We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Roemer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
Ranked #69 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed in hotel Roemer for 3 nights. Great location, walking distance to most of the main attractions yet tucked away in a quiet street. Rooms were very tastefully decorated as was the common area. Nice little lounge area for a quiet drink. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Connie294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    288
    69
    22
    14
See reviews for
82
444
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip to Amsterdam.

Converted from two 18th-century mansions, I was pleasantly surprised how intimate it was. The reception area doesn't have a check-in counter that one would normally expect from a hotel. Instead it's a desk with a computer manned by a helpful service staff, like the ones you'd have in your home study. The desk and computer that is, not the staff!

The lounge area has a fireplace, coffee table and sofa; nothing that would look out of place in a typical living room. And the restaurant, with a view of the private garden, has a few tables and chairs next to a bar counter. It feels almost like...home, really.

I stayed in the Small Double Room. Truth be told, the emphasis is on the word, Small. A mere 16-18 m2 of space, it might prove a challenge for bigger Europeans. Especially when you pull out the retractable flat screen TV. So watch your head when navigating around the room, especially in the dark. You have been warned.

Apart from that, everything else was pretty comfortable - clean firm bed, iPod dock at the bedside, Nespresso machine, bar fridge, good Wifi connection, (another) TV in the bathroom, and rain shower. Though the shower stall is rather on the tiny side; quite a squeeze to get through, to be honest.

Location-wise, it can't get any any better. The tram line is just a 2-min walk away. The famous and busy Leidseplein is just across that. Lots of restaurants, pubs, bars, clubs, and cafes there that open till late, so great for after-work dinner and drinks. There's also a handful of canal cruise operators along the canal for those hankering for a bit of sightseeing on a boat.

Speaking of sightseeing, nearby attractions include Vondelpark, Concert Hall, Museumplein with Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Stedelijk museum.

Methinks I will be back. But perhaps the next trip, I'll opt for the bigger room!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameskenglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for a couple of nights and we loved it. the rooms were very quiet, good size, great bath tub with jacuzzi! location is perfect as well, walking distance to the main attractions. Reception staff was friendly. Just one small drawback is the door that opens outwards, can be dangerous especially with rains on slippery steps that lead to the entrance. All in all was a great stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely long weekend except that it rained all weekend but the hotel made up for it. Great location and lovely decor but just a few niggljng issues. No chest of draws in our junior suite, blocked drain, faulty DVD player but overall lovely place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadworth70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here the last week of September and were pleased. The room was upgraded as per previous recommendations and everything was great. The location was better than anticipated. Staff were very helpful.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 27 if it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I found the Hotel Roemer on your site and thought the pictures looked right up my alley so I booked it. Off the beaten path but close to everything we wanted to do from Museums, Canals and Shopping. The hotel was clean and quiet and they offered us an upgrade upon arrival which was a nice surprise. I slept like a baby that night in the cool, dark room with a very comfortable bed! The staff was very helpful and easy to understand and so willing to get us anything we needed to make our stay in Amsterdam a success. I can't wait to go back and spend more time in this city!

Room Tip: We were in Room 14 and while we liked it, it is just below the breakfast area so you can hear foot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A friend found this via Bookings.com. A lovely experience from start to finish. Warmly welcomed, offered information about the city, pre-purchase discount tickets to the musee as well as a room upgrade. They staff provided assistance sorting out changes to our train tickets and ideas on which canal tour to take + a great lunch recommendation. They even catered to gluten free guests with gluten free bread for breakfast, as well as a selection of gluten laden treats! Highly recommend! The Bed was incredibly comfortable and they were prepared for guest from the US, UK and Europe with a three way wired desk in our room. Nicely done!

Room Tip: Our upgraded suite had a lovely terrace, however it was directly under the breakfast room, so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amblaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#28 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,011 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 368 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#52 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Property: Hotel Roemer
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 37 rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, flat screen and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing