We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont go here”
Review of Atlanta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #304 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The Hotel room was shocking, nothing was clean there was mouse droppings in the corner of the room along with dust and mouse trap, lights werent workign in the toiliet, the door hinge looked like it could be pulled off, it was just not a nice place to stay in, it wasnt clean, was dull, wanted to be anywhere but there. cleanliness is the most important thing in a hotel and this room looked like other than the bed being changed nothing was ever done to it. its location is right outside all the clubs and due to there not being a horn law all you could hear was car horns.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlievokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

150 euro per night and we were asked to pay cash up front. Had we seen the room first we'd have run away fast. The staff were ok, but the hotel was disgusting. The pillows were filthy, the beds were equally filthy, torn and terribly uncomfortable. The toilet and shower(shared) were nearly impossible to use. No drinks facilities provided, and when requested we were charged a euro per cup. The mini bar was half used and we had to plead our innocence that we hadn't eaten or drank from it. The walls are so thin you hear every creak of every door in the hotel. The view from the room window was of a sewage pipe and an air con unit. The smoking terrace was a builders refuse site and I feel sorry for the guests on the top floor. For the same money you can rent a nice apartment from the agents locally, but this place really is an expensive HOSTEL.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litchy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

the location and price of the atlanta hotel meant me and my 5 friends left amsterdam extremely high, but also extremely pleased with the hotel.

we booked online so didnt know what to expect, but on arrival saw everytthing was clean, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, giving us directions to here, there and everywhere.

the rooms were also clean, and had everything you would need on a stoner holiday (namely a mini bar aqnd TV =) ), although it was not luxury, but what do you expect for that sort of money.

also because of the great location in the middle of rembraint square, it can get noisy on a saturday night, although not so noisy you couldn't sleep....especially with the help of some of amsterdams famous herbal remedy.

on the whole the atlanta hotel is a good valued, clean hotel, thats in a great location,
perfect for any groups travelling to amsterdam, or even just people looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerribleTommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

On arrival at the hotel you are met by a large flight of stairs which were like ladders,what do you expect though you are in Amsterdam!!!! The hotel room was cleaned every day and the bed linen was changed also.The coffee machine was broken so we were told we could use the kitchen to make a tea and coffee,which was fine until one member of staff was very rude to my husband asking why he was in the kitchen.We were on the bottom floor as requested but you could still hear the guests up and down the stairs. Overall not a bad hotel if you are a heavy sleeper and dont mind climbing the stairs all the time and like being in the thick of the nightlife of Rembrandt Square.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexyshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for my 40th birthday with my husband, the only good thing i can say about this hotel is the location. As you enter the front door you are met with a set of stairs like climbing up a ladder, every time i left my room and took my electronic key with me the tv went off and had to call the reception staff each time to re-programme it as the remote did not work. We had no toilet paper for 2 days despite repeated requests and there was a smell from the bathroom. Also there were 2 windows in the bedroom and one didnt close as it was March the cold at night was unbearable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

My partner booked a long weekend break in amsterdam for my 30th birthday. We were on a budget so went quite cheaply. Unfortunately this was reflected in this hotel. When we actually managed to find the place we realised there was going to be a lot of stair climbing involved ! As we were on the third floor there were four steep (and i do mean steep !) and narrow staircases to get to our room. Our first impressions of the room were that it was small but comfortable, nice decor with celing beams etc.

However we quickly realised that our room didnt have a toilet or shower ! At first we were horrifed and were considering going elsewhere but we decided to stick it out for a night and see how we felt in the morning. It turns out that we were stressing over nothing really. Yes we had to leave our room for the toilet/shower but who cares really ? If you are used to hostles you will have no qualms, if you are used to nice hotel then you might be in for a shock. Our room faced onto rembrandtplein so it was a bit noisey at night, not too bad though, im a light sleeper and still managed to get a good few hours in each night. However i would say that the pillows are way too hard !

Our main issue was having no toilet/bathroom. As somebody else also said the sink is so small you cant wash your face without getting water everywhere. In all fairness my other half neglected to check as to whether the rooms did actually have en-suite so you could say it was our fault. We just assumed all rooms had those facilities.

There is no restaurant or bar, i wouldnt bother with breakfast either. There is a coffee machine in the lobby area although you have to pay E1 at the desk to use it which was a bit annoying. Still i suppose you get what you pay for. It wasnt bad but it wasnt great either

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prophet-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Arrived early without booking a single room, and was given a double room straight away.All the staff were very friendly and helpful.Room very comfortable and clean.Liked the free "coffee's and hot chocolate"very appreciated as weather was very cold.Would stay here again,oh and you get 10%off your next stay too. Very convenient location as you are near everything.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willow7corkireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#232 of 373 in Amsterdam
303 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#260 of 373 in Amsterdam
301 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#310 of 373 in Amsterdam
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#229 of 373 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#308 of 373 in Amsterdam
377 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#213 of 373 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 8-10, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £61 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlanta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing