We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Cold Shower”
Review of Hotel Roemer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
Ranked #71 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location - Cold Shower”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is a boutique hotel in a great location. Standard, small European style rooms, which doesn't bother us because we don't spend much time in the room while on vacation anyway. It is situated on a charming, quiet street, just a block or two away from all the action, which made it the perfect location for exploring the city. Our room was clean and the only reason I didn't give this hotel a better rating is the bathroom. As many people mentioned, the sink is awkward. I could live with that, but the shower never got warm. I'm not saying it didn't get steamy and hot. I'm saying I froze my butt off every time I showered. My husband thought maybe the water was being locally heated by an element in the shower itself. I'm not sure about that, but I really would have enjoyed a warm shower.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25. It was small, but adequate for two people. I would not want to stay on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaMae07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    283
    67
    22
    14
See reviews for
81
437
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This is a Boutique Hotel "wannabe"! I understand that old buildings in Amsterdam have small rooms, but you don't have to cramp it up with furniture!!!! I've stayed in Amsterdam for 7 nights at this hotel and although it looks good, the room were too small for all the furniture in it. They had three Flat screen TV's (two were the size of iPads) and weirdly located. Besides that they were all old Phillips PLASMA TV not the new LRD ones, and the big one was so far away from the bed that one need binoculars. The hotel is very well located and almost all the staff friendly, but that is ok. I had breakfast at the hotel once, it was fair, but unfortunately on the last day I bumped into a mice crossing the main living room. The clerk that was on duty told me that rats are common in Amsterdam because of the canals, but I'm sure, and that they had recently had gotten ridden of Mr. Jenkings (apparently a friendly rat). Well as it probably turned out Mr. Jenkins was a Mrs Jenkings and next come her off springs! The bathroom was good but the sink was too small (ridiculously shallow) for the size of the bathroom and the shower doors were a joke. in a "Far-west saloon"style, they would never in a million years keep water from wetting the whole floor (hence the damaged door). This hotel is one of the VONDEL chain which by the way has another on the corner, called the VONDEL HOTEL! This one is a little more expensive, and a little fancier. tip: Avoid their restaurant the JOOST sucks! The pasta I ate was over cooked and the twirling waiter/maitre was a little bit too much. There are MUCH, MUCH better restaurants in Amsterdam, and I'm sure hotels for that matter.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TACLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Roemer for 3 nights during April 2013 and will definitely recommend it. The hotel advantages are many:

1. Location - The hotel is located just outside the horse shoe, very close to the leidseplein area which makes it very close to the most hip and happening place in Amsterdam. One can walk to Museumplein and there is direct access to both central train station (thru tram) as well as Schipol airport (197 bus).

2. Friendly staff - The staff at the Roemer are friendly and go the extra mile in helping guests.

3. Decor - The hotel decor exudes a warm, just the thing you need when you return to your hotel after a long day's walk.

4. Junior suite bathroom - Generally when you are on a holiday, bathroom is the last thing you would look for. The room we stayed in had really swanky jacuzzi bath and a large rain shower.

Will definitely recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: We were allotted room 31, a junior suite. Worth the extra we paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek_Saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The Roemer Hotel is very well located in Amsterdam, nearby excellent stores and restaurants, also very close to the most sightseeings in the city (The Van Gogh and Rijik Museums). It's a "boutique" hotel, with fancy furniture and very very cozy. However, I face few problems during my 4 days stays such as: (a) the shower is not well sealed, spilling water all over the bathroom; (b) although with a beautiful design, the bathroom sink is not very functional at all; (c) in a considered 4 star hotel it really sucks not having 24h of free internet - each day is necessary to request a new password. Therefore, I recommend this hotel, but be aware that few problems may occur...

Room Tip: Corner suites seems to be larger since the rooms are quite full of furnitures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My husband and I were given an exceptionally nice room on the top floor. Spacious and very attractive. Fantastic bathroom, large shower and jacuzzi bathtub. Very comfortable bed. Courteous and professional staff. I would definitely stay here again, if they gave me the same room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaJolla3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

So a 4 Star Hotel - one would expect a warm welcome, well appointed rooms, great room facilities, attentive staff?

Well, it took 5 rings of the bell to get an answer on our arrival and our welcome was muted. The hotel and our room was stylishly appointed but was beginning to look tired with scuffed carpets, chipped woodwork etc.

We were given Room 16, on the ground floor facing the street. The street was v quiet but we discovered (at 6am) we were next door the kitchens - and what a racket of plates, utensils, shouting and chatting. A 4 Star hotel should NOT situate rooms by its kitchens. So avoid both Rooms 16 & 17 if you are offered them - unless you want a kitchen driven alarm call every morning. Also we discovered we were at the bottom of the stairs, so were treated to hearing much tramping up and down the stairs of a morning.

Remarkably, when we ran the bath one evening we discovered there was no hot water - a complete first in my experience. The vaguely disinterested receptionist seemed powerless to help us. Incredible!!

There were positives - the bed was v comfortable (though it was two mattresses pushed together, so not best intimate), the shower excellent (when there was hot water), and location pleasant and quiet (if it wasn't for the kitchen and stair noise.

So maybe if we had been allocated an upstairs room our experience might have been different - but after our experience we wouldn't stay at The Roemer again.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Spent three nights over easter . Second time of staying . Superb hotel . Had a junior suite , with large room for Amsterdam with superb jacuzzi bath and large shower. Staff were attentive and the breakfast better than the website suggests. Full cooked English etc . Location is just about as good as it gets. Roemer is better than its sister hotel , the vondel. Not cheap but worth every bit in my view.

Room Tip: go for the junior suites if your budget will allow!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bingo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#137 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#49 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Property: Hotel Roemer
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 37 rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, flat screen and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing