check in at hotel Iris it is only a 5 minute walk from hotel Max and the staff gave us a map. Hotel Max was easy to find, it was covered in green netting when we arrived as construction was going on. The room was small but perfectly adequate. The bed was comfy and we loved the large square pillows. The shower provided good power, the television was functional. The room was simple and small but clean and cozy. The location was fantastic it is slightly out the way of the city center however is 20 meters away from a market which is on every day. Within 50 meters is also a coffee shop (non coffee providing variety) and also a lovely restaurant which I would highly recommend. I can't remember the name of the restaurant but it was opposite the coffee shop. They do fantastic homemade pizza, it has a wonderful atmosphere and the waitress was very friendly. Like others have said there is a lidl opposite great to pick up those essentials. I really recommend this hotel was paid £30 a night and for this it was fantastic value.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are very similar we were on the ground floor which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#286 of 373 in Amsterdam
765 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#335 of 373 in Amsterdam
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#290 of 373 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#146 of 373 in Amsterdam
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £44 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing