We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great locale, tiny room, indifferent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roemer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
Ranked #61 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great locale, tiny room, indifferent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Amsterdam is lovely. People are helpful and kind and genuine. So I was surprised to find a strangely indifference skeleton crew on duty at the hermetically sealed hotel roemer. Don't try to check in early. Impossible.
So just make the best of it. The price is relatively ok tho comparable scanner had nearby. Very near museum row. Nice quiet area. Good bed. It is what it is. Go in the spring and walk in the Vondelspark.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank kenneth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    273
    64
    19
    12
See reviews for
73
423
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a traumatic journey in the storms of 28 October 2013. Public transport was virtually non -existent and we had walked for two hours to get there. The instructions we had written down involved using public transport, so that wasn't very useful. This wasn't the fault of the hotel, of course, and we were warmly greeted on our arrival and shown to our room.

We were given a ground floor room. It was very unusual, long and thin, with a small lounge area at one end. There were three televisions in the room, including one in the ensuite bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable. We needed help to work the coffee maker and I also asked if I could have a desk fan. Both requests were dealt with promptly and efficiently.

The location of the hotel is great, with the restaurants of Leidesplein only a few minutes walk away.

Unfortunately, I was awoken at 6.30am by the noise from the kitchen, I had not realised that our room was next door to the kitchen. My husband did not hear anything, but I am a light sleeper. As we had booked this short break to help me recuperate from an illness, I needed a quiet room to rest. Later that morning I asked if there was any chance of having a quieter room. I was told this would be no problem and to leave our luggage in our room and it would be moved by the time we returned from our walk.

When we returned to the hotel a few hours later, we were given keys to a room on the second floor. It was perfect, quiet, with a balcony and spa bath as well as walk in shower. In addition, there was a bottle of wine and a note from the staff. I was surprised at this as I had made no complaint about the first room at all, just asked if there was any chance of a quieter room. I was so impressed with how this was handled - in fact, the service was impeccable throughout our 5 day stay.

The hotel is friendly, clean, well-situated and staffed by well-trained, friendly and efficient staff. The hotel policies are geared towards the needs of the guests. We have stayed in other hotels in Amsterdam, but will always come back to this one now we have found it.

Room Tip: Room 18 is on the ground floor and close to the kitchen. This can be a bit of a problem first thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frissels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed in hotel Roemer for 3 nights. Great location, walking distance to most of the main attractions yet tucked away in a quiet street. Rooms were very tastefully decorated as was the common area. Nice little lounge area for a quiet drink. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Connie294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip to Amsterdam.

Converted from two 18th-century mansions, I was pleasantly surprised how intimate it was. The reception area doesn't have a check-in counter that one would normally expect from a hotel. Instead it's a desk with a computer manned by a helpful service staff, like the ones you'd have in your home study. The desk and computer that is, not the staff!

The lounge area has a fireplace, coffee table and sofa; nothing that would look out of place in a typical living room. And the restaurant, with a view of the private garden, has a few tables and chairs next to a bar counter. It feels almost like...home, really.

I stayed in the Small Double Room. Truth be told, the emphasis is on the word, Small. A mere 16-18 m2 of space, it might prove a challenge for bigger Europeans. Especially when you pull out the retractable flat screen TV. So watch your head when navigating around the room, especially in the dark. You have been warned.

Apart from that, everything else was pretty comfortable - clean firm bed, iPod dock at the bedside, Nespresso machine, bar fridge, good Wifi connection, (another) TV in the bathroom, and rain shower. Though the shower stall is rather on the tiny side; quite a squeeze to get through, to be honest.

Location-wise, it can't get any any better. The tram line is just a 2-min walk away. The famous and busy Leidseplein is just across that. Lots of restaurants, pubs, bars, clubs, and cafes there that open till late, so great for after-work dinner and drinks. There's also a handful of canal cruise operators along the canal for those hankering for a bit of sightseeing on a boat.

Speaking of sightseeing, nearby attractions include Vondelpark, Concert Hall, Museumplein with Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Stedelijk museum.

Methinks I will be back. But perhaps the next trip, I'll opt for the bigger room!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameskenglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for a couple of nights and we loved it. the rooms were very quiet, good size, great bath tub with jacuzzi! location is perfect as well, walking distance to the main attractions. Reception staff was friendly. Just one small drawback is the door that opens outwards, can be dangerous especially with rains on slippery steps that lead to the entrance. All in all was a great stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely long weekend except that it rained all weekend but the hotel made up for it. Great location and lovely decor but just a few niggljng issues. No chest of draws in our junior suite, blocked drain, faulty DVD player but overall lovely place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadworth70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#31 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#134 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#35 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Property: Hotel Roemer
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 37 rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, flat screen and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing