We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS ALL AROUND THE PACE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sphinx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sphinx Hotel
Ranked #324 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BED BUGS ALL AROUND THE PACE”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We picked this "hotel" because of its location and price but after the three worst nights in my live I can say, that it was realy realy expensive stay. There are bed bugs all around the place!! After first night my GF has a lot of bites but we didn't know from what but second night I woke up in the middle of the night and we had bed full of the bugs - that was a seriousely disgusting! Third night it was the same with only difference that we were expecting them. But the worst thing is you can bring this insect to your home and get a rid of that is not easy at all!! So I am a bit paranoic at the moment.
OK, all the rooms are small and dirty as well as the showers. Breakfast is poor also, but everything could be acceptable but not the bugs!

Seriousely guys DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HonzaFromPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    47
    38
    170
See reviews for
14
60
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Don't book this place! I did - and cancelled but they still took the money and said I never cancelled!! £300 out of my bank - & now being charged for being in my overdraft & cant afford to feed my daughter!!! No compensation or money given back for their error!

Room Tip: Stay in the street! or the Craft appartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauraj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our recent trip March. We then found alternative arrangements and cancelled our booking over the phone in january with plenty of notice. We have just got back from a wonderful stay at the craft apartments (would highly recommend!!) to find they have debited £300 from our bank account!! They now claim we never cancelled our stay and to be fair there is nothing we can do to prove we did!! We accepted the loss of our deposit etc - but to have £300 STOLEN from a bank account absolutly disgusting - don't even bother considering this place... Obviously out to rip tourists off

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shellysprinkles90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I havent even stayed in a hostel that was as bad as this place. It cost me a small fortune for a room on the top floor, up the steepest stairs ever ive seen, to find that the double room was actually the smallest room ive ever stayed in with a bunk bed. Wouldnt recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

its a very good place, the staff is very friendly and helpful. the best part is their delicious open buffet breakfast. the hostel is very well located in the center of amsterdam. and they have plenty of electricity plugs in each room and they also have free wifi

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lebanonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#264 of 364 in Amsterdam
198 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#304 of 364 in Amsterdam
202 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 364 in Amsterdam
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
380 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,811 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sphinx Hotel

Property: Sphinx Hotel
Address: Weteringschans 82, 1017 XR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sphinx Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sphinx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sphinx Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing