We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel in a great location and friendly staff. Recommended.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roemer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
Ranked #61 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little hotel in a great location and friendly staff. Recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel over Christmas with my boyfriend and we had a lovely stay. The room was a little small but that's because there was a MASSIVE bed. Biggest hotel bed i've ever seen and super comfy. The room was well equipped and we had a nice view into the back yard of the hotel. The room came with free vodka, whiskey and gin in lovely glass bottles and free mini bar ! This was a real treat ! Bath was huge and enough space for 2 rather tall people....the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions etc...breakfast was lovely and also included in our price so we felt it was very good value for money. The location is great because it's very central yet tucked away from main traffic and it's about 10 minutes walk away from the Van Gogh Museum too!
Overall lovely stay and we would return there for sure!
Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teepee2076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    273
    64
    19
    12
See reviews for
73
423
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Quiet but attractive location near to Vondel Park and lots of retaurants/cafes. Easy to walk to museums,central area and other sites. Enjoyed having a drink by the fire in the lounge as it was snowing outside. The breakfasts set us up for the day (either self service buffet or orders from the breakfast menu for a variety of pancakes and eggs). The room was quiet, comfortable and had everthing you could need. Reception staff helpful when you asked for information or help but you did need to ask. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerBeanBristol57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Just back from frozen weekend , bookended with airport delays and horrible journeys to and from my local airport. But what a great surprise to check in to the hotel roemer on a frozen saturday night, warm welcome and an enviting lounge with real fire and sofa.
We booked the all inclusive deal , which included breakfast , the contens of the mini bar and drinks in the lounge. We were celebrating my brothers 40th , so as 2 couples it was great to be able to have a drink before we went out for dinner and then with it being so cold and miserable we could head back to the fireplace and drinks for the craic!
The rooms are great (we booked executive rooms) large bed couple of armchairs in a seperate living area wth another tv and the mini bar and coffee machine(nespresso - nice touch) and in the large granite bathroom a jacuzzi , large seperate shower, 2 sinks and another tv!
Staff were excellent from breakfast to the receptionist who looked after us for the whole time we stayed (including getting our taxi back to schipol).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed over on the 5th Dec and found teh hotel tro be expectionally great value for money. The hotel is a small boutique type hotel, great lounge/bar area which looks class. We'd just stayed inteh dylan the night before and although that was in a different class it also cost £200 more.. Id recommend the Roemer as a great hotel, easily accessable to the trams and walkable to the amazing shopping /fashion and musuem district.
Id defo stay ago - the bed are the comfiest ive ever stayed in and the free bar is great. Breakfast great also!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

I booked a small double room, and although the room was indeed small it had been well furnished and thought out, and included plenty of storage space. There's a nice lounge area on the ground floor with sofas and a fire, where guests can help themselves to coffee and cakes in the afternoon, and wine/spirits in the evening.

A couple of negative points - there's no free wifi. It seems mean in this day and age to charge for wifi use (I think they charge 6 euro a day). Also, the bathroom was absolutely freezing which made showering really unpleasant. There was a small heater on the ceiling, but this only came on when the light was switched on, and even then it didn't adequately heat the bathroom. Finally, we were woken up one morning by the maids clattering around outside our room. A bit of consideration wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights, 2 of which we had gone for the double bubble package on their website. Unfortunately we had to ask them for the champagne that was included in our package and we did not get the slippers and bubble bath as is meant to be included aswell! Not very good service!!! The spirits in the room had enough in the bottles for only 2 drinks of each and we had to ask 3 times for these to be refilled. The mini bar was very basic - 2 beers, 2 cokes, 2 diet cokes, 2 oj, 2 tonic water, peanuts and pringles. On ourlast day the mini bar was not topped up at all. We went for the all inclusive package so all this was included in the price as well as drinks in the bar downstairs. We did sit downstairs a couple of times but felt a bit awkward as it is self service and the white wine bottles were only half full so when we had a glass each we had to move to something else.

We just felt for the price that they were rather stingy on the things that are meant to be included. I would have rather spent less on a room and gone to a bar elsewhere and paid for the drinks.

The room was nice, the bed was super comfy. The jacuzzi was great, although there is a heater in the bathroom that can't be turned off so would get too hot in the bathroom within a couple of minutes.

Cleanliness in the lobby was great, although our room was a bit disappointing. There was dust all over the back of both tvs, hairs in the bath and the shower didn't look like it had been cleaned that well. Our first night we had a bath and the next day after the daily clean the was still water on the side of the bath. We weren't impressed at all as we both work in the industry and run a Bed and Breakfast in UK and know what standards to expect.

The breakfast was ok, there was a menu that was pretty basic. No muesli just a couple of cereals. I ordered two poached eggs and when they came they were hard and awful - I am a chef and know it is not hard to poach an egg! The feeling at breakfast was rather sterile and no one was very friendly - which is a shame it's nice to have someone that looks like they enjoy their job and likes talking to guests.

The staff were nice and professional but once again very sterile.

Overall I wouldn't stay here again for what it cost us, for £200 a night I think there would be plenty of other better options.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funky_dorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Roemer for just 1 night. The area is very quiet and quaint, the hotel is very clean and cozy, service was excellent and what you get for you money (breakfast, drinks, snacks) is incredible. The only downside was the tiny room that we got. The room is not big enough for 2 people, let alone 2 with luggage. Other then that I would recommend the hotel to anyone. Just spend a bit more to receive a bigger room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnySoto_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#31 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#134 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#35 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Property: Hotel Roemer
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 37 rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, flat screen and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing