We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Ranked #248 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2007

Recommended by one of the experts from the AMS forum...we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - mid Sept. We had a excellent experience. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful....Thomas is amazing! And the other man...which I didn't get his name was very humourious as well. The location is very close to Dam Square...which is perfect and right next to Central Station. Our room was clean and comfortable....our rate was excellent and affordable. We actually laughed a lot when we saw our room because we had the suite, right on the 5th floor and the steps in our room were soo steep that we had to take off our shoes in order to get up and down...no heels for us! haa. The bathtub was funny too..it took up most of the room...and we couldn't find the shower...which afterwards when we looked up..we noticed it was on the celing...what a laugh!! The water pressure was the best that I've ever had at a hotel!!! The bed was in sort of a box...which was different.... I was happy that the noise level wasn't too loud..because the room was facing the main street which I thought was a problem...but it was not..once the windows were closed it was perfect. One more thing that I really appreciated was that my cell phone wasn't working and the hotel phone lines in your room do not dial out. Reception let me use the phone to call Canada and did not charge me. I thought that we very nice...and I appreciated it very much. Oh and internet was free too! And they have a small elevator - thank goodness! The night guy..which I didn't catch his name...was amazing too....always willing to help. Can't wait to return...and I'll be sure to stay at this hotel again!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed sheets
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TdotSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    154
    128
    42
    41
See reviews for
36
139
48
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

First off all the hotel is perfectly located in the middle of the going out area in amsterdam.
Wich offcourse make's the room's a little noisey, but when you are going out untill late yourself you will not find any problems there.
Secondly it is only a few minutes away from central station Great!!

The hotel itself is pretty good, the room's are a little small but big enough for the price you are paying.

--The room was cleaned every day.--

--The bed was really comforteble.--

--And there was a good bathroom.--

--good price--

there are very freindly and helpfull receptionist's they make you feel welcome and can tell you a lot off good place's to be.

overall this is a great hotel to stay i can really recommend it.

  • Liked — The location and the staff were so freindly
  • Disliked — That i had to leave
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank milangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

Really excellent friendly staff who were very helpful. Very clean, quiet comfortable rooms, close to everything. Short walk from the train station. Excellent breakfast buffet in the downstairs. I arrived after having had a horrendous night of missed flight connections, and the staff were really considerate - also internet available to check messages.
Great Value!

  • Liked — friendly staff and great location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank travelmomWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

To start with the location,the hotel has an excellent location.Close to amsterdam central station (100 meters walk).It is in the middle of the action sitiuated in a street full of bars, coffee shops (where they sell mariguana and hash) resturants and sex shops.It is a 2 minutes walk from the red light district.Also it is 2 minutes walk to the Damrak and main shopping street in amsterdam.
I had a single room, it was a tiny small room, but don't expect more than that in a 3 stars hotel in amsterdam.you only need it for sleeping 3 or 4 hours not more.the breakfast was ok.good value for money.My room had a window and was well ventillated.Other rooms had windows that can't be opened, and these rooms had instead , a ceiling fan for ventillation.Overall it is a good hotel for budget travellers that are having a short stay in amsterdam.
Enjoy it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank waelfarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymondville TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

The room was small, but clean. There was not adequate lighting in the hall or in the room. The one window did not open and gave no light or ventilation. The location was good; breakfast was adequate; the staff were very helpful; and the price was okay.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — Darkness
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

YORKSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

The location of ths hotel is fantastic, right in the heart of Amsterdam and its many bars and restaurants with a convenient few minutes walk firom the Central Station.

Our rooms, inc shower/wc were found to be clean, warm, comfortable and of a good standard. Excellent breakfast area and food.

All staff we found to be pleasant, friendly and made you feel welcome.

A well recommended place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — convenience of closeliness to centre of Amsterdam
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GLENW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2007

Nice location, a short walk from central station and easy to get to from the airport. This hotel is right in the middle of all the action you come to Amsterdam for. Coffee shops are everywhere near this hotel, and the center of the Red Light District is a 5 minute walk away. Its also very close to Dam Square. The staff was very friendly and the front desk has someone on duty 24hrs a day, and its not a problem to stumble in at 3AM and go up to your room. The rooms are a little smaller than what you'd get in the USA, but you don't exactly make the journey to Amsterdam to sit it a hotel room anyway... The room is clean, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom is clean, there is a closet, chairs, table, night stands, and they have cable TV with programing in English. There's a PC with high speed Internet in the lobby. They have free breakfast until 10AM, which was pretty good and had a decent selection of stuff to eat. Also if you have postcards you want to send home, you can leave it with the person at the front desk and they'll put it in the mail for you. All in all I "enjointed" my stay!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — I only had 5 days....
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#278 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#225 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#186 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#178 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Property: Hotel De Koopermoolen
Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel De Koopermoolen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing