We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst jail should considered to be 5 star comparing to this...”
Review of Sphinx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sphinx Hotel
Ranked #327 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I just wonder how on earth isn't this place shut down yet? Community has to take legal action
at once. How is it possible for international websites to include it in their lists and make reservations since it threatens public health?
We had booked it via booking.com for 50 euros and as soon as we arrived there, my fiance started crying so, we just stayed in the room not more than 5 mins. We didn't even have the courage to ask for a refund! Ok, this is not a joke, just stand clear!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nasos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2012

When we arrrived we first had to pay the bill before we could see the room.
The stairs up to the rooms were very steep and dangerous.
The beds were dirty and some ( we had a room with 7 beds, 4 were broken) had used pillows & covers i have to add that they weren´t comfortable at all. Even miserable was the toilet in our room, the faucet was leaky and it was so disgusting...
the fire alarm was fixed with tape, so that i can conclude that people smoke there.
The Breakfast was OK, we had Toast, jam, sausage, cheese, coffe, tea and juice.
And we had free Internet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Armin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leeds, UK
12
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed here with two other friends. Upon arriving they said they upgraded us to a 6 person suite, with a kitchen and a bathroom, instead of our 3 person shared. Nice, right?

No. It was disgusting. The room was FILLED with flies. The window ledge was covered, and the two beds nearest to it had dead bugs all over the pillows and blankets. The bathroom walls were coated in them, and showering meant having to attempt to spray them down with a lower water pressure shower head. ( = flies start flying everywhere, while you're naked. Terrifying).

Now, the beds. Our 6 person room came with two pillows, one of which was covered in flies and covered in nasty yellow stains. The bunk beds were rickety, squeaked loudly, and DENTED in the middle. The mattresses were hard, and having a sunken in middle made sleeping nearly impossible.

I thought staying here would be okay, seeing as we would be out all day anyway. I was wrong. The beds made it impossible to sleep and we woke up each morning exhausted and with back pain.

Don't book here. It isn't worth it. I have never been so excited to check out of a hotel before.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank carly marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This place is by no means a hotel but when i visited after reading the reviews on here i didn't have high expectations it was the cheapest i could find at the time.

The bedding i had was clean and made for the day i arrived it was the same bedding i had for the 5 days we were there. Personally i don't see this as a problem tho It wasn't like i was sharing my bed with anybody...I didn't experience the breakfast as was never up in time for it but one of the people we met said it was okay in comparison to some of the other places he had been staying at.

If you are visiting amsterdam for a "dirty" weekend i couldn't recommend the place more. It served the exact purpose that me and my friends wanted, as in just a place to get some sleep, also there was a Small flat screen in the Room which helped us get into the Mood before heading out. The 10 Bed Room was also great there was only 3 of us in out party and every night we met new people and had an absolutely awesome time with those people.

there was a tram station right next to the hostel and also the Heineken Brewery was a 5 minuet walk. To Dam square it was about a 20-25 minuet walk which i do recommend this is also where the Red Light District was :D... The hostel was also in easy walking distance from other centres of night life i.e Night Clubs. Taxis were never that cheap but from the RLD it cost about 8-10 Euros usually split between 4-7 depending on who we were out with not too bad... I also would pursued you against getting a taxi from the airport as it would cost i think between 40-50 Euros which we almost paid mind as we had no idea where we were going :)

Overall the place was exactly what me and my group wanted it was pretty enjoyable open all hours and the staff gave directions no problem

Also a vending machine in the lobby gave out cans of Heineken which i thought was awesome :D

And they had free Lockers downstair which were very useful :)

Room Tip: Small group of you? pick a bigger room and meet some new people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Shamelessly masquerading as a hotel, The Sphinx is the kind of place that used to give hostels a bad rep. Our room was small, dingy, tastelessly 'decorated' and ludicrously overpriced. The breakfast room was like a concentration camp; the mean staff huffed and puffed while they begrudgingly replenished the meager supplies of cheap bread, processed cheese and coffee that tasted like mud. To top it off, there was one dirty, old toastie maker in the whole building to be shared by all the unfortunate guests. A disgrace.

Room Tip: Look in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieMcManus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 375 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel De Munck
Hotel De Munck
#252 of 375 in Amsterdam
225 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#200 of 375 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#296 of 375 in Amsterdam
494 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#329 of 375 in Amsterdam
694 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#309 of 375 in Amsterdam
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sphinx Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 82, 1017 XR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £41 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sphinx Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sphinx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sphinx Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing