We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, no frills clean place”
Review of Atlanta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #303 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The Atlanta hotel is a great no frills hotel in an excellent position. I stayed on my own and had a small room that was comfortable, safe and very clean. The shower was great and very clean as well. If your after an inexpensive room that is clean and a place to crash this is the place. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Expect small clean inexpensive rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Atlanta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

Spent weekend in Amsterdam visiting friends and someone recommended Hotel Atlanta - its centrally located and having coffee in the morning while watching the bustle of the city was a treat. Friendly staff, nice rooms - was a great recommendation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KWBasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I visited Amsterdam with friends in June 2011 and we stayed at the Hotel Atlanta. It is perfectly located on Rembrandts Square for sightseeing and dining. We opted for the deluxe rooms and they were wonderful. The satff is very kind and helpful in this family run hotel. Just below the hotel is an Irish Pub that serves a wonderful full Irish breakfast everyday and a Sunday Lamb roast. We are going back to the Atlanta in September from Italy and England. We are looking forward to another stay in their deluxe rooms. The hotel is equipted for the budget traveler, too, with rooms without facilities. If you can afford it, go for the deluxe. You won't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe room.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ballard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here in July. It is in a noisy, vibrant square - an excellent location. The staff were really friendly. Stairs were precipitous - not suitable for anyone who isn't fit. We were given a triple room at the back of the hotel with a view of the fire escape - for which I was truly grateful. It was very quiet (I am a very light sleeper), but I imagine if you are based at the front of the hotel, you wouldn't get much sleep as it is directly above a bar and faces on to the square - busy into the small hours. Nice views, but for clubbers only! I would return again in a heartbeat if I could have a rear room, as the location is so good, but would avoid if at the front. Our room was clean and we had an en suite - there are different grades of room. I suspect we were lucky!

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the square at the rear of the building
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chortlepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The first thing that struck me was how steep the entrance staircase was, and how small the treads on the stairs were, only half of my size 12 shoes could fit on the steps. This is inviting a claim, as many people must have fallen down this danger.
The room was quiet and clean we booked a triple room but got a room with 4 beds.
Be warned that this is a very old hotel which resembles a fun house as floors are not always flat, and ceilings are out of level.
You really do need to be steady on your feet to stay here.
We only stayed for one night but our stay was fine.
The problem we had was how expensive Amsterdam is, but that is not just this hotel it applies to the city as a whole.

Room Tip: The hotel is not disabled friendly.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spotswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Finally got to sleep soon after the thumping bassline music from one of the neighbouring clubs or bars closed, around 4:00 am!!
Friendly staff, room unexciting, but oh, what a terrible night!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed at this hotel February 2011 for a mini break with another couple. We booked two double rooms and both were very different, apart from the outdated decor in both. One room was a okay size and had a good sized bathroom with a bath and a shower. This room on the surface looked clean. The other room was a tiny room with a small bathroom. The main problem came in the smaller room's bathroom when we arrived we were very suprised to find hair all over the bathroom floor and blood on the bathroom wall. I went straight to reception and asked to change rooms. The woman on reception said they didn't have any other rooms to move into, which was strange since the sign at the front of the hotel did not say they were full and the fact we had been offered a choice of rooms to be closer to the other couple minutes earlier. She assured us our room would be cleaned and we went out to enjoy our holliday. When we arrived back that night our room had not been cleaned and the bathroom still had hair all over the floor and blood up the wall. Also this room looked out onto the square and was very noisy until the early hours of the morning. This I expected due to the location of the hotel, however I did not expect the builders inside the hotel to start their hammering and drilling very early the next morning. Therefore meaning we were all very sleep deprived the next day. I would not stay here again and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becka966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#230 of 371 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#274 of 371 in Amsterdam
585 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#206 of 371 in Amsterdam
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#307 of 371 in Amsterdam
374 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 371 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 8-10, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £73 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlanta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing