We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst pile of bed bugs”
Review of Sphinx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sphinx Hotel
Ranked #322 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 May 2012

THE WORST PLACE! Never go there. Staff are a joke, asked for a refund afterseeing the room, was told it was impossible (pay before seeingthe room). Asked for a refund when waking up covered in bugs and bites, was also denied, moreover the staff didnt even acknowledge the bites. Telling me theyre mosquito bites... I know the differene. Save yourself the hassle never go to this rotten place. grease stains on the floors, holes in the walls, no pillowcovers, toilet leaking into shower (no divide) breakfast included 2tupper wear containers, 1 with spoilling ham cold cuts and the other slices of platic cheese.. There was also bread sittinginthe cupboard... Sorry forthe rant but i in all honesty hate this place and the people that work there

Room Tip: Never stay at this terrible, awful, hateful place.
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Sphinx Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

I just wonder how on earth isn't this place shut down yet? Community has to take legal action
at once. How is it possible for international websites to include it in their lists and make reservations since it threatens public health?
We had booked it via booking.com for 50 euros and as soon as we arrived there, my fiance started crying so, we just stayed in the room not more than 5 mins. We didn't even have the courage to ask for a refund! Ok, this is not a joke, just stand clear!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nasos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2012

When we arrrived we first had to pay the bill before we could see the room.
The stairs up to the rooms were very steep and dangerous.
The beds were dirty and some ( we had a room with 7 beds, 4 were broken) had used pillows & covers i have to add that they weren´t comfortable at all. Even miserable was the toilet in our room, the faucet was leaky and it was so disgusting...
the fire alarm was fixed with tape, so that i can conclude that people smoke there.
The Breakfast was OK, we had Toast, jam, sausage, cheese, coffe, tea and juice.
And we had free Internet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Armin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leeds, UK
12
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed here with two other friends. Upon arriving they said they upgraded us to a 6 person suite, with a kitchen and a bathroom, instead of our 3 person shared. Nice, right?

No. It was disgusting. The room was FILLED with flies. The window ledge was covered, and the two beds nearest to it had dead bugs all over the pillows and blankets. The bathroom walls were coated in them, and showering meant having to attempt to spray them down with a lower water pressure shower head. ( = flies start flying everywhere, while you're naked. Terrifying).

Now, the beds. Our 6 person room came with two pillows, one of which was covered in flies and covered in nasty yellow stains. The bunk beds were rickety, squeaked loudly, and DENTED in the middle. The mattresses were hard, and having a sunken in middle made sleeping nearly impossible.

I thought staying here would be okay, seeing as we would be out all day anyway. I was wrong. The beds made it impossible to sleep and we woke up each morning exhausted and with back pain.

Don't book here. It isn't worth it. I have never been so excited to check out of a hotel before.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank carly marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This place is by no means a hotel but when i visited after reading the reviews on here i didn't have high expectations it was the cheapest i could find at the time.

The bedding i had was clean and made for the day i arrived it was the same bedding i had for the 5 days we were there. Personally i don't see this as a problem tho It wasn't like i was sharing my bed with anybody...I didn't experience the breakfast as was never up in time for it but one of the people we met said it was okay in comparison to some of the other places he had been staying at.

If you are visiting amsterdam for a "dirty" weekend i couldn't recommend the place more. It served the exact purpose that me and my friends wanted, as in just a place to get some sleep, also there was a Small flat screen in the Room which helped us get into the Mood before heading out. The 10 Bed Room was also great there was only 3 of us in out party and every night we met new people and had an absolutely awesome time with those people.

there was a tram station right next to the hostel and also the Heineken Brewery was a 5 minuet walk. To Dam square it was about a 20-25 minuet walk which i do recommend this is also where the Red Light District was :D... The hostel was also in easy walking distance from other centres of night life i.e Night Clubs. Taxis were never that cheap but from the RLD it cost about 8-10 Euros usually split between 4-7 depending on who we were out with not too bad... I also would pursued you against getting a taxi from the airport as it would cost i think between 40-50 Euros which we almost paid mind as we had no idea where we were going :)

Overall the place was exactly what me and my group wanted it was pretty enjoyable open all hours and the staff gave directions no problem

Also a vending machine in the lobby gave out cans of Heineken which i thought was awesome :D

And they had free Lockers downstair which were very useful :)

Room Tip: Small group of you? pick a bigger room and meet some new people.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#269 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#307 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#82 of 371 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#278 of 371 in Amsterdam
227 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sphinx Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 82, 1017 XR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £72 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sphinx Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sphinx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sphinx Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing