We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a hotel”
Review of Sphinx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sphinx Hotel
Ranked #323 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 12 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank nele l
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank RMFAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Me and my friend went to Holanda for vaction and we doent like that, was terrible.I think you choosse another hotel, because these its very bad,

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Davi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

THE WORST PLACE! Never go there. Staff are a joke, asked for a refund afterseeing the room, was told it was impossible (pay before seeingthe room). Asked for a refund when waking up covered in bugs and bites, was also denied, moreover the staff didnt even acknowledge the bites. Telling me theyre mosquito bites... I know the differene. Save yourself the hassle never go to this rotten place. grease stains on the floors, holes in the walls, no pillowcovers, toilet leaking into shower (no divide) breakfast included 2tupper wear containers, 1 with spoilling ham cold cuts and the other slices of platic cheese.. There was also bread sittinginthe cupboard... Sorry forthe rant but i in all honesty hate this place and the people that work there

Room Tip: Never stay at this terrible, awful, hateful place.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I just wonder how on earth isn't this place shut down yet? Community has to take legal action
at once. How is it possible for international websites to include it in their lists and make reservations since it threatens public health?
We had booked it via booking.com for 50 euros and as soon as we arrived there, my fiance started crying so, we just stayed in the room not more than 5 mins. We didn't even have the courage to ask for a refund! Ok, this is not a joke, just stand clear!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nasos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2012

When we arrrived we first had to pay the bill before we could see the room.
The stairs up to the rooms were very steep and dangerous.
The beds were dirty and some ( we had a room with 7 beds, 4 were broken) had used pillows & covers i have to add that they weren´t comfortable at all. Even miserable was the toilet in our room, the faucet was leaky and it was so disgusting...
the fire alarm was fixed with tape, so that i can conclude that people smoke there.
The Breakfast was OK, we had Toast, jam, sausage, cheese, coffe, tea and juice.
And we had free Internet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Armin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#269 of 372 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#299 of 372 in Amsterdam
210 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 372 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#287 of 372 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#82 of 372 in Amsterdam
874 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sphinx Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 82, 1017 XR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £60 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sphinx Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sphinx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sphinx Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing