We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i'll be back:)”
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
Ranked #187 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“i'll be back:)”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

One of the very best places i've ever stayed at.
Couldnt imagine better location - just opposite the Opre theatre, 5 min from Waterloo plein, with spectacular views to the channel.
Wanna see The Very Classical Ametsrdam - go to Amstelzicht.
Choose the room with the channel view - you'll love it.

Will always stay there when in Adam.
Thanx!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraturova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review here for us. I am so glad you enjoyed our hotel and specially the location. Talking about the location, indeed its just across the S'topera, Amsterdam CityHall and Opera House together. Aswell the rembrandtsquare, 50 meters away, flowermarket, 100 meters away, and dont forget the New Hermitage Museum, just acrooss the bridge from the Hotel. You alsom mention the Canal view Suites, indeed this ar the best rooms we have at the Hotel, spacious and the best view you can have in Amsterdam! Your picture proves all that. One again thank you and please contact me or my staff when you plan your next trip to Amsterdam. See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    144
    45
    25
    16
See reviews for
67
124
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We received a warm welcome from Nikki on arrival. She called the car valet company. (great value. €30 a day) Nikki showed us up to the room and explained a little bit of history of the hotel which was a nice touch.

We had the Canal View Suite. It was very spacious, comfortable and had great views.

The hotel is small and charming.

Room Tip: Canal view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamTrip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our atmosphere and history, and the staff, specially Nikki! ! Everyone here in our Amstelzicht family takes great pride in making every experience memorable and it sounds like we accomplished just that with you. Thank you for taking the time out to acknowledge that and leave us some positive feedback. It is greatly appreciated and I will certainly pass this on to my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The Hotel is very well located, just across the river Amstel in a charming building. The room is very clean and complete.
Some points that I find important to warn, there was no maid service during our two night stay and bed were actually two beds together. Not compromising comfort, but it was not a double bed. Furthermore, the hotel has no elevator. The stairs are steep and narrow climb with luggage can be a challenge.
However in general the hotel is good, well located and very friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Location, Location, Location, thank you for your review here on tripadvisor. You pointed out some point in your review, our Hotel Rooms are receiving Housekeeping service everyday, im not sure at this moment why your room has not had service in two days, my appoligies for this. (The self Catering Apartments dont have housekeeping service during the stay) All our rooms have 2 singles, extra large (210cm) single beds together, on request we can make the bed as a double. And than our Famouse Amsterdam Stairs, ................ keeps us fit and healthy...., Our receptionist are trained to help everyone with there lugages if needed, please next time just ask for some help.
Ones again thank you for taking the time to review us, and hope to welcome you soon again, Spring is around the corner, and the Tulips Season is arriving...See you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

What a wonderful hotel? Close to EVERYTHING - all the museums, Dam, Central Station, Red Light District, markets, restaurants, trams.

Hotel Amstelzicht is the perfect choice for a comfortable, centrally-located and friendly hotel. Staff were consistently pleasant and helpful and the bedroom (triple room) was roomy and clean with very comfortable beds. Stairs are very steep, but add to the character of the hotel, and make the stay all the more memorable.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and will book here again given the opportunity.

Thanks for a very enjoyable 4-night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam, your comments regarding the staff is a big compliment for all the staff. We enjoyed having you as a guest in the Hotel! Once again many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

First of all, I wouldn't come back to this Hotel ever. I was promised to get a canal view apartment by an operator which I dial all the way from Singapore to clarify with them. Then when I reached Amsterdam, the receptionist name nikki claimed its a quadroom. And there's nothing she can do about it. We paid 930 Euro for 3 nights. Which is pretty expensive for the state of the hotel we stayed. Our room is on the 3rd floor. And the staircase is very steep. We carried our luggage and my mom fell off the staircase. To top it off, they only give us 1 room key for 4 person. So we can't go on seperate ways as what we planned to do. We have to arrange a meet up at a specific time and meeting point if we want to go on seperate ways.

My local friend visited us and was shocked to see the hotel. And claimed we should have told him so he can booked us a cheaper, nicer hotel.

I wouldn't recommend to stay here. But no doubt its in the center of the city. About 15-20 mins walk to Amsterdam Central Station.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Eminadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Accommodation Hotel Amstelzicht Amsterdam
Room Quadruple Room (More Information)
Rate Plan (Standard)
Flexible Cancellation Rate
Free cancellation
Booking Date 15-12-2012 06:17:22
Arrival Date 31-12-2012
Departure Date 03-01-2013
Number of Rooms 1
Bed type request 4 Single beds
Booking Language English
Guest Name Eminadia Lee

After reading your review regarding the Quad room, we would like to write our feedback on your comments:

You indicate that you have booked an apartment with view over the Amstel, but in your reservation is clear to see that you have booked an quad room.( see above) We are really sorry for you that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel, but we gave you the room you reserved.
You checked in on the 31st of December, one of the busiest days of the year in Amsterdam, the whole city was busy and all the hotels where fully booked, including our hotel. There was no possibility at all to change rooms on this day.

The stairs are steep but that’s indicated on the internet. We never confirm on which floor the rooms are, so going up to the 3th floor should not be a surprise. We do take special request very serious, by making a reservation guest can request a lower floor.
You said that you mother fell off the stairs, we are very sorry to hear that. That must be happened on the check-out day, because Nikki helped you carry up the luggage to the room by check-in and did not saw you mother felt. You also tipped Nikki to thank her for her kindness.

You never came to the reception to ask for an extra room key, For every room we have an extra pair of keys, so the guest don’t have to meet up at a specific time and meeting point if they want to go on separate ways.

Last I would like to mention that during your stay you didn’t had contact with the hotel reception and we never got the impression that you were totally not satisfied with the accommodation, we are 100 % dedicate to make sure that all our guest will have a positive experience with us and in Amsterdam and we do take very seriously all our guest concerns and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Great hotel! Excellent service, nice rooms, and the beds are really comfortable! Also the bathroom is very clean. The location of the hotel is perfect. you can go anywhere in the centre of Amsterdam easily by foot from here. You won't regret a night in this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Google Translation
Geachte heer, mevrouw, bedankt voor uw positiefe reactie op Tripadvisor, wij zijn blij dat u heeft genoten van uw verblijf in hotel Amstelzicht. De volgende keer dat jullie een stap avondje in Amsterdam organiseren voor jullie personeel weet u waar u terecht kunt.... Tot de volgende keer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#122 of 368 in Amsterdam
966 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#200 of 368 in Amsterdam
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#206 of 368 in Amsterdam
147 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,551 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#250 of 368 in Amsterdam
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Property: Hotel Amstelzicht
Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#115 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing