We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
Ranked #181 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly staff and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend returned on Sunday from staying 3 nights at this hotel. Brilliant location with shops, bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk away. We stayed in room 201 a really spacious room, which was very clean, and had a lovely view of the canal. The only downside would be the beds, as our bed was made up of two mattresses pushed together which came apart during the night. Brolly and dressing gowns provided which was a nice touch. Hotel reception staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay- and offered information about the city and maps if you have never visited before on arrival. Would definitely recommend this hotel and love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holwool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5 star rating here on Trip advisor.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht and Amsterdam. The beautiful Suite room 201 is personally my favorite, the 27 m2 suite room offering more ammenities, such as Nespresso Machine, Bathropes, and a TRX Suspension Trainer (on request)
It is a pity that during your stay, the reception is not informed about the twin beds. Because there is a possibility to make a Double bed on request.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    142
    43
    25
    14
See reviews for
66
119
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a great stay here. Staff friendly and very helpful. Hotel in great spot location wise and is in immaculate condition. Was a real step up from our normal budget hotel in the UK. Room was good size and very clean/comfortable. We booked this on line via a hotel site, which we have never done before as we always book packages. However, all went very smoothly and although we arrived on an early flight, the hotel was happy to keep our luggage downstairs till we checked in later in the day and also after check out till it was time for us to leave for the airport. We bought a 24 hour travel ticket from reception which was great for getting round town, but many of the main attractions are all within walking distance. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was a great find and we hope to return sooner rather than later. Thank you for helping to make our break so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get a canal view if possibly ..... was worth the little bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L00pylass67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your 5 star rating.

It is a great pleasure to read your review, I will personally inform the staff about your nice words.

As you describe if you arrive early in the Hotel and the room is not available yet, the Reception will indeed store your luggage in the luggage room while you explore Amsterdam or take place in the lobby with nice coffee/ tea facility.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, we sure hope this is sooner then later for your next visit please contact me on info@hotelamstelzicht.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hossegor, France
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Amstelzicht. It was easy to find and we walked from Centraal Station to check out the city on the way and it's not too far to walk. Check in was a bit annoying as bigger rooms aren't ready until 4 or 5pm, but staff were very friendly and let us wait for the hour until our room was ready in the lobby.

The room was very nice and clean, as was the bathroom. There was comfortably enough space for the 4 of us in our room. Had some issues with loud neighbours partying all night then early construction work the first night, but this was sincerely apologised for by management the next day and we had no further problems. Overall good value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.
I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay. As you describe it is easy to walk through the city because it is not far distance from the hotel. It is a pity that you experienced check in as annoying. The Quad rooms and Apartments are check in 5PM, ofcourse if the room is already available or you arrive early the Reception will do there very best to assist you to the room as soon as available. Again our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have had with respect to the neighbors.

‘Overall good value for money and I would stay here again.’ ;do not hesitate to contact me on info@hotelamstelzicht.com, we would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Amstelzicht hotel is situated on the banks of the Amstel river, facing the Amsterdam city hall. Guests are residing in a typical, old canalside house that has been completely refurbished. The lower apartment is particularly comfortable and roomier; it also comes with a kitchenette and warm furniture. It is an ideal place to start strolling to the Rembrandt Plein (150 m) or visit the unique Museum Hermitage (at 400m - that building alone is worth a visit).

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buntinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in the beautifull Apartment with canal view and Amsterdam ofcourse. The spacious 75m2 Apartment is decorated simply but comfortable, one bedroom with a double bed, and the living room features 2 beds in an alcove, a full kitchen, bathroom, sitting area and on top of all a amazing view of the Canal. As you describe on walking distance from the well-known ‘Rembrandtplein’ and among other sight seeings and attractions.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We recently stayed in an apartment at the Amstelzicht. The location is fabulous but the room had problems: 1) the bathroom fixtures did not work properly with a toilet that didn't flush and a shower assembly that fell off of the wall, 2) noise from the cafe downstairs shook the walls till 3:00 am every night, 3) there were very strong paint and new carpet fumes in the room. Other reviewers warn of the treacherous stairs but it's Amsterdam so that is expected. I can't speak to the regular hotel rooms but the apartment we stayed in left a lot to be desired even though it was a good price point for the quality of location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingKornfelds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing Hotel Amstelzicht at Tripadvisor, we remember you staying with us at the apartment, which; as you describe has been newly decorated and painted in the days/weeks just before you arrived, which explains the smell of fresh paint and carper fumes. Indeed the bathroom was not totally finished at the moment, but shortly after your stay all the items you mention had been replaced. Our self we are very happy with the results, the apartments are now decorated smoothly and fresh, we have added a second TV in the bedroom, new furniture to complete the apartments, including a comfortable lounge chair to enjoy the great view over the canal from all apartments. BUT MOST INPORTANT FOR THE COMFORT OF OUR GUEST, THE WEEK AFTER YOUR STAY WE HAVE ADED DOUBLE WINDOWS IN THE FRONT, which reduce the street noise with 80%. Together with the shutters in all hotel rooms this is a great improvement for the hotel, and we hope to start 2014 with lot of happy guest who see that we have done great job in trying to avoid any noises from bars, restaurants etc. around the hotel. We are looking forward to see many more reviews regarding this here on tripadvisor. Ones again thank you for staying with us, and hope to welcome you again soon, Regards, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for 3 nights mid Dec. We were on the first floor. The room was small but that is expected in Amsterdam. It was decoated beautifully and was very clean. The windows had electric shutters which blocked all sound out we slept in every day as it was so dark. Free WiFi which was great, the tv was a good size.
When we arrived the staff were on their Christmas party and had a friend on reception who was very welcoming and carried our suitcase upstairs!
The location is very good midway between all the musuems and dam square. Rembrandtplein is about a 30 second walk and the flower market is very close by.
Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Iliveforholidays88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review, and you hit it at the right place, early December we have invested to place in all the rooms facing the back of the hotel “SHUTTERS” The main reason we did this was to avoid noise from neighboring restaurants and bars. Due to the absolute City Centre location of Amstelzicht some guest in the past experienced some disturbance by the noises during the night, now by closing the shutters and the windows there is a 80% noise reduction, which promise a good night rest to all our guest. An extra plus is indeed that the rooms become total dark when closing the shutters, which make you want to sleep in every morning….. but remember you in Amsterdam, a city the has many things to see and do, better wake up early to take most advance of the days while in Amsterdam.

( We like your profile name....."Iliveforholidays"..... )

Best Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here in December 2013. I chose this hotel after weeks of searching online for a good value, yet stylish hotel. We were not disappointed!

We were very late for check in due to a flight diversion but the staff were extremely accommodating and were very helpful by supplying us with a map and ideas on where to go throughout our stay which we really appreciated as it was so late at night!

We stayed in the souterrain room. We were really surprised at how spacious it was! The room was decorated beautifully and we believed it to be great value. It was very warm and comfortable which we appreciated after a long day walking around in cold Amsterdam winter weather! The only things I would note is that the stairs to the souterrain room are quite steep and would not suit everyone. They were however not a problem for us. Also at the weekend it did get a little noisy outside the room but it wasn't at a level that disturbed our sleep. The room was serviced for us each day which was nice!

The hotel itself was stylish and was perfectly situated to walk to everywhere. It was close to everything you could need - The flower market, restaurants, shopping areas, museums etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

Room Tip: The souterrain room is very spacious. It did however have steep stairs and some street noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience in Hotel Amstelzicht on Trip Advisor.

How nice to read that at your next visit you would definitely come back to Hotel Amstelzicht. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Souterrain Suite. And that you have had a nice welcome to Hotel Amstelzicht by the Reception, we will inform the staff of your beautiful compliments. Besides that we are right in the centre of bustling Amsterdam, we are satisfied that you have not been affected of the crowds on the street.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#189 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#110 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#64 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Property: Hotel Amstelzicht
Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#115 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing