We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant go wrong!”
Review of Hotel The Globe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel The Globe
Ranked #310 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cant go wrong!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have visited Amsterdam numerous times for short trips with the lads. Every time I visit I stay here, extremely good value. I always book the private rooms, I have never stayed in the shared dorms. The rooms have always been clean and so are the bathrooms. The location is absolutely perfect. The staff can be a bit moody sometimes but meh that doesn't bother me. Downstairs is the bar which has a wicked smoking section where you can chill, play pool and have a drink. The breakfast is also nice and not expensive at all. Its somewhere to stay with your boys, it isn't somewhere I would take my partner, but for a boys trip its the perfect solution.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abashanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    84
    100
    46
    87
See reviews for
4
16
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Having never stayed in a hostel before I wasn't expecting much but this was good. Great location, clean rooms and bedding and a newly refurbished bathroom. We had a room for 4 and there was plenty of room. Staff were polite and helpful when asked but not in your face. I'm sure food was ok but there are more picturesque places to eat as this has a sports bar. Reasonably quiet we got a good nights sleep. As said location is everything and this is right in the centre of everything and moments from the station. I'd stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jama20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The rooms themselves are nice, a great view of the canal and lockers, but chairs to get to the top bunks instead of ladders and small and few bathrooms; not uncommon to have to shower on the floor above or below. Never did get the wifi to work, bar had cheap drinks and food but don't have high expectations for the food. Staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. Was expensive as well but the rooms themselves were nice.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the front of the hostel, great view of the main canal. But can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great location in RLD and easy to get to. VERY RUDE STAFF, but then again, I've been to several hostels in AMS RLD and they were almost all pretty rude and arrogant! This place is secure, you have to keep their business card with you and wave it for them to buzz you in. Gets annoying. Smoking room was cool, chill, social vibe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpacksAndMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my brother after being moved last minute when our other hotel cancelled. I was a bit worried about this place because it had low ratings and looked a bit dingy but I was actually surprised at how okay it was.

The beds are very comfortable for hostel standards and the bathrooms were all very clean for our whole stay. We didn't have a problem with noise but we were there in February during the off season.

The lockers won't fit your suitcases but thy provide you with locks.

The location is very close to the trams and even though it's in the red light district, it feels very safe because there are always lots of people around

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Room was nice and clean. But no towels and discoverd that when got out of shower which wasn't great. Smoking room is good, all the staff were good and helpful except one very arrogant member of staff. Would stay again because it's cheap


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed at the Globe in June 2013 with 4 other lads from work. We had a large room that slept 5 people with basic beds and a basic bathroom. The price was relatively cheap and for the amount of time spent in the room the Globe was more than adequate. The rooms were clean, but basic, and the location is great so overall I would stay here again for a lads trip to Amsterdam

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mledg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#324 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 367 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#203 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#295 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,885 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,052 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#305 of 367 in Amsterdam
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Globe

Property: Hotel The Globe
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, 1012 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing