We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
23
93
106
55
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
93
106
55
126
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2006

If you're looking for somewhere cheap and convenient to stay in Amsterdam you really couldn't ask for anything better than The Globe.
It is only a 5 min walk from the station, right next to the coffee shops, restaurants and shops. They have a 24hr reception, well stocked bar and offer a variety of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The rooms may not be anything special- but who goes to Amsterdam to stay in their room!

Date of stay: September 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VLDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

Arrived at the hotel only 5 mins after getting off at Centraal Station. Was booked in and had dumped the bags within another 5 minutes. The price we paid was the price we was quoted, which was nice after previous visits having to stump up extra cash for unknown extra fees.
Was a friendly little hotel, nice people behind the bar and Football on the TV, couldnt really ask for anymore to be fair, apart from we didn't realise you couldnt smoke weed in the bar until after we had arrived.
All in all I'd say it was a good, budget hotel, recommended for a small groups for short periods.

Date of stay: September 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Firstly the rooms are about as bog-standard as you can get. We stayed for a week and there is only a maid-service before and after your stay which is good in a way as i've never trusted maids.
To my disappointment though there are NO towels, only one tea-towel in a room set for 3-4 people?? Therefore as i had overlooked shower towels i had to waste 20euro getting one just to shower with. Small thing but the hotel isnt exactly cheap.
The major plus is the 24hr bar which is great as 95% of bars shut at 1pm monday-thurs and 3pm fri-sun, and its very English friendly. The staff are always at hand for good food, drinks and advice.
You cannot walk 10 yards without being offered cocaine, ecstacy etc which becomes irritating (if it isnt your thing!) from the men who loiter at every turn. The hotel is at the bottom of one of the red light stretches which is very advantageous for some.
Overall yes i would go back but must remember the little things!

Date of stay: September 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveamsterdammm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

Was pretty worried about this place by other review but I had not much too worry about in the end. Us 10 guys stayed in 3 rooms (2 3 beds and a 4 beds) all with showers that was hot all day. The rooms seem to be clean enough good sleep. Even though you are on top of a 24hr bar we didn't hear it. There are drug dealers outside on the street but they're not any problem.
As you are on the Red Light District of town it does seem to get a little scary after dark and for this it'll probably be better to not to go back by yourselves.
The bar was a great place to relax and watch a bit of football and the staff perfect. We stayed for 2 nights here and were getting back about 5am with no trouble of being locked out.

Would defiantly recommend it for quick stops or stag do's.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeHodkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2006

This place is absolute rock bottom, never hav i been to a place so unclean & only 2 showers & 2 very unclean toilets between about 40 lads is not gud. also if you do ever stay here DO NOT lift the ripped & staind sheets because the matresses are soiled beyond belife (disgusting)also not a safe place to leave any valuables, the room doesent lock & all the lockers have been broken into or had there doors ripped off. GOOD LUCK if you stay here you,ll need it!!...

Date of stay: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank terry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews