We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel The Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel The Globe
Ranked #306 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Does what it says on the tin!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just got back from a three night stay with three friends in private room 208a. After reading the reviews on here we went with no expectations so that we wouldn't be disappointed, and we were all more than satisfied with the whole hostel. The rooms where fairly basic, but the beds were comfy with clean sheets and the room was clean too. The bathroom was modern with a nice shower/wet area. But for somewhere to sleep you really cannot fault it. The bedrooms were separate to the bar and you needed to show your card to be let upstairs, or after the staff got to know us they would just let us up, but I felt more than happy with the security there. The bar was nice with a big smoking room for both joints and tobacco and a couple of pool tables. There is also an outside terrace which was a nice place to sit as it was quite hot when we were there. Only a couple of downsides, the terrace closed about 12am, the rooms were quite hot whilst we were there but of course it is not normally as hot outside as when we visited, and maybe a sofa or two to chill on would have been nice. Contrary to previous reviews the staff were more than friendly and after a maintainence accident resulted in the whole hostel being out of water, they came and informed us as soon as the problem was rectified. Location was fantastic, so close to everything in the centre. Would definitely recommend the Italian restaurant on the opposit side of the canal from the terrace, and if you are going out to smoke, visit the cannabis college early in your visit for unbiased advice on the best places to smoke.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    82
    97
    44
    83
See reviews for
4
15
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Great location, no denying that. However, the pictures of this hostel that are online are a complete misrepresentation. The rooms/hallways and depending on what time you get to them - bathrooms are filthy. There was graffiti all over my room and the bathroom. The staff are extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. Our roommates were coming in at night and getting sick everywhere, when we asked to change rooms the staff wanted nothing to do with it. We had to remain in that room for another 2 nights without it being cleaned up. We were told there was no other beds in any rooms, even though we had 4 spare beds in our room alone. The cleaning staff would just burst into our room unannounced to take note of which beds were available, no matter what the time of day or night. Then they proceeded to leave the door to our room open. Not once did I feel like my belongings were safe in my room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 405Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Positives -

Clean and comfortable beds/as clean a bathroom as you could hope for at a hostel.
Great showers.
Smoking room pretty good and open late.
Brilliant location - don't be put off by the fact it's in the red light district... Within walking distance (5-10 mins) of Dam Square and lots of coffee shops!

Negatives -

Rude and power tripping staff - lucky you don't have to see them much apart from when coming in late and checking in.
Bar is not really somewhere you'd want to go for a drink and a lot better available nearby.

Overall, for what you pay it is a pretty good hostel, mainly due to the location. Wouldn't recommend it to couples but for interrailing groups or groups of friends visiting Amsterdam on a budget it is pretty good!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

The good;
- Clean rooms
- V.good en suite bathroom (the best I've used in a hostel)
- Location, right in the heart of Amsterdam
- cheap Heineken at the bar

The not so good;
- messed up our room booking so didn't get what we had booked, however were given cheaper rooms which was fine.
- rooms were quite hot
- early checkout (10am)
- 5% card charge for payment

I would recommend for a lads trip but not for couples.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Located in the heart of the red light district, the globe hostel reminds me of a dark and dirty american-style bar. My dorm room was dirty and overpriced for what I received. We were awoken in the morning by a man coming into our room telling us we needed to check out. I had never experienced this before and hope to never experience this again. The bathrooms were clean. Bar was expensive and had an odd crowd. Overall one of the worst hostels i have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilman253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

ok, it was clean, wow, it has a new bathrooms. Location - one street to red light district. The rest - just acceptable... not a good idea for e.g. honey moon :)))) but it may work for a 'tired ones' :))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#314 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#209 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Globe

Property: Hotel The Globe
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, 1012 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing