We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #184 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“superb location”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at the Doria for 4 days and found the location brilliant, lots of attractions on your doorstep.
2 minutes walk to Dam square.
Plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants right outside hotel.
Rooms were small but adequate and clean.
We had a room at the back which was quite quiet, just the odd reveller heading home but we had our window open so can only expect to hear some noise.
We ate twice in hotel which is mostly Italian and food was good, also got 10% discount for eating there, breakfast was continental with an average range of food.
All in all not a bad wee hotel and would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sal5815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    309
    255
    61
    26
See reviews for
87
249
127
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently and the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us.This is a great hotel, quite small rooms and bathrooms but very clean and that's what matters. The restaurant downstairs is very good, and it was great to sit at the tables outside and eat or have a drink. It is very close to Dam Square. It can be a bit noisy through the night but then we were there when the world cup was on. I would recommend this hotel as we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room nearer the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_foord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently while attending a concert in Amsterdam. Great location, just off Dam Square and minutes from the RLD. Rooms were on the small side but clean and more than adequate for our needs. Staff were extremely helpful and the continental breakfast was lovely. Free Wifi worked well throughout our stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Doria is a small city hotel on the edge of the RLD in Amsterdam.

The hotel is very basic, small rooms, small bathrooms. The rooms are clean though.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The location is great if you're in Amsterdam as a tourist. It's located in Dam street, just a few meters from Amsterdam's famous Dam square.
The RLD with all it's attractions is right around the corner.
Lots of restaurants in the hotels street.
It can get a bit noisy though, but this is normal all over De Wallen.
Make sure to get your own toiletries, as the room only has towels, toilet paper and liquid soap.
The hotel is a bit over priced, but most hotels in De Wallen are.
Over all I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Doria Hotel is situated in a superb location and at the time of booking offered a very well priced room. My room was a little small but clean and very comfortable. I've stayed in a few other hotels in the immediate area with a similar price range and the Doria is the only one to provide a TV and a safe in the room. Although I never used the TV, the safe was a welcome addition.

The location is pretty close to the Red Light District and there are a number of fast food outlets and restaurants in the street. For this reason it was a bit noisy at night but certainly no worse than any other property in the area. Pack some earplugs and you will sleep fine. The staff were very polite and helpful and I would happily stay at the Doria again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M3talMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#135 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,338 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#205 of 368 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#171 of 368 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 368 in Amsterdam
791 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#152 of 368 in Amsterdam
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doria Hotel Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing