We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Roemer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
Ranked #69 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Excellent hotel located centrally in Amsterdam. Great bathroom with tub, great beds and not noisy at all.

Their all inclusive services is a very good idea.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristoffer1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    288
    69
    22
    14
See reviews for
82
444
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights, and was very happy with our choice. Good value for money. Why spend hundreds of pounds on a posh hotel, when you are out exploring most of the time. Nice, friendly staff, good location, near to centre and museums, and very comfortable beds! Could not fault it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Roemer is tucked back from the street near central Amsterdam. Easy to walk to major sites like the Van Gogh Museum and other major museums. Good restaurants nearby. The hotel staff are very friendly. The mini bar is complimentary as are a very wide variety of drinks down in the lobby that are out for the guests throughout the day. Lobby is quite small, but does the job. Keep in mind this is a "boutique" hotel.

Rooms are quite small with very little closet space. Again, come here for a night or two. Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The last time I've stayed here was a while ago but I try to get a room in this hotel each time I'm in town. The location is just perfect at Vondel park which is close to the busy Leidseplein, the shopping street Leidsestraat and the Rijks- and Van Gogh Museum. The rooms are in different buildings. They are extremely stylish (exactly my taste), clean, spacious and the beds very comfortable.There's a nice bar/restaurant which I unfortunately coulnd't try so far but I'll do my best next time!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for - great location, nice rooms and friendly service. Breakfast and drinks are included in the room rate. Great value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmsterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is a small elegant hotel with a great location, just near the Vondelpark. It is so comfortable to be at only 10 minute walk from the busiest area of the city but having near a beautiful park where you can just go and relax. The room which they gave us was large and comfortable and we didn't expect to have a Nespresso coffee machine. The bathroom is spacious and the double shower was really very comfortable. Suggested to people who love small hotels in city center but not too close to the busiest part of it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesmahagow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is, at first glance, an excellent hotel. Expensive, very "boutique" very design-conscious. However, if you're going for the exclusive end of the market, the devil is in the detail.

The location is superb. Very quiet, minutes from Vondelpark with the Vertigo cafe (the film museum is moving). Minutes from Leidseplein with trams to all parts. Close to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum too. There are several REALLY good restaurants nearby, and a host of great walks (one reviewer mentioned this being out of the way; it took me twenty minutes to walk to Centraal - so it's not that bad!)

We didn't include breakfast (we went to Pancake Corner one day, and Vertigo another), as at 19 Euros, it seemed a little steep.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Our first room was tiny. Laughably so. It was [literally] impossible to walk other than sideways from the TV onwards. The TV itself was against a side wall, and had top be manoeuvred out to be watched, then getting it back in to avoid limbo-dancing past it required a degree in mechanical engineering. There was no welcome manual in the room, so the Nespresso machine was a mystery to me. There was only one remote, but two TVs. The bathroom mirror was badly cracked, and the crack had collected a fair bit of dirt, so it had been that way for some time. There was also mould between some shower tiles. We went for a walk just after 0900, and returned at 1530, to find the room had not yet been made up.

Conversely, a good read of any establishment is how they handle complaints; we made the cracked mirror and mould issues known to the staff, and were whisked off to another, larger room with profuse apologies, and a lovely bottle of wine and some canapes.

This room had all the remotes! And a welcome manual. Multiple TVs are a nice idea, but if you ARE going to put them in the room (and personally I have no need for them) - make it elegant, both in appearance and in use. All three TVs had different channel set-ups, so if you were watching something fascinating that you wanted to continue in the shower (?) - finding it was an exercise in frustration, as the channel numbers were not the same. Appearance: the idea of hidden DVD players is very nice, but a hotel of this style shouldn't have spaghetti nests of cable hanging below TVs on the wall.

Another small point (I did say these were small issues) is that there was a separate alcove at the far end of the room, which was a lovely idea; perhaps your partner wants to snooze, and you fancy reading a book? Unfortunately there is no separate lighting for these areas, so your partner can damn well try to sleep with the lights on!

It's a double room, but there is only one miniature shower gel and one shampoo bottle in the toilet. A small point, but it makes a difference.

A big problem is the noise: I know I said it's a quiet area (and it is), but the three big rooms on the ground floor are right next to the kitchen, which starts clattering a LOT around 0700. Then you have early-rising guests shouting conversations to the staff, from the dining room to the reception desk.

Good -

Great staff.
A nice "living room" feel to the lounge area.
A laptop for Internet access. On that note - I'm not overly keen on hotels charging for Wifi. We know how much it costs, and it's not a killer for a hotel, but it makes a huge difference to the stay if you need access. Paying daily or hourly rates seems cheap and tacky.
Very comfy beds - VERY comfy!

Like I said -these are all small points, but they did add up to let the hotel down. A few tweaks to the fine details would make this a highly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanleyAggeridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,013 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 368 in Amsterdam
843 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#54 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Property: Hotel Roemer
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 37 rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, flat screen and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing